Viet Road Trip Day 8 (part 2): To Hoi An. The sound of disappointment

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Viet Road Trip Day 8 Part 2

20150329_090904.jpg

This is a blog series about my solo scooter trip through Viet Nam, going day by day. This is the second part of day 8. Part 1 can be found here.

I think I may have blown my wad on the first part of this day. Now that it's time to actually sit down and write about the second half of the day, I'm drawing a blank. There are only so many ways that a person can say "it was awesome" and "I was blown away".

That'll have to do for my introduction. Here are the photos and videos of the journey towards Hoi An.

A river ride, with TCQ

20150329_090932.jpg

I love water buffaloes, and I don't know why. I will post every water buffalo picture that I have, no matter how bad it is. Sorry

Random bit of riding

20150329_093203.jpg

What the....

OK, I actually stopped and turned around to get a picture of this sign. Is this where you get emergency luggage handles or something? I know what it's supposed to be, but I've never seen a phone icon like this before. It seemed weird to me at the time, but now that I think about it, maybe the sign isn't what's weird here.

20150329_093318.jpg

Riding through town

Rice paddies and a small village

Bigger rice paddies and a bigger village

20150329_100658.jpg

Quick snapshot while riding

20150329_101818.jpg

Nice small road

After I got out of the foothills, there were two routes to choose from in order to get to Hoi An. I chose the slower, but less busy route. I think I made the right choice.

The road wasn't much bigger than a golf cart path. The path seemed to go through 50 different little villages, and the people seemed to get more and more friendly as I progressed.

I also happened to be riding through when all of the schools were getting out. It was crazy, like 50% of the kids would yell "Hello!" to me, or wave or say something in Vietnamese. It was like I was a B level celebrity or something. It was funny and I was catching it all on video. It was awesome!

I was so stoked I had to stop and make sure everything was cool with the camera. Here's my reaction.

Skip to 0:40. DOH!

Yeah, that sucked. I was pretty sure that I had just captured my favorite footage of the trip so far, and.... nothing. So yeah, I turned the sound back on, on my Gopro.

Maybe it's not too bad. My celebrity status improves every time I tell this story. With no video to keep myself in check, pretty soon I'll be like Michael Jordan going through the villages signing babies and getting keys from the mayors.

I still captured some decent footage of the little path and the ride into Hoi An.

Wait... is that a... did I just see a....

20150329_103222_HDR.jpg

WATER BUFFALO!

A little traffic and mud

20150329_104329.jpg

The outskirts of Hoi An. You can tell you're getting close to Hoi An by the foreigners on bicycles.

20150329_114841_HDR.jpg

My entrance to Hoi An. Below is a little tour of town as I tried to find a hotel.

Hoi An ride through

I found a hotel and went exploring for food and beer.

20150329_200852_NIGHT.jpg

Hoi An is a beautiful place. Awesome lanterns hanging everywhere. Amazing architecture everywhere. Nice restaurants everywhere. Fancy shops everywhere. It's very picturesque. It's very safe. And it's very clean. I disliked it almost immediately.

I didn't have a bad time in Hoi An, but I didn't like the place. That will be discussed in my next post. Until then, ride safe!

map.png

Sort:  

Thats got to be an awesome way to see a country!

Great trip man, i wish i could have made it until Hoi an. I will stay tune for your other post ;)

The next post will be about Danag. Hopefully it doesn't take me too long to make it. It takes me forever to upload the videos and go through the images and stuff. It's fun, but I can be lazy sometimes :)

Glad you liked the post.

I lived in DaNang for 2 years. My favourite city in Vietnam. I like Hoi An as well though. Was it a bit too touristy for you? as you mentioned you didn't like it? I'm resteeming this. Thanks for the great pictures and videos.

Hoi An just felt fake to me. Everything was about tourism there, and the prices were high. I'll get into on my next post :)

I think Danag could be my favorite city on the planet. After I rode through Vietnam on my 1-month visa, I got a 3-month visa and spent it in Danang. Then got an extension and went back to Danang for a few more weeks. And now I want to go back.

Yes! Mine too. I'm on a mission to get back to DaNang! So much to love about that city! Hope to be the first place to accept cryptocurrency there!

I keep thinking about how cryptocurrency is going to change traveling. Or moving to other countries, for that matter. I lived in Germany for years and getting money from America was always an expensive hassle.

Yes sir! It will be amazing if we can keep the government out of it! I plan on opening a guest house and accepting crypto for bookings and exchanging crypto for local currency for guests and travellers! I keep trying to explain this to fellow expats here but.......my energy is better spent focusing on my own goals as it falls on deaf ears.

That's awesome. Hopefully I'll get to try out some of your crypto services before too long. I've got no idea when I'll go back, but writing my blog series and going through the images and videos is making miss Vietnam a lot. I can feel that I won't be able to resist the call of Vietnam for much longer.

Hahaha, i totally understand you. It can be so hard to find motivation to sort the pictures and upload badass videos on internet, especially with a lame connection :) Well don't be so lazy anyway cause we want to read you ;)

Hah! but it's sooooo much easier to be lazy :D

Vietnam have changed so much. Nice Photos and Video bro.

You're not kidding. I was in Danang on days 10 and 11 of my trip. I came back about a month later and 3 hotels had opened up. It's crazy in Vietnam right now. Everyone is building.

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73