12 hour Night Bus going from Thailand to Laos: My Travel Mishaps #2

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This is the continuation of my Thailand-Laos journey. If you weren't able to read the part one yet, please do not continue, this won't make sense.


It's a rainy evening... and after a whole day of adrenaline rush events. All I want is to finally get on the bus and start my 11-hour journey.

As I was waiting at the bus stop, an old woman approaches me. She is saying something, but I can't understand a word. She is pointing to the chair beside me.

Ohh, I get it.

I remove my bag and put it in my lap. I smiled, and nod. She smiled back and seated beside me.

There you go, sign language saves the day!

I still have 30 minutes before the bus leaves. If only I can talk and understand Thai, I would speak to this old lady.

I like knowing other people's culture and their way of living. And I admire those who've seen the World in a different time than me.

I love how decades of experiences can be broken down into stories. Seeing their expressions and the way they go back to those old memories.

I could've have used this last 30 minutes to talk to her, but we just sat there. Smiling back to each other.

Being bored, I took my phone and did my daily journal.

Not the journal that I have to write. It's just like looking back of what happened that day and saying it aloud. Like talking to myself.

At home, I can do that in front of the mirror. In here, I would look crazy if I started blurbing words.

So I started recording myself.

Going back to what happened in the last 6 hours has been crazy!

And talking about it now makes me laugh... A LOT.

“Travel far enough, you meet yourself.”
― David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas

It was still raining hard when they started receiving passengers.

My seat is in 5D, the guy pointed me to the top deck.

After all the day's drama, finally, time to relax and snooze off.

I am ready to sleep!

They handed us one blanket each, and a snack (water, milk-yogurt drink, and a dewberry biscuit).

While waiting for the bus to fill in, I saw the baby at my backseat staring at me. So I played 'peek a boo' with him since we aren't moving yet.

He probably doesn't understand what I am saying, but he is smiling.

The engine started, and we are ready to go. I locked my seat belt, reclined my chair and extended the footer so I can lay down.

I hope everyone could be as relaxed as me, full body flat on 'bed'. Sometimes, my short height could be an advantage 😉

I fell asleep.

And then, I was awakened by a loud crying baby's voice. It was the baby at my back, and he is in no way ready to stop.

It lasted for about an hour, and everyone started to get irritated.

I drove asleep again, without noticing.

It was a nice rest.

Until someone woke me up, tapping my shoulder. As my open my eyes...the blurriness started to get clear.

The guy talking to me is like in a police uniform, and he keeps on talking in the Thai language.

Am I being abducted? So I have an offense for sleeping?

"I can't understand Thai", I finally blurted out.

"Ohhhhh you look Thai, same same" he said.

"I am from the Philippines, what are you saying again?"

"Checkpoint, police check. Show me ID"

And then I handed my passport.

"OK, go sleep".

I hope it's that easy to fall back again.

I tried. But many minutes passed and I just can't.

I look outside and enjoyed the night lights as we passed them. I can't help but smile. Of how I can be so free to do what I want in life.

To be able to go out on my own, and to be able to travel.

I didn't notice I fell asleep again until the sun rays hit my eyes and I woke up. Sun is already high, and I can see the road clearly.

I checked my google maps just to see where I am. I can't be sure where exactly, but it says 14 minutes away from the Udon Thani Bus Station.

I started to eat the snacks they gave me. As I sat there knowing I am just a few kilometers away to my destination.

And then the bus stops.

I am here.

Oh wow, that was an adventure!

I missed my flight, but I made it to Udon Thani.

Cheers!


gif are from https://www.giphy.com, images taken using Xiaomi Redmi 4x


Is traveling all about fun and adventures? Definitely not! My Travel Mishaps #1

6 Kinds of Thai Massage Services You Might Not Know

100 Followers and Reputation 48 in 11 days

Why did I decide to Settle in Chiang Mai Thailand

Job that pays good money? Or passion that is not making a penny?

All those doubts and fear, IT’S JUST ALL IN YOUR MIND

Go Out and See the Sun

YOU are Someone's Inspiration

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @marypineda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Interesting story @marypineda 😊

Thank you @asmasiddique. What specifically do you like?

Nice story @marypineda, you should put more photos from this journey!

Glad you like it! I am still traveling and as much as I'd like to add more pictures, I am don't have much time. I will edit them in a few days and add more. Thank you :)

@manypineda oh the precious sleep was stolen.

I'm excited to travel but wondering if I can also learn their basic language while saving up for my trip. So basically, I need to save thai words and money at the same time. I hope more people in Thailand will learn the English language so it is easier for us to communicate with them.

I like reading your posts it helps me a lot in improving my imagination. Where did you get your gif? Do they have a copyright on it?

Yeah, it ws so good but they interuupted.

You can do that, or you can learn easily while you are on the area. I just study the basic, but not keen nto learning much as I do not know if I will stay long.

Oh yeah, I will edit this post with the sources. They are from gif.com, I think they are free to use. Need to go.. will see a falls near by :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Ate..links ng gifs pls..or URL.
Imma

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marypineda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32