Migis Lodge, Maine - 4 - Lake View Redux - 5 original photossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

By late October, Lake Sebaygo in Maine seems deserted, like the summer crowds were never there at all. Both the lodge and the lake are quiet and calm - not a boat, not a motor, not a sound except the birds of the forests and lake. Looking at these pictures now, from a work trip in 2014, the lake beckons me to slide a canoe into the water and head out for a long trip. I hope the lake calls to you too, in this photo set.

DSC00880_WEB76327.jpg

DSC00878_WEBdc674.jpg

DSC00883_WEB8e9df.jpg

DSC00872_WEB93832.jpg

DSC00861_WEB45ffb.jpg


See the three previous Lake Migis photo sets - Stacking Firewood, Lake Views, and Rustic Cabins. I'll be posting more two more photo sets from the Lake Migis Resort: Resort Comforts and Special Features. Follow me to get them in your feed!

What do you like about an autumn lake view? Would you rather hike along the lakeshore, sit and look out at the lake, head into the woods, or stay in the lodge?

** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Those pictures are very comforting to me. Lodges are great but my favourite is still the good old tent!
Thanks for sharing them.

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Glad you enjoyed these pictures. I like a tent, too. But I was here for some meetings and they paid for it. So I had to suffer, lol. ; )

@kus-knee, I just followed you. Anyone who appreciates camping, especially tent camping, deserves an upvote and a follow from me!

Thanks, I'll do the same!

Talk about looking into the soul of nature!! Gorgeous....I hope there is a chair for me as well :)

Thanks! There were a lot of chairs there, lol. Pull up one and sit for spell! : )

I would so love to do that about now.

Grew up on the shores of one of the Great Lakes. Pics like this remind me of my childhood.

Glad you enjoyed the photos and your memories. The Great Lakes are so beautiful! I lived in Michigan for over a decade and really enjoyed those Great Lakes. There's nothing like them!

I still prefer them to the ocean here in New England. Though I wouldn't say that too loudly... (looks over shoulder....)

I'm with you - I prefer the Great Lakes to the Pacific Ocean here in Oregon, but I keep that quiet, too. The freshwater is so much nicer, I think, than the salt water. And they have so many different environments.

Thanks for sharing :D

Nice place to be, looks like. I'd head into the woods first, then relax at the shore.

That sounds like a good plan!

Heck yes, that lake calls to me! Few things are as peaceful as being on a pristine lake in a canoe! I love it! Great post!

Thanks. That lake was so still. It would have been great in a canoe!

Gorgeous! I could envision a hike through the woods, leaves crunching underfoot, and a crisp breeze. Then, heading back inside to a cozy fire and a mug of hot chocolate.

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! That sounds like a pretty good plan, too. They had a nice fireplace in the lodge. Just the place for a cup of cocoa! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01