I travel the world Part 171: Alnatura Organic Supermarket

in #travel8 years ago

 

Germany is leading in terms of organic food and supermarkets

Food is Germany in normal supermarket is very very cheap. Germans tend to eat not to feel joy (like the french..) but just to eat something. So food quality is usually not very important. I have been to many countries in the world and have tried out different supermarkets, organic supermarkets, markets etc. and I think that the offerings in Germany are ridiculously cheap. Compared to the US you could buy twice as much in a German Organic market than in a US organic market. It is frickin expensive in Asia too...

I walked around a bit near Gendarmenmarkt (Picture taken in July)

Made a picture of the lights in a Ice-cream shop

Had a free coffee at Nespresso ;) (bought 200 Nespressos, cheaper than in Asia)

Finally found an Alnatura Supermarket and started shopping

Organic Cosmetics

Organic Drinks

Organic fruits and vegetables

Cheese and Bread

I always stock up in Germany...

Usually I can take at least 2 bags free of charge with the airlines I fly. So 23-32Kg x 2 and Handluggage. If I fly Business I tend to have 3 Pieces with 32kg.. so I can take a lot food back to Asia. This time I took back 5 packs of Muesli, Cosmetics, 2 packs of Bagels, 2 Tomato Cans, Organic drinks and other stuff. OK, I admit taking these things from Europe to Asia might not be the best thing for the environment, but I don't trust american or Asian organic products. Well in Europe mostly it is not 100% organic but I still think that it is better than the Gen Manipulated stuff you might get in the US sold as organic... 

Organic is 50% more expensive than regular food and stuff, but I believe that what you put into your body will define who you are and it might keep you healthier in the long run. So I pay a premium on most stuff I eat and drink. 

Do you believe in Organic or do you hate the Hype ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life  

Sort:  

I don't think I could just eat for eating sake,I love my food maybe a little too much. Looks a lovely clean store :)

yes the organic stores in germany are fantastic

This was a good post, agreed

Good post, great photos!

It was interesting to me when you said generally the prices seem lower maybe because Germans eat for the sake of just eating, unlike the French - I thought that was a neat insight and also gives a supply/demand lesson to think on.

Good job!

yes food is very cheap in germany but the quality is not so good for this reason...

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $57.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71