[Traveler Trying To Fit Back In] Thoughts on Nine-to-Five, Self-Made Prisons And How To Position Yourself To Win The Rat Race (And How I Failed At It)

in #travel7 years ago

"Dude, I am dying. I hate my job".

You probably heard many of your friends, maybe even you, say that at some point. I think everybody knows now that most people are not satisfied in their corporate job. Most people also feel trapped in it ...

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

They built a prison around themselves.

It can be self made, built purely by your own mindset and imagination.
I can't do anything else and I would not have the skills to succeed in anything else. And this job pays enough money to get food and shelter, even some nice dinner here and there with some nice blinky phone once a year.

It can be there because of society and peer pressure.
Everyone else is doing this so if I do the same thing I will fit in and have a normal life, normal friends, a decent spouse,etc. It's safe. Why would I even think about something else? Something risky?

It can be financial.
I have a debt that I have to pay. And my apartment costs a lot. And those lunches I eat every day cost me a lot, too. Plus I really need a new TV and I should upgrade my phone as well, that will cost something , too ...

Or, emotional.
What if I fail? What if I move to another country and I won't find any new friends. What if my old friends will resent me? DUDE, what if I die ALONE? And HUNGRY?!?!? Fuck that ... I'm staying with my daily warm dinner

You know what, I totally understand all that now.

I took a corporate job ...

And it's not bad actually. I can't really complain. It's relatively flexible, I come late, I leave early. Sometimes I work from home. Occasionally I work while "being in another country" [I can't call it travelling as that's not what travelling looks like to me].
I have great and chill managers, fun and relaxed coworkers and I am sheltered from most of the corporate bullshit other people have to go through if they'd work even in this same corporation.

I also get paid. Regularly. Even when I don't give any value [eg. being on vacation or not having a project to work on]. That is very weird to me as life is about providing value.

So actually, I am very lucky to have a position like this.

Though being in a corporate environment now I totally understand all the fears of starting and doing your own thing, of following your dream and how easy it would be to slip into the trap of "fitting your life to your income" (The trap of increasing your "lifestyle expenses with your income"), consuming more and becoming a good normal citizen. I have all that around me now. I hear or see this message daily from people around me.

Now I finally even have those friends that tell you how much they don't like their job, their salary, working all the time, etc. But they are afraid to do anything about it ...

And to be completely honest with you ...

Now I have those fears and doubts, too ...

This is a well designed trap. And you are not supposed to get out of it. A well-designed trap leaves you with no hope so you won't even try to escape and you just accept your destiny.

That's how this corporate system is designed. You get paid just enough to pay for what society thinks you need. You work long enough so you actually want to buy those things and spend money on those things. You get tired enough so that you don't have energy to be creative and work on other endeveours that you might be interested in and would get you out of the system.

So once you are in, it's easy to lose hope and accept your fate.

I knew all that, so I stepped in carefully, with an escape plan ...

I knew the dangers of the trap. I knew it can, and probably will, suck my soul out. And I knew it might make me trapped for life....

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

But I went in anyway ...

You see, I had a plan. A plan on how to utilize this to my advantage. On how to get what I needed to get what I truly want. On how to evade the fatal blow of losing all hope and using the energy of that blow and instead create something that gives hope.

I just wanted some resources. Resources that I can utilize and invest into crypto currencies, my health and myself.

I was living a homeless lifestyle for some time and it was getting too tiring. It was getting really hard to even get food. So I needed money. I love eating food too much :D. (Even though I am also a proponent of fasting )

I also wanted some money to invest and save up so that I can utilize them for all of my ideas later on and help to make this world a better place. And I also wanted a bit of money so I can experiment with different foods and get my health back on track.

Knowing Why is all that matters ...

You can apply this to everything. But in terms of taking a job, know why you are taking it and what you want to get out of it.

Let's say you are a creative person, an artist, a musician. And you love your art. But your art is not supporting you yet. And you also need some extra resources to invest into your art, eg. a recording set or an amplifier so you can go out and start busking.
So that is your why. You need resources that you can invest into making your art better so you can make even bigger impact. And in order to get those resources you get a job. Then you can direct them to your art and in the meantime also put some food on the table.

Just keep that in mind and don't stray away ...

