Migis Lodge, Maine - 6 - Special Features - 6 original photossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago


Travel exposes us to new vistas and new ideas. Here are some neat ideas that I saw at Migis Lodge, on the shores of Lake Sebago, Maine, when I visited there in October, 2014. There are two types of outdoor benches, a space-efficient hide-away ironing board, and a neat way to make signs out of foraged twigs. Which is your favorite?


DSC00842_WEB73525.jpg

DSC00847_WEB35a76.jpg

DSC00850_WEBbcf35.jpg

DSC00840_WEBda266.jpg

DSC00854_WEB66786.jpg


Bonus: An old painting that shows the Maine woods as they looked in the early 1900s.

DSC00860_WEB7afe6.jpg


See the five previous Lake Migis photo sets - Stacking Firewood, Lake Views, Rustic Cabins, Lake Views Redux, and Cabin Comforts.

Have you seen ideas during your travels, that you used when you got home?

This is the last of the Lake Migis photo series. I hope you have enjoyed it.



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

I enjoyed your photos, like always! What beautiful craftsmanship.

Thanks! I thought of you when I put the two benches in this post. I bet you could make those so easily. It's hard to go wrong with natural wood -- especially knotty pine!

I appreciate that! I would love to build benches like that if I had the time. They would make some nice, unique gifts for people. And yes, I love knotty pine! I put it on the ceiling of our bathroom that I am currently building on our house.

You have the shop for it -- and the wood from your property. One day you might have the time. But it sonds like you have to get a bathroom finished first, no question! Enjoy your knotty pine - and new bathroom! : )

Great post. I'd love to visit the lake. Love the knotty pine, and the old photos. Remember we used to go to the Lake Road Inn when I was a kid, the bathroom doors had pictures of motorboats on them, with Outboard and Inboard on them. Always wanted to put them on my bathroom door ( :

That would be great to see on a set of bathroom doors! That's a good one!

there is a place we stay at regularly in Napier called Driftwood Cottage. The mirror in the bathroom is framed by an old wooden toilet seat!! Actually looks quite cool.

That's an unusual special feature, alright! That's funny!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33