Reflection Time Friday: Job that pays good money? Or passion that is not making a penny?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"TGIF!!!"

I got this message on one of my Facebook group chat.

Being away from my friends and family, I needed a place to reach out to them, to update them and to just tell stories of what my day was like.

I have one for my family as a whole, for my siblings alone, and different sets of friends.

Every week, on Friday, there is not a doubt that I will get a "TGIF!" message.

Of course, we need to thank God every day. But there is something about Friday that most people love.

"What?" you asked.

Oh well, it is the closest day to weekends.

And weekends mean having a 2-day off from 5 days of dragging yourself to the office.

With my lifestyle now, I don't even know what day of the week it is. And getting their message reminded me that another week has passed.

And on these days, we always go back to the same topic over and over again.

What's in the future?

Is this all that it is?

Will I go for a job that pays good money? Or to go for something I am passionate about but is not making a penny?

These are a tricky question that can't be answered with option A or Because it entirely depends on YOU and the situation.

It depends if you are the breadwinner of the Family, or you are supporting yourself. Do you have savings?

The thing is... passion is overrated.

Because people tend to get bored too fast. What you're passionate today won't be what you want next year.

Back when I was a kid, I wanted to be a princess, because I am passionate about dolls and the Disney characters.

And then I went to High School and I just have the house-school-house routine. I go there because I have to, and because I want to be with my friends.

Comes college and I am not sure what to take. So I just went where there is more opportunity after graduation.

When I became a nurse, I felt it was not for me. I like to be creative, and build things.

Which is what I am doing now. But still, I get distracted.

To be honest, I am not sure what my passion is. Or maybe, I do.

I like traveling, writing and design. I love marketing too! And building a community (that's why I love Steemit).

And I am sure it will change in the coming years.

The things is, if you can find a way to earn money on what you are interested in, then that's great!

For sure there is!

But if you want a safety net, I suggest you save money until you are ready to take the leap. Or have a side gig that could develop your skills.

There are several courses and Youtube videos where you could hone your abilities. You could be a video editor, a voice actor, interpreter, designers.... or a writer.

You have lots of options in front of you. And because of the internet, learning became so much easier.

So if you are still one of those asking if there is life after work.

Definitely!

Continue learning as it makes you grow, and the best thing is... when you get good at it, people will be asking you to take their money.

We can keep on arguing about what you do for money or what you love. But at the end of the day, it comes down to the value that you could give to others. When you know you can help others, and then get paid doing it, then you found the right formula.

So keep on exploring, and if you just keep on showing up... you will get where you want to be.


PREVIOUS POSTS

All those doubts and fear, IT’S JUST ALL IN YOUR MIND

Go Out and See the Sun

YOU are Someone's Inspiration

6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You Want To Reconsider Your Job

Five Reasons Why I Love Steemit

Want To Step Up Your Filipino Food Adventure?

Why you SHOULDN'T visit the Philippines 🇵🇭

You can live to be a Butterfly, or you can focus on being a Snail

About Me

Sort:  

I've spent the last two years travelling around, surfing and doing ski seasons. I'm broke as anything but manage to get by and couldn't be happier. I did graduate with a structural engineering degree but have chosen to enjoy my youth after spending a year in an office. Essentially, just do what makes you happy

Good to know this! Thanks for commenting @shmiddy-dack. I didn't know what exactly I like other than travel. It wasn't easy, but it was all worth it. It's so rare to find something you are passionate about. I am glad you follow your guts to travel and ski. To more happy days! Cheers!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @marypineda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks Original Works!

selfgoat, yay! Thanks

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

You're welcome, tool.

inspiring your article
thanks for sharing
I invite you to follow me and visit my publications

Thank you, glad you like it :)

I worked in the government although the pay was okay to pursue my dreams. I just pray to God for my success

You can save while you are at it. I wish you all the best, you got this!

Thank you po for the encouragement!

You're welcome :) If you have any question, PM mo lang ako sa discord.

Great! You're doing good now.. keep it up, the best learning is to continue what you're doing and if mistakes come in your way, embrace it and learn from it :) and do not forget to put #steemph and #philippines in your post to get supports from our kababayans..

oh thank you for the advice. Added it, haha. Thanks for always supporting, and giving motivation. This community is changing my life. Mostly because it can let me do things that I like (writing!).

I go for the "passionate" about job anytime..not exactly the not-making-a-penny one, but it just give u enough to live on and a bit of an extra to do what other things u want.
A higher position is not the icing on the cake, but rather it's the "a lot of time" to do other things.
Till ur body breaks down and another door is beckoning with uncertainty on what's in the other side.

I like your point of view @immarojas. You are right with earning enough and trying what you are passionate about. I find that to be easier than quitting all at once and trying to make money on your passion like arts and writing. Unless you have savings, sometimes it adds to the stress of not making much at first.

Thank you for always dropping insightful comments :)

Stressful of course and very limiting. I need to try doing what you and @pinaynomad are doing. Sounds fun though but you know, responsibilities, priorities etc.

Yeah, it is so hard when you have responsibilities, and everyone in the PH is expecting of padala and balik bayan boxes. Save enough for 2 years, and then try it! If you will be living in Southeast Asia, that won't be a lot of money.

Haven't interacted with @pinaynomad yet. Thanks for tagging her, I should need to connect :)

nice content. following you. upvoted

Glad you like my blog. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42