You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Traveler Trying To Fit Back In] Thoughts on Nine-to-Five, Self-Made Prisons And How To Position Yourself To Win The Rat Race (And How I Failed At It)

in #travel7 years ago

Hey man! I loved this. It reminds me that I had this plan sometime ago. I am in university so my original plan was to get my degree, work for some savings and then hit the road...

Later on I realized how absurd this plan was. I realize that no amount of money will give me back the years I will spend being miserable. So I am about to turn 20, but I already feel old! It sounds crazy, but I think that the measure of how old we feel is not our actual lifetime, but how much of that time was spent doing something we truly care about.

I totally agree with your advice however. Getting in and out just to get what you need is definitely the way I would approach a 9-5. But beware man! I hope you can fulfill all your dreams. Saludos!

Sort:  

Thank you :).

I totally agree with your point on "how old we feel". If we don't do something that we love or are passionate about, and heck, that could even be having a great group of friends and a partner you hang out with after your 9-5 and you have a great time together, support and love each other.
Or you might love your 9-5. I don't think there's something wrong with that. I'm just not made from that sort of cloth. I just love my freedom too much. And if there is something not giving me that, then we won't get along.

So did you end up going to University? You can hit the road with very little money. I traveled a decent ammount before getting the job. And after I finished University (where I went in order to learn more about myself, not the degree perse - it was free to go) I was living off my backpack for 6 months, sleeping outside, etc. Beautiful times even though I had "nothing" to do, no friends around, etc.

Yeah I am actually in University right now, but I don't have any plans to stay for much longer. From the first months it felt like shit. So after a year I can barely take it any longer.... it's done for me. So yeah I wannna hit the road just like you did :)

Maybe you could write about how you did it and your experiences. I would definitely like to hear about it and other people too.

Sure, I can. It will take few weeks though so you'll have to stay tuned :). And it will be a few part series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48