Viet Road Trip Day 9: A Photo and Video Introduction to Beautiful Hoi An, Vietnam. And why I hated it there.

in #travel7 years ago

Viet Road Trip Day 9

20150330_090305_HDR.jpg

Viet Road Trip is a blog series about my scooter trip through Vietnam. This is Day 9.


This is a short scoot through Hoi An, serenaded by Short Dog himself. Blow the whistle!

On day 9, I woke up in Hoi An. The weather was brisk, and the ride ahead of me was short. Less than an hour, short. My destination that day was Danang. I had a few hours to kill before I had to check out of the hotel, so went walking.

I took advantage of the excellent selection of restaurants in Hoi An. Vietnam has good local food, but I got tired of eating noodle soup all the time. In my culture we use soup as practice for real meals. The only time we eat soup by itself is when we're sick. So I loved Hoi An's food selection. If you're a foodie, or love expensive restaurants, there are a few fancy places available. There are also a lot of excellent, cheap options. They even had Mexican food. That morning, I had an American style breakfast at a diner.

20150330_084749_HDR.jpg

Do NOT bring your bugle to Hoi An. Just don't.

20150330_084831_HDR.jpg

Hoi An is probably one of the most attractive towns that I've seen in the world. I mean there are nicer, bigger, cleaner, cooler towns. But if you become enthralled with Vietnam, like I have, there's something about Hoi An that enchants you. For me it was a short lived enchantment, but there is no denying the beauty of this place.

20150330_085021_HDR.jpg

20150330_085051_HDR.jpg

20150330_090646_HDR.jpg

Something about these kids seems a little creepy, but I love this style.

I don't know if it's the influence of artists like Shepard Fairey, but I loved the communist-style art in Vietnam.

If it wasn't for all of the communist flags and propaganda posters in Vietnam, I never would have guessed that the place was communist. Of course I was only passing through, and didn't try to start a business or buy property. But it seemed like a normal, nice country to me.

20150330_085122_HDR.jpg

From right to left: Dress shop, suit shop, dress shop?, jewelry shop.... The whole tourist zone is like this. Suits and dresses, dresses and suits.... Ouch! My jaw just cracked from yawning so hard.

20150330_085246_HDR.jpg

Who would have guessed? It's a suit shop! What a surprise.

20150330_085401_HDR.jpg

20150330_085943_HDR.jpg

Yeah, I'm not really a suit guy. I've hated dressing up ever since my mom used to dress me up for church, as an kid. So I consider all of the suit and dress shops wasted space. Most of the shops look pretty from the street, so that's kind of cool. However, I'm a firm believer in the old saying "if you've seen one suit shop, you've seen all suit shops".

If you don't count suit and dress shops, Hoi An has about 3 interesting shops to look at. I didn't have space for any purchases, so I didn't go to those shops either.

However, if you love shopping for suits and dresses, you probably can't choose a more beautiful place to do it than Hoi An.

20150330_085211_HDR.jpg

Lanterns over all of the roads in the tourist zone. They are what make Hoi An an experience, instead of just a tourist trap. Whoever thought these things up should get a medal.

20150330_085610_HDR.jpg

20150330_090135_HDR-Edit.jpg

20150330_090151_HDR.jpg

20150330_085637_HDR-Edit.jpg

The River in Hoi An is lovely. Walking along the river at night, with all of the lanterns lit up, is like something out of a fairy tale. If you ever want to impress your girlfriend or wife, take her to Hoi An for dinner and an evening stroll. Bring mosquito spray and something that takes better night photos than a phone.

20150330_085716_HDR.jpg.20150330_085841_HDR.jpg

20150330_085926_HDR.jpg

So why do I hate Hoi An? OK, that was a little bit of clickbait on my part. I don't hate Hoi An, but I dislike it. I recommend visiting Hoi An as a day trip, while staying in Danang.

Why do I dislike Hoi An? There are a few possible reasons. The first reason is that Hoi An is fake. Hoi An is where Vietnamese people go to get away from "real life" in Vietnam. It's like Disneyland in America. You won't have an authentic American experience in Disneyland. And I didn't feel like I was having an authentic Vietnamese experience in Hoi An. If Hoi An was my only destination in Vietnam, it would have been fine. But by day 9 I had seen a lot of Vietnam, and I already knew that the "real" Vietnam was far superior to the Hoi An version of Vietnam.

Another possible reason why I disliked Hoi An is that I was single. Hoi An is a very romantic place with tons of couples everywhere. I'm not one of these bitter single guys who hates love or couples. But in Hoi An, it's hard not to feel like the only single guy on the roller rink during couple's skate.

Another reason why I disliked Hoi An was the amount of western tourists. I'm a western tourist and I don't hate myself. I don't hate other western tourists. The fact of the matter is "familiarity breeds resentment". The locals of Hoi An see millions of people every year who look pretty similar to me. I was just another customer in Hoi An.

In much of Vietnam, tourists are rarely seen by the locals. Being a westerner in Vietnam is awesome! People pull up on their scooters to say hi and to shake hands. They seem really curious and jocular. People take selfies with you, and make their babies wave at you. It's great. Seeing a funny looking white dude wearing stupid clothes and too much gear is something they can tell their neighbors about. It's news in some of the smaller villages. In Hoi An you're just another one of the thousands that pass through each month.

So that's why I didn't stay in Hoi An. I had planned to stay two nights because I needed to do my taxes. Instead I headed down the road to Danang and I would take my tax day there.

I'll be posting some footage of the ride, as well as some video tours through Danang later, so stay tuned. Until then, ride safe!


Viet Road Trip is a blog series about my solo scooter trip through Vietnam. Read about days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.1, 8, and 8.1 here.

Sort:  

Now I'm picturing Disney land Vietnam. Did they have swan shaped paddle boats in the river?

Not in Hoi An (that I saw). I did find some a few days later in Sapa, though.

20150411_171106_HDR.jpg

The pics are great and Hoi An looks a bit like where I'm from (Malacca). It's like a small town with lots of shops aimed towards tourists. Even if you disliked the experience, at least you had great pictures. :)

Thanks! You're right, even if Hoi An isn't as authentic as a normal town, the good pictures are worth the visit.

I looked up Malacca and it looks awesome!

Thanks. Malacca is always filled with tourists from all over the world.

They might look similar in some ways but Hoi An and Malacca are incomparable. Hoi An is a small town with a lot of tourist and old heritage town whereas Malacca is a city with good infrastructure and good history.

Congratulations @fronttowardenemy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

good post... we stayed there at a resort for five days at the end or a 7 week trip.. mostly to get away (we thought) from all the hawkers... the ywere worse there than anywhere!

well written, the pics brought me back instantly.. cannot believe i was there just a short while ago.. and you are absolutely right about everything why Hoi An is nice but being out of the cities in Vietnam is so much better..

I'm glad you enjoyed it @kerija.

On my trip, all of my best experiences happened away from the tourist areas in Vietnam. The people out in the country are so friendly and funny.

absolutely, same here.. people are so much nicer in the countryside.. and the nature and the solitude.. best ever..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47