YOU are Someone's Inspiration

in #inspiration7 years ago (edited)

The first time my mother flew in a plane, she was a nervous wreck. As we waited for the take-off, she keeps on asking what would she needs to do when it starts moving.

“Mom, relax. It’s just like riding a car, but in the sky” I said.

After a few seconds, I realized that I made her more scared by saying that.

But when we finally went on our way, she agreed. As she looks out into the window, I can feel how happy she is. Her eyes lit up, and she grins from ear to ear. It’s like seeing a kid who’s seen a playground for the first time.

It’s so nice, that she became interested in traveling. A few years back, she would say that it’s just a waste of time and money.

She’s 51 now, and I can count on my fingers how many times she took a vacation.

Why a sudden change of heart?

You see, people don’t like being dictated. The more you say this should be done, the more they avoid it.

So I went on my own and started traveling. I went to one place, then go home. And then another place, and then go home. It became a cycle.

And in between going home and leaving… my Mom became excited of my stories. The people I’ve met, the pictures I took, and the adventures that I tried.

She started to get inspired of how traveling can make her happier. And not just a waste of money.

When I felt she was ready, I bought a plane ticket going to Coron Palawan without her knowing. I told her that we are leaving a day before, that way she doesn’t have much time to get stress or make excuses.

And… off we went.

It was her first time riding a plane. And first time in Palawan too.

To tell you, if you’ve seen Palawan, you know it’s “WOW” factor. It’s like a hidden paradise you’ve just read in books or have seen in movies.

With its azure waters reflecting clear skies, white-sand shores outlining private coves, limestone cliffs and the blue-green color of the lake.

It’s just stunning!

And right there and there, my mom fell in love.

Not just with Palawan, but with Traveling in general.

That trip was followed by visiting more places around the country: Boracay, Baguio, Zambales, Batanes, Tarlac and much more!

This morning, I received a message from my friend from Dubai. She was asking about the 7-day tour bus I took when I was there. She said that her mom wants to try it too because she was inspired by Travel after I told her how great that experience was.

Her mom has been working in Dubai for 11 years. And to tell you, I visited more places than her when I stayed there for 1 month.

My friend said that her mom is not into this traveling thing until she met me. And now she has plans of going to Thailand too (where I am now).

I am just so grateful to become someone’s inspiration. It makes me happy that I can influence other people in a way that Traveling made me happy.

Sometimes, you don’t need to ask permission. Just go out there, and do what you think it’s best. Somewhere along the way, you get to encourage people who would want to attain where you are.

You don’t need to have a big name to become an inspiration to somebody.

When I started on Steemit, I don’t know anything. There is this 14-year-old kid who’s a member and can write well. If he can, I probably can do it too.

Having an inspiration can go along way. It can move you to places.

Mark Zuckerberg was inspired by Bill Gates. If Mark didn't see his future ahead of him by looking at Bill, we wouldn’t have Facebook today.

I was inspired by the backpackers I met on Boracay. I saw them live a life that I want, a life where they can work on their computer and travel the World. And now, here I am living the same lifestyle.

You can change a life by inspiring other people.

But first, start creating and doing something that would make someone look up to you.

Sing a song.

Dance to the music.

Write a poem.

You may never know who will be moved by your works.


PS. Travel with your parents, and make memories together while they are still alive. It's the best gift that you could give them, YOUR TIME.

all images are mine, taken from Canon Snapshot


PREVIOUS POSTS

About Me

You can live to be a Butterfly, or you can focus on being a Snail

Why you SHOULDN'T visit the Philippines 🇵🇭

Want To Step Up Your Filipino Food Adventure?

Five Reasons Why I Love Steemit

Philippine Fifty-Word Story Writing Contest, "Batang Kalye".

6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You Want To Reconsider Your Job

Sort:  

Great stuff; travel enriches the soul and breaks us away from the monotony of the everyday. Stay safe out there!

Agreed! It's the best thing I've done in my life! Will do :)

Nice format girl! Way to go. 😍😍😍 I always wanted to travel the world. I will start exploring our own country first. I'm pretty sure I will going to do it. If not this December, it would be next year. Thanks for inspiring me😊😊😊

Go girl! I will go back to explore PH, I want to visit all provinces. I am so happy I could inspire you, if you have any question, you know where to find me ;)

Yeap. I will

Wow ang ganda ng lugar ohh...

Ganda talaga ng Pinas! Tra na at ating libutin :)

Mas madame pa nalamyerda si nanay kesa sa ken sa Pinas...sige lang.
And Coron??? My 1st to go to sa Pilipinas!!

true! nag eenjoy na siya. at nagtatravel na ngayon na di ako kasama, haha! gora lang, if need mo ng suggestions, I can help :)

Sige ask kita. Bata pa naman ang nanay mo kaya..sige maglibot lang sya habang kaya nya.
Coron and batanes like ko and uunahin.

oo nga. enjoy na enjoy niya. naka print pa mga pics niya, old school is cool!
Batanes for sure! <3

Yaan mo sya..helps her remember. San sya go susunod??

sa Thailand :) Hindi pa niya alam, pero nabilhan ko na siya ng ticket ;)

Ahhaha...eenjoy sya sa mga fresh sliced fruits sa tabi-tabi, have fun lola :)

oo nga, makakakita nadin siya ng elephants, haha. Thank you!

Lovely:) and nice to take her traveling. i want to do the same.

Do it! :) If you have any question, let me know.

Lovely Place & Beautiful Pic....

Thank you masum44 :)

Same Too U...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @marypineda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Hi, marypineda! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts


Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD

Thank you so much @resteembot. Will check.

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-22 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

oh that's cool. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33