How I got to TRAVEL, for FREE, to HAWAI’I, to MAKE ART!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My dream has always been to travel around the world making theatre and art.


Soaking up some sun in Hawai’i


Of course, unless you’re really lucky, this doesn’t just happen. It takes work experience, grit, a sense of humor, and dedication to the art that goes beyond making a buck off what you create.


I’ve studied, worked 16-hour days, and poured my heart into my artist community. I’ve made art, but I’ve also learned about business and how to sustain an artistic practice in the long-term. A big part of my journey towards being a self-sustained artist and creative consultant has been working full-time running Development at Intiman Theatre, a Tony Award-winning and socially progressive regional theatre in Seattle, WA for the last 3 years.

I’ve learned the ins and outs of running an organization and engaging diverse communities. I’ve met inspiring mentors. Now, I’m finally branching out on my own as a freelancer in perpetuity. It’s a little scary, I won’t lie!


IMG_4967.JPG

My dream team. <3


I finally decided to take the plunge and go freelance last March when I realized a lifelong dream and got to TRAVEL, for FREE, to HAWAII, to MAKE ART.


This past Spring (March through April 2016), Hilo-born, Seattle-based scenic designer artistic producer Brandon Estrella and his artist collective The New Alchemists (including co-founders Ahmed Alabaca and Lily Raabe), approached the East Hawai`i Cultural Center (EHCC) about the possibility of the Center producing a showcase of devised original plays based on stories told by local community groups as part of downtown Hilo’s Aloha First Fridays events. We had received a $5,000 commission from the County of Hawai’i to support our work.


fullsizeoutput_c5f.jpeg

Hanging with the Full Life crew! Full Life supports creative professional development for young adults with cognitive or physical disabilities.


The conversation progressed, partners were engaged, and work began on the project. In March 2017, Brandon, Ahmed, and I flew to Hilo, HI where we partnered with EHCC, Waiakea High School, and Full Life Hawaii/Abled Hawaii Artists to create two original plays performed for Aloha First Fridays. This community-based project gathered people in Hilo around EHCC as a downtown cultural and business hub and spotlighted local artists, vendors, and businesses.


fullsizeoutput_c5c.jpeg

Half of the Waiakea High School ensemble!


EHCC organized an art show opening to be produced in the downstairs gallery, artists to sell their wares throughout the building, food from local vendors, and music. The performance sold out--in fact we started twenty minutes late because we added every chair legally allowed to fill the room. There is a clear energy and desire for live, community-derived events in Hilo. We also did a fundraising “ask” after our performance, which was free-to-the-public. Support for our work was incredible, and we easily paid for venue rental and EHCC staff time through community buy-in!


IMG_5052.JPG

Waiakea actors waving out a window upstair at EHCC the day of the show!


It goes without saying that one of the best parts of this project was living and working in Hawai’i! I had never been, and I must admit I had a warped view of the islands based on what is marketed to tourists on the mainland. Living and working in close community with locals and natives for several weeks gave us an incredibly close view into the politics of the islands, the culture, and the magical energy that fills every speck of sand in Hawai’i. There is a spiritual pull to this land that is undeniable, a force that locals acknowledge and respect, and an energy that a visitor like me could not help but feel.


IMG_4997.JPG

One of the beautiful waterfalls we drove to after workshop to hold our “end of day debrief meeting”. Doing work in nature is one of the amazing perks of setting your own work/life environment.


The work created was authentic to the Hilo community and created a special opportunity for locals, tourists, and community partners to experience something happening here and nowhere else. For example, the show created with Full Life Hawai`i--an organization providing arts-based professional development skills to young adults with cognitive disabilities--centered on FUZZYLAND; a book published by a Full Life participant, Jennifer Poblano. Jennifer was able to see her story come to life, and we were able to empower this community to see themselves as actors, artists, and business-folks, since many Full Life participants sold their art at the event.


fullsizeoutput_dab.jpeg

Brandon rehearsing with our star, Maja, a participant at Full Life Hawai’i and up-and-coming actress!


Have I mentioned, the food in Hilo is amazing? Best lunch? Fresh poke of course! We ate raw fish every single day we were on the island and I wouldn’t have it any other way.


fullsizeoutput_dad.jpeg

Poke for days!


Meanwhile, the show created by 18 students from Waiakea High School focused on the true meaning of “Living Aloha”. These incredible young artists devised a powerful original performance that directly talked about perseverance in the face of trauma and posited that finding a way to love all people is the true meaning of “Living Aloha”.


IMG_5011.JPG

Our “billboard” sign out front!


After successfully completing the first year of this work through the generous support of Council Member Aaron Chung, Pagoda Hilo Bay Hotel, and Subway Hawai`i--EHCC and The New Alchemist team are keen to continue working together. This is work we are continuing, and I will update here when more concrete plans come together for 2018-2019 work!


IMG_5056.JPG

Group shot after the show. Mahalo to everyone for this amazing experience!


Hi, friend. I’m pretty new here and will be using steemit to talk about my theatre projects, art equity, arts opportunities, and social justice. I’ll also decompress and share hiking pictures pretty regularly. :) For more of my work, check out LOS TRES PONCHOS. See you around! @lilyraabe

Sort:  

I lived on Maui in 2012, so I have a good guess how much fun this was... Thanks for letting me see! Brings back fond memories...

