Three weeks on the Big Island of Hawai’i! 🌴 🌺 🌊 🦎

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Last year I got to explore the Big Island's beaches, volcanoes, and culture with two of my best friends, for three weeks. Dream come true!



Mind you, we were working on a devised theatre project while we were there, and that’s how we paid for the trip! Read more about it here. For this post though, I’d like to focus on the natural beauty of the island (not our work!).


I snapped all these shots on my iPhone 6+ while bopping around the island. The shot snapped of me was taken by my buddy Brandon on his iPhone 6+. No filters on any of ‘em, just natural loveliness. 🌺



The twilight view from Coconut Island, a little island near our hotel in Hilo where we swam at least once a day. There were some great old cement structures out in the ocean that you could swim to (making a great place for early AM yoga practice).



This is a shot I got on our first day on-island, and it’s still one of my favorites because it shows off the color of the water so well. Living in the Pacific Northwest, we have a lot of blue water, but none of it in this glorious hue!



The inside of the Mauna Loa volcano crater! We got to hike inside and across the center floor, which was warm to the touch, and hissing steam in places. Apparently that’s normal, i.e. we were safe?! In the far back center of this photo you can see a trail of smoke/steam (that is where open lava flows!).



Adventure friends suited up and ready for action inside a volcano.



We drove back up Mauna Loa later that night to the other side of the crater and got to see lava! This picture isn’t too great because I had to zoom in a lot in the rain, but there it is.



One weekend we took an overnight trip to Kona and the other side of the Big Island, stopping at some great beaches along the way, like this one! Check out that black sand!



Snapping shots of coastal cliffs on the drive to and from Kona made for some spectacular rest stops along the way!



Ahmed withstanding the wind on the southern most tip of the Big Island, Ka Lae. It’s also the southernmost tip of the 50 United States. Look at the state of that towel--it was brisk out there my friends.



We spent a lot of time taking short adventures out of Hilo that could be done in a few hours after our workshops. Here’s a snap on our way to Akaka Falls (a pic of that beautiful place is in the other work-related post!).



Rainbow Falls is another easy jaunt from Hilo (just 15 minutes from downtown!). They say if you see the falls at the right time of day the sun creates a stunning rainbow effect in the water. We didn’t get to see the rainbow, but it was still beautiful!



And finally, I’ll leave you with this shot of Waipio Valley, one of the best hikes we did on the island. Be warned: there is a very, very steep hill for about a mile to get to the bottom of the valley. Be ready for a workout!

And that’s all for now friends! Is Hawai’i on your bucketlist yet? Maybe it should be. 🌺





break.jpg


Hi friend! Thanks for stopping by, I’m really glad you’re here!

I’m an artist, writer, and creative consultant based in the Pacific Northwest. I see steemit as an incredible asset to artists and creatives as a way to share their work and connect with like-minded people. You can check out my intro post, read more about the theatre projects I work on, or follow me! I’m especially interested in finding other performing artists on this site. If that’s you, please say hello! See you around the steemosphere! @lilyraabe


SS-pansies-EN.jpg



Sort:  

I need to go now that I have seen these photos. Rainbow falls looks like the absolute best. Thanks!

Yes, you must! I have nothing but positive things to say about Hawai’i!

It's on my husband's bucket list, so I'll be going. I know, poor me. lol I do look forward to it. I think I'm afraid that if I go, I won't return. It looks like paradise.

image0022.gif

38.gif

It truly is paradise! :) Can’t wait for you to go and share your pics here!

Beautiful shoots.

______________

I've upvote and follow you. You can follow me back @sikucel

Beautiful! 😍 Yes, Hawaii is definitely on my bucket list, I hope to take a trip there one day soon (before I have any kids).

Glad you had an awesome time @lilyraabe ☺️ I have followed you!

Well if you go, I can’t wait to hear about it here on steemit. My predication is that you will LOVE it. <3

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 20:56:43
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 29.95/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Definitely a spot I plan to visit! I have a friend I graduated college with who lives there and works at a goat farm lol. I am always envious of all the sweet photos he takes

You must visit him! Working on a goat farm in Hawai’i sounds like the dream.

Beautiful stuff @lilyraabe. Hard to believe that is from a phone. Those pictures are just amazing.

My wife and I just celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and our wedding was right on the Beach in Maui :)

Wish I had taken these kind of photos when I was there :)

Nice

What a beautiful memory to share! That sounds magical, thanks for stopping by and checking it out!

Beautiful pictures! I visited Hawaii almost one and a half years ago and loved it. I didn't have the pleasure of visiting all the islands though and only experienced Oahu. I really wanted to take a day trip to see the Volcanoes like you did but we ran out of time. At least it leaves us with a reason to go back to Hawaii!

Oh you definitely have to get back to see the volcanoes! They are awesome. Hope you guys get to go visit again.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

I really need to go there it's looks lovely great post 👏 just followed you 👍

Aww yay, thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed. :)

Congratulations @Lilyraabe! You have been nominated for our next contest for making an great post about nature. There will be 25 nominees, and the winner will be choose randomly using random.org. All the nominees have will have an equal chance of winning. The winner will be announced on February 19th, and they will be receiving 1 SBD.

The Remote Discovery Channel plans on resteeming unique blogs from around the world. Our goal is to help the Steem community discover interesting places and remote destinations. Let us know if you have ideas or suggestions for future contests. We appreciate your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40