One of the Best Roads in Vietnam - Viet Road Trip Day 23 - Coc Pai to Ha Giang

in #travel7 years ago

Viet Road Trip Day 23

20150413_162334_HDR.jpg

Viet Road Trip is a blog series about my solo scooter trip through Viet Nam. This is day 23. Day 22 can be found here.

_dragonframe small.png


ay 23 started out with my favorite stretch of road on the planet. The "highway" was a tiny little single-lane road that wound along the side of a beautiful mountain. The temperature was perfect and there were only a few other people on the road, as I set out.

The first few hours of riding were pure joy. The road meandered along the side of an emerald green mountain, sculpted with rice terraces. The day's route wasn't too long, so I didn't feel any pressure to speed through the area. I felt free to take my time, stop for coffee, and stop for photos when I felt the need.

Just watch a few seconds of this. How lucky am I to have had the opportunity to ride that road? Absolutely gorgeous! (2:00)

20150413_092232_HDR.jpg

Beautiful little farm on the valley floor.

20150413_092249_HDR.jpg

"Be Stiff" an appropriate song for this stretch of road. (1:26)

20150413_093217.jpg

20150413_093223.jpg

More riding. Trying to "Get it up" the hill. (3:13)

20150413_093831_HDR.jpg

20150413_095404_HDR.jpg

It's like they sculpted the whole mountain.

20150413_095416_HDR.jpg

baby flourish.png

he road out of Coc Pai was the most enjoyable road that I've ever been on. I'm pretty sure that I could spend 10 days just riding back and forth on DT178 and never get bored. It should be given an award for being such an amazing road to ride on.

A rough patch of road. (1:18)

20150413_102752_HDR.jpg

20150413_111407_HDR.jpg

20150413_111425_HDR.jpg

Going down. (1:22)

20150413_113210_HDR.jpg

20150413_113331_HDR.jpg

20150413_113352_HDR.jpg

Mellow downhill ride. The only thing missing is the herb. (3:13)

20150413_113410_HDR.jpg

20150413_113649_HDR.jpg

Riding with myself (1:56)

20150413_120150_HDR.jpg

20150413_124957_HDR.jpg

baby flourish.png

n my last post, I mentioned a near miss that made my life flash before my eyes. I was pretty sure that the near accident happened on day 23, but now that I've reviewed my footage from this day, I think it happened on day 24. I just didn't go very fast on day 23. The videos of day 24 show me going way too fast through villages, and I'm confident that the near miss happened on that day. Sorry for my mistake. I'll write about that incident in my post about Day 24 soon.

"Ever Fallen in Love"? A ride through a town. (3:10)

The charm of Vietnam would melt even a "Heart of Glass". (3:15)

20150413_161815_HDR.jpg

baby flourish.png

went to Ha Giang for a reason other than just needing a place to sleep. My visa only had a few more days left on it and I was hoping that I could extend my visa at the immigration office in town. Unfortunately, the immigration office was unable to help. They said that I could only get my visa extended at the place where I got my passport stamped. That place happened to be located on the other side of Vietnam.

This meant that I had to cut the northern part of the trip short. Instead of a leisurely tour through some of Vietnams most scenic areas, I now had to dash to the border with Laos and decide what to do next. It was my fault for not being better at budgeting time and planning.

My original plan was to return to Cambodia on a motorbike (Cambodia was the country I was in before I went to Vietnam). I loved Cambodia and the Cambodians, and I really wanted to explore the country by bike instead of by bus. Those plans would never materialize for several reasons, but the primary reason was that I had fallen in love with Vietnam.

20150413_172912_HDR.jpg

baby flourish.png

20150413_162827.jpg

n Ha Giang, I found a donor kebab place! Two different kebab places, actually. When I traveled through Europe, I did a Donor Kebab World Cup to see which country had the best Kebab. It should come as no surprise that the country that introduced the donor kebab to the world won the contest. Germany was and is, the Donor Kebab World Champion (especially their "donor box" variation, glorious!).

I was happy to include a new country in the contest. Unfortunately, the Vietnamese donor kebabs placed last in the contest. I thought Poland would win Last place, but Vietnam took it. The sauce was just mayo, the meat was sketchy, and the restaurants didn't have access to some of the necessary ingredients and spices. The portions were also small compared to European donors. Even with such a poor showing in the Donor Kebab World Cup, I was happy to have a taste of home.

For some reason, I had a really hard time finding food in Ha Giang. There must have been a holiday or event happening because most places were closed.

After the first kebab, I wanted some fried rice or meat on a stick or something, but I couldn't find any open restaurants that looked appealing. I found one place with cartoons of insects on the walls. Turns out they only sold insects to eat (really wish I had taken a picture). I walked around for about an hour, trying to find another place to eat. Finally, I decided to go to another donor place which was of similar quality as the first donor place. The guy who worked there was nice and took a selfie with me.

20150413_174108_HDR.jpg

baby flourish.png

his is the point in my trip when I finally had to ride with some urgency. I think I had 4 or 5 days left on my visa, and I still didn't know which border crossing to use. This is kind of the unofficial end of my scooter trip. From this point on, I was riding to get to places instead of just riding to ride.

I've still got a few more posts left in this series, and I'm most likely going to start posting about other parts of my 2-year trip soon. I hope you'll stick around for the next post. Until then, ride safe!

map.png


_dragonframe-small-upside-down-reverse.gif


Viet Road Trip is a blog series about my solo scooter trip through Vietnam. Read about days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.1, 8, 8.1, 9, 9.1, 10, 11,12, 13, 14, 15-17, 18, 19, 20-21 and 22 here.

Sort:  

It feels great to watch you ride through the countryside. I love it! You could use some long footage and put some vapowave music with it. Something like that

I've thought about doing something similar, like stitching the better segments together and replacing the audio with music.

I think most of my riding videos are too jerky to watch for long periods of time. Youtube's stabilization warps the backgrounds of my videos, and I don't have a Premier subscription for better stabilization options. But it would be fun to get back into video editing. I haven't done that in years.

Maybe using warp stabilization on after effects (if you have it) can make it look good but don't overpower it. Actually I was surprised that your camera is stable enough for me to watch.. judging by the road you take sometimes.

Also just a suggestion, slow down when you cross villages, it's fun to get a glimpse of real life. But that of course if you're running out of time or not.. or getting to the hotel before a typhoon or something :D

oh, man ... I was hoping you would have taken the upper yellow road on your map... That's the Hoang Su Phi Route...absolutely stunning... but I guess, this one was great too.

Ha Giang is indeed not famous for their food... there is only one good restaurant that I can think of, just next to the bridge over the river. Thanks for sharing these travel bogs... they make me twitch to go on another ride soon ... Ha Giang I am coming back for you !!!

IMG_1640.JPG

I'll just have to go back and take that top road. :)

Or maybe do a day that starts and stops in Coc Pai and loops around. What an amazing area to ride scooters in. Hopefully, I'll be able to return soon.

Oh can't beat them German Döners huh? Another great blog of your trip. Ride on. (;

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb

yeah add me to the list! thx

Added you to the list. Thanks for following along on the journey!

Congratulations @fronttowardenemy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31