Viet Road Trip Day 7.0: Plieku to Kham Duc. Entering the emerald green.

in #travel7 years ago

Viet Road Trip Day 7.0: Plieku to Kham Duc

20150328_134118_HDR.jpg

Up until day 7, the landscape of Vietnam hadn't been very impressive. The climate was very arid and the things that were green were usually covered in dust. So Vietnam didn't feel particularly green or lush. That all changed on day 7.


First, some good news! I finally mounted my camera to my helmet in Plieku. So most of the rattle and shutter from previous videos is gone.

I started the day out with some Gorillaz. As you can see, traffic was light and getting out of the city was simple.


For the first hour or two of driving, there was a good amount of car, bus, and truck traffic. Normally it's not a big deal, but when cars pass trucks and go straight towards you, it can be a little nerve wracking. The land itself didn't seem very impressive at first, but it got better and better as the day progressed.

20150328_095217_HDR.jpg

20150328_101754_HDR.jpg

20150328_105223_HDR.jpg
Slowly the land started to get greener and more lush. Vietnam finally started looking like the country that I had imagined. Trees seemed to be growing out of anything made of dirt. Ferns and banana trees seemed to be slowly taking over everything. Rice paddies started popping up all over the place. It was beautiful.

20150328_134417.jpg

After 7 days, I felt like I had finally arrived in the real Vietnam, and I couldn't be more thrilled.

Note: I'm changing the format for my posts. Instead of doing whole days in single posts, I'm going to be breaking some of the days up. It doesn't make any sense to put 8 hours into one post that may or may not get any votes. I think a better plan is to do smaller, less time consuming posts, more frequently. The next post in this series will be about Day 7.1.

Sort:  

Hello @fronttowardenemy. I like the idea of uploading smaller posts. How scary was that moment from your video when the truck came so close?! Omg I wouldn’t survive that 😃. Also, the nature looks so beautiful now. Can’t wait to see more pictures of the landscape 😊 Upvoted! Greetings @traveldict

I don't think the truck was actually as close as it looks in the video. If it was close enough to scare me, you would have heard me cussing :) Sometimes it did get real scary on the roads, I had to go off the side of the road a couple of times to avoid head-on collisions.

I'm glad you're enjoying the posts. I think the smaller posts will also be easier for me to start. One of my biggest problems is when I think about writing a huge post, I'll make excuses and procrastinate because the job seems so big. Hopefully smaller posts won't seem like such a big deal to start working on.

Very cool stuff. Buddy rider on the road! :) Following you. Cheers!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

WOOOT!! Awesome! Thank you!

Following!

I'm using way too many exclamation marks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75