Craig in Maui.JPG

Amazing...I would love to live on the islands. After the trip I spent a few weeks doing nothing but looking up ways to be employed there full-time. Who knows, maybe if the contracting takes off I’ll be able to work remote and spend more time there working with EHCC and the crew. That jungle pic is amazing, did you get to hike a lot while you were there? I wish we’d had more time to explore the nature (although we did see lava!). I’m sure you had an amazing time while living there.

First, I was lucky to have an online proofreading job while I lived there, so I would sit in the jungle and listen to wall street conference calls... Six months is a longer time to get to know a place, but I had to hitchhike to even grocery shop...

I can attest, however, that jungle animals are the BEST alarm clock EVER!!! Birds and frogs and bugs and whatnot, just celebrating... I would literally wake up laughing every morning!

Ah! Awesome. Oh my gosh--the sound of the little coqui frogs is amazing and SO LOUD. It truly is an amazing alarm clock.

That sounds like a wonderful way to wake up. 💖

One of the best, for sure! :)

I'm sure it's exciting and scary all at the same time, venturing out as a freelancer like this. Forging your own path, so to speak. You seem to have put in so many hows and built up a tonne of experience, so why not?

How will changing to freelancer status affect you and your work now? Is it that you are 100% on your own, or do you still work in tandem with the organisations that have nurtured you?

Hey! I still work in tandem with the most of the organizations, but as a contractor. Most of the time I’m helping them with strategy, grants, and community-engaged fundraising (i.e. crowd-sourcing and social media campaigns). I work as an independent contractor, and also as part of a consulting firm. Honestly, I’m only about 6 months in, so I’m still figuring out exactly how to fit the puzzle together. The real benefit to me is that now I can take as much vacation time, i.e. trips to Hawai’i for 3 weeks, as I want without letting down an organization where I have a full-time role. As I’m building skills, I also want to have more time to make the projects I’ve always wanted--since that’s why I learned the nuts and bolts in the first place.

Sounds really amazing and like a dream come true! Those fear feelings are so natural and a good sign your growing and taking chances- that’s awesome! Congrats and have so much fun <3

Thank you so much for reading this! The fear is real--but as you say it’s natural and it’s good to be in a space where I’m challenged (no panic, yet!) and growing. Appreciate the support. See you around! :)

hey! Way to go! That's amazing, both the story and the response. Keep it up. Don't forget to help the next generation of beginners.

Thanks so much for stopping by, Mark! Appreciate the suport--and will definitely be here to help out the next gen!

I am so happy for you & the fact that you are able to live out your dreams! I too hope to one day be able to work & travel! :)

Thank you so much for stopping by to support! I think anything is possible if you put your mind to it. Sending you luck! :)

Wow that shot of the waterfall is incredible! A incredible project the benefit of this sort of thing are far to underestimated. Great work 💯🐒

Hey, thanks for stopping by to check it out. The waterfall was one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen, glad you could enjoy!

Thanks to you great 💯🐒

This is such a wonderful post! It makes me so happy to see communities supporting art in this way. I'm so glad you've been given a chance to get to know Hawai'i and some of its locals. It is a place that calls to me. One day I'd like to spend some real time there. Best of success to you as a freelancer! You seem to have a positive energy and the organizational know-how to make it work!

Thank you so much for stopping by and checking out the project. If you can ever get to Hawai’i--do. It’s one of the most magical and spiritual experiences I’ve ever had..and that coming from someone who self identifies as an atheist. I felt palpable energy there...maybe because there’s a volcano flowing up from the middle of the earth in the middle of the ocean...who knows. :) Anywho, thanks again for the kind words and support!

Definitely going to consider putting Hawaii on my world tour list after reading this! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by and checking it out. I think everyone should get to Hawai’i at least once--after going I’m a believer.

I think it takes great courage to decide to freelance and take a step to making the arts your full time job. So congrats! And the experience sounds amazing. The best way to travel is to go where your work takes you. You're more than a tourist and you have a starting point to learn about the place. Can't wait to hear more!

Thank you for reading and commenting. :) It’s definitely a puzzle to find creative pursuits that all fit together, but it’s coming together. It’s all about the process, right? And traveling to work in the community is an amazing way to see a place and get to know it...staying in hotels and whatnot is really fun, but it was really different (and an honor!) spending time in people’s homes and inner circles.

Must be amazing traveling and working in the same time = ) The journey to the point where you are must have been tough for you but now the top itself is amazing and you have to admit it. Hawaii is one of the locations where I would like to have a second house but things there are kind of expensive . Always loved shows featuring the islands of Hawaii.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Hey thank you for stopping by to say hi! It is pretty amazing to finally get to be doing more and more of what I really love. Fingers crossed it keeps on a goin’! Hawai’i is amazing...and yea, some places can be pretty expensive there for sure...the price combined with cost of living combined with lack of jobs makes it pretty tricky. Anyways, I really appreciate you reading and commenting. See you around I’m sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54