Frequent Traveller #22: Noise-cancelling headphones

in #travel8 years ago

At Steemfest many asked me how I manage to fly so much

One of my most important tools for flying are my headphones. Not any headphones but Noice Cancelling Headphones. There are several brands like Bose, Sony, Sennheiser etc. but after testing them all I am using Bose for a long time. 

Noise-cancelling headphones are headphones that reduce unwanted ambient sounds using active noise control. This is distinct from passive headphones which, if they reduce ambient sounds at all, use techniques such as soundproofing. SOURCE

In the past I did use On-Ear NC Headphones which offer a fantastic Noise Cancellation in Airplanes but they were bulky. I was very happy when Bose started selling Bose QuietComfort 20 their In-Ear NC Headphones. With a pricetag of 299 USD they are pricey but I never regret buying them (There is 2 versions (Iphone/ Android).

Bose QuietComfort 20

Battery Unit

Headphone Jack and Power Switch

Airplane Adapter, Extra Ear Buds and Case

Most important item is the Airplane adapter. Many Airlines use two Systems with two Jacks. Bose does not provide these with the QC20 so you need to get them separately. 

Without my NC20 I will not enter a plane. The Bose Headphones are the only Headphones on the market which do not have a ground noise. All other NC Headphones I tested had an annoying sound if turned on. I am very sensitive to these kind of noise so only Bose works for me.

I skipped the new Bluetooth Bose QC35 because of the very high Ground Noise. I am now checking out the new Bose QC30. They are wireless and don't have the annoying battery unit. I heard they do not offer the same level of the QC20 so I will wait for more user reviews....

If you already have the QC30 please let me know if they are worth the money???

I am blogging about the following topics :

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life  

Sort:  

I also really appreciate my noise cancelling headphones on long-haul flights.

I first got the Bose QC3, on-ear model, probably nearly 10 years ago. They were pretty good, but I was never satisfied with the audio quality.

Up until early this year, I had been pretty well satisfied with my Sennheiser MM550 headphones. I found the sound quality better than that of the Bose. After 4 to 5 years of use (4 or 5 intercontinental flights per year), they were getting pretty worn. The cushions and plastic trim were falling to pieces.

So about a month ago I bought Denon Globe Cruiser. The fit and finish is better. They feel more solid. The sound is at least as good. Plus, the cost a lot less (more than half as much, but not much more) than the Sennheiser's. They are heavier, and bigger when folded, compared to the MM550's.
Also the Denon's don't have a switchable external mic allowing one to hear conversations while wearing them, as do the Sennheisers, but that isn't so important to me. I'm very well satisfied with them after two trips so far.

yes the qc3 were great to start. I tested many models but for now I am happy with the qc20 as they are not so bulky. I try to reduce weight as much I can for my travels

Good choice! I had that kind of headphones

yeah . they totally rock . without I won't fly

i love bose. sound quality, build quality. they really understand 'sound' ;)

well there is better sound out there. but I had very good experiences with bose . (service and replacement etc.)

and bose have good resell value...

yeah, i like audio technica. those are my main music drivers when i'm travelling but i do like to cancel out the noise around me too!

yeah how do you like the Audio technica NC headphones.?

not tried any audio technica noise cancelling yet. i've got the big reference atx-700 ones that i was given as a brand advocacy thing. they sound lovely. i'm super interested in some in-ear ones. like you have in this post.

Oh, well, I think that's everything cleared up

NC headphones are great. you turn them on. and suddenly the airplane goes all silent.. it is like being in an oasis suddenly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74