This is how you win the rat race.
By knowing why you are there in the first place and by knowing you will get out of there in very near future. That will keep you moving, that will give you the extra energy to work on other things.

So I had a specific plan ...

Though having a plan is useless if you don't execute. And I didn't in all of these areas. I did not have time to take care of what I wanted with my health (especially my eyesight) nor did I have time to actually keep up what I built in past three or four years in terms of fitness, idea generation and some habits.

Neither I had enough time to properly invest in myself. And my social life became like those old cans people drag after the wedding. Old, beaten up and forgotten with no thoughts of repairing them as it's easier to just cut them off now.

Though my escape plan keeps me sane ...

Despite all that and despite the fact that there are some depressing lows in my life I still know why I am doing this and I still know that there is an end to this tunnel. And hopefully I will see the light soon.

This keeps me going. Having a reason for enduring some suffering can elevate it greatly.


A side note, practising suffering beforehand is great for preparing yourself and it helped me a lot. That's why I also challenge you to join me on a weekly challenge.


This is also a reason why I write this post. It's a reminder for myself. A reminder of why I am doing this. A reminder that this is not the end of the tunnel and it won't be dark forever. A reminder to keep pushing even as I am getting mentally and emotionally exhausted.

To conclude ...

You can take a 9-5 job, just remember why you took it ...

Remember what was your reason of taking the job and what you wantd to solve with it. Work for it so then you can focus on other things. Keep reminding yourself as once you are "in the system" you'll have to be strong and resilient not to give up your life and get stuck in the trap.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

Keep at it, I believe in you.


I will be posting more posts like these in near future to keep me sane, give my thoughts on similar topics, elaborate on my thought process as well as share my journey (which will also keep me accoutnable).

So follow me for more and make sure I follow through :).

Other posts from this series

And I want to write and post much more from this series so stay tuned.



If you want to know how I modify my Images, check out my post about a tool I created


50/50 SP Posts


About the Author;

Hi, I am Joe and I love freedom.
Freedom of all sorts, social, financial, emotional, physical, freedom from your stuff or place.
My biggest passion is to show that it is possible to live life being free, work towards my freedom, and help others obtain their own versions of freedom.
I also love exploration and experimentation (of all senses).
My articles are about all of this (Freedom, exploration, experimentation)
as well as my own transparent and authentic experiences.

Sort:  

Joe, LOVE this post man. I am living it right now. I'm in the rat race but it is because I will earn myself financial security to pursue my passions. Only 597 days to go to that wonderful day that I will finally be financially free!

Thank you :).

Holy shit, that's a long way to go :). When did you start? I got my job only in December and I already plan on quitting :D. (I also work in an Eastern European country so the wage is pretty shit, even though I earn "a lot' compared to the minimum wage here).

Tell me more, I am curious.
Do you at least enjoy what you are doing? The number is very specific. You either have a really well0calculated plan which you are executing (Awesome, Kudos :) ) or it was a joke number :).

Do you think it has to take you that long? Can you mentally survive that long?

Also, what is financial security for you? To me that would be not having to worry about paying for food and shelter and few other small bills.

It is an exact time. I will receive a good pension on February 3rd, 2019. Only took 20 years to obtain too, lol. I don't like it very much, but have moved into pretty comfortable office positions over the past 6 years or so.

That pension includes medical and also pays $2,000 a month for life starting the very next day. I will be 37.

I haven't wrote about it exactly, but https://steemit.com/freedom/@getonthetrain/this-place-is-a-f-cking-prison-on-planet-bulls-t-in-the-galaxy-of-this-sucks-camel-d-ck will show what I am thinking.

That is not bad at all. Especially if you can actually go anywhere in the word afterwards. In some places you'll be able to live extremely comfortably with it (even Europe).

I'll read the post tonight when I come home, cheers :).

Actually I see you are even posting your porfolio, so I'm sure there must be a post that I missed (I was basicallyl inactive since beginning of this year, thank you corporate job :D ) and that you can link me to :).

Hey man! I loved this. It reminds me that I had this plan sometime ago. I am in university so my original plan was to get my degree, work for some savings and then hit the road...

Later on I realized how absurd this plan was. I realize that no amount of money will give me back the years I will spend being miserable. So I am about to turn 20, but I already feel old! It sounds crazy, but I think that the measure of how old we feel is not our actual lifetime, but how much of that time was spent doing something we truly care about.

