Is Street Food Safe ?

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemit so this is a question I've been asked so many times during my travels through South East Asia "Is street food safe''? I definitely believe it is safe and I've definitely eaten foods that many people would consider weird.

IMG_20180127_223055.jpg

There is always a possibility that you may end up eating something dodgy but in my four months of travel so far I haven't had food poisoning or had any sort of problems as a result of the foods I've eaten. To increase your chances of being safe I would recommend you go to the food stalls that are busier which is more likely to ensure that your food is prepared fresh and hasn't been left out in the sun all day. Another tip would be to eat dishes that are hot and ensure that before you start eating them that they are piping hot. Soups and curry's make this very easy as you'll be able to see the steam rising from the food.

Street food is definitely some of the best food you'll ever eat in a country and if you end up not eating it you'll truly be missing out on a huge part of the countries culture especially is Asia where eating food on the streets is a way of life. As I see it if the locals are eating the food it got to be safe or they wouldn't be there either.
Here's a few pictures of street food I've had in the past few days to get your taste buds firing !

IMG_20180302_113856.jpg

FB_IMG_1513769881049.jpg

IMG_20180127_223055.jpg

IMG_20180126_201656.jpg

Thanks for reading,
Ben

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me

Travel Guides:
Koh Rong Secret Beach Guide
Koh Rong Secret Beach Video
Kampot Travel Guide
Pai Travel Guide
Koh Phi Phi View Point Guide

Popular posts:
Koh Phi Phi (Island Tour Highlights)
Merry Christmas from Vietnam

You can also find me on:
Instagram + Twitter + DTube + YouTube

Sort:  

I agree - some of the best food I had in Thailand when I visited years back was the street food. Good tips @itsben

I agree with you always make sure the food is prepared and going to busier food stalls. I have not travelled to South East Asia but in lived in India and street food poisoning sometimes is a real danger. I heard some stories about people who have eaten very spicy food and then discovering that it was not fresh and they had to go to the hospital. Fortunately I ve never been to the hospital but sometimes I had some problem with stomach in particular during the summer and the monsoon season.

Don't worry @itsben! If you come to Malaysia, most of the streetfood is safe!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by itsben from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50