I totally agree with your advice however. Getting in and out just to get what you need is definitely the way I would approach a 9-5. But beware man! I hope you can fulfill all your dreams. Saludos!

Thank you :).

I totally agree with your point on "how old we feel". If we don't do something that we love or are passionate about, and heck, that could even be having a great group of friends and a partner you hang out with after your 9-5 and you have a great time together, support and love each other.
Or you might love your 9-5. I don't think there's something wrong with that. I'm just not made from that sort of cloth. I just love my freedom too much. And if there is something not giving me that, then we won't get along.

So did you end up going to University? You can hit the road with very little money. I traveled a decent ammount before getting the job. And after I finished University (where I went in order to learn more about myself, not the degree perse - it was free to go) I was living off my backpack for 6 months, sleeping outside, etc. Beautiful times even though I had "nothing" to do, no friends around, etc.

Yeah I am actually in University right now, but I don't have any plans to stay for much longer. From the first months it felt like shit. So after a year I can barely take it any longer.... it's done for me. So yeah I wannna hit the road just like you did :)

Maybe you could write about how you did it and your experiences. I would definitely like to hear about it and other people too.

Sure, I can. It will take few weeks though so you'll have to stay tuned :). And it will be a few part series.

Yes... just keep steem on, write more good posting, share your feeling and experience on steemit, you will feel better. Trust me! :)

That's the plan :). I challenged myself to post at least 10 posts in order to write down my thoughts, share them and hopefully even help someone on the way, either by realizing they are not alone or inspiring them with some of my thinking, etc.

So this is post number 1. At least 9 to go :).

thanks infinite man for sharing your thoughts with us ;) I wish you a wonderful day ;)

I thank you for reading and reacting and understanding. It's great to have a group of people (men) that you can share things like these with. (I sure can't share this with my co-workers - though if they asked (eg. "What do you think about corporations?"- Many already know I'm anarchicaly inclined :D - I would but I wouldn't go around sending my link to them :D.

sorry for my late response... Yeah I really love the infinite man group, there are so many awesome people and a lot of good content :) have you been to one of the summits? (I was at the one in London, which was really great). Yeah often it is quite hard to find people with whom you can talk about all this cool stuff ;)

Yeah, I was in London, too. I flew there just for that thing :).

Oh very nice :) Who was your favorite speaker in London?

Jesse Elder.

Least favourite, the Unicorn as he literally shared nothing. There were couple speakers that shared nothing during the whole speach which is a shame.

What about you?

For me Jesse Elder was also the most valuable talk :)
The unicorn was at least unique :)
For me the one business guy (can't even remember his name) was the most boring (the one who made the longest talk and was just about selling useless stuff on the internet...)

Oh yeah, he was unique for sure :D. I think he could have some nice things to share if he just got to it. That's why I'm dissapointed that he didn't.

Oh yea, the guy who's wholee talk was just a Salespitch to us ... Yea, that one was "great". Basically a forced Webinar where someone is selling you shit :D.

Thanks for sharing this. I've left a full-time job months ago and I'm still trying to build a steady income online. It can be depressing and tough but I do hope to reap some rewards in the future.

Kudos for doing that.

And take it this way, even if you fail you will learn some valuable lessons.
And how do you keep yourself afloat while you're waiting for it to blossom? :)
And what are you trying to do?

Well, I'm on Steemit now. So I guess that would help. Other than that, I run a blog and earn a little from affiliates and also a website that is similar to thisiswhyimbroke. They're still rather new so I guess it takes time to gain traffic and to wait for SEO to kick in. Occasionally freelance platforms help.

Very interesting as today's world turns.

I actually have no clue what you mean :D. But sounds poetic :P.

Also, how did you do those decorative horizontal lines. I have seen them in other posts. Is it an image?

I am using markdown (Steemit thought me to love it, now I use it to write down everything :D. I barely ever use Word. Either Markdown note or Evernote)
And in markdown you do it with three -.
Watch :D


:D

You can also use HTML and there's a way to do it with that but I don't remember from the top of my head.
So use Markdown, it's awesome :).

Great.


I will learn to use it. It looks way better than just plain text.

Congratulations @joewantsfreedom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well thank you dear Badger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64920.85
ETH 3459.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30