Broke-down, but never alone on The Ho Chi Minh Trail - Viet Road Trip Day 13 - Khe Sahn to Dong Hoi

in #travel7 years ago

Viet Road Trip Day 13

20150403_101017_HDR.jpg

Viet Road Trip is a blog series about my solo scooter trip through Viet Nam. This is day 13. Day 12 can be found here.

_dragonframe small.png


On Day 13, I left town early. This was to be my longest scheduled ride. I had been told to bring 2 extra liters of fuel which I kept in water bottles under my seat. I wanted to make sure I arrived at Dong Hoi before nightfall, so I left Khe Sahn earlier than usual.

Early in the morning, It felt like I had the whole Ho Chi Minh Trail to myself.

Jus' Coolin' on the Ho Chi Minh Trail. Good morning Vietnam! A beautiful day for a ride. (This is also my 100th video uploaded to Youtube, WOOT!).

20150403_063101_HDR-Edit.jpg

A lovely morning on the Ho Chi Minh Trail.

20150403_074712.jpg

One of the few horses that I saw in Vietnam. I didn't want to spook it, so I didn't get very close. It looked like it was out by itself.

Anything is plenty, man

20150403_075619_HDR.jpg

20150403_084831_HDR.jpg

20150403_093410_HDR.jpg

A lot of the day's ride was through valleys like this one.

20150403_095611-Edit.jpg

A little house on the side of the road.

20150403_100316_HDR.jpg

A farm at the foot of a mountain.

20150403_100409_HDR.jpg

20150403_103939.jpg

A nice ride on the Trail.

baby flourish.png

At some point during the ride, my motorbike started making a strange noise. The noise persisted with the engine off, so I figured it wasn't an engine problem. I pulled over and experienced a well-known and well-documented phenomenon in Vietnam.

I'd driven a fair distance on this road without passing any vehicles, homes, or people. Yet within 3 minutes of stopping, someone was walking up to see what was wrong with my bike. The chainguard had broken and was rubbing against the chain. I have no idea where he came from.

The guy that appeared wasn't much help, but the moral support was appreciated. He tried to bend the guard away from the chain without any success. After that, he did what men have done all over the world for ages. He just kind of stood around the broken machine while I tried to get it working. He'd nod when I gestured for his opinion. I eventually found a stick and pried the guard away from the chain. I said my goodbyes and went on my way.

This experience answered an ancient philosophical question for me; "If a machine breaks alone in the woods, will men still gather to fix it?" The answer is always yes.

20150403_115617_HDR.jpg

An interesting billboard what seems to promote industry and logging.

20150403_174611_HDR.jpg

Fishing boats in Dong Hoi.

baby flourish.png

Dong Hoi was a fun and friendly city. After I checked into my hotel, I found a Honda shop to fix my chainguard, and change my oil. One of the ladies that worked at the Honda repair place spoke some English and kept me occupied.

After "What's your name?" and "Where are you from?", "Are you married?" is easily the third most popular question I get out here. The Honda lady was nice and asked her questions. She recommended some restaurants to me and told me about her family. She also fed me some snacks while I waited for my bike to get fixed. She gave me some small fruits which I believe we're baby mangos, plus some chili salt to dip them in. Another lady kept pouring tea for me even though the pitcher and glasses were right there on the table in front of me. It was a sweet gesture.

One of the mechanics tried my electronic cigarette and coughed his ass off. He also said I looked pregnant because of my beer belly. The whole shop was watching and got a laugh out of that. A different lady employee walked up to where we were all gathered. The mechanic said something about her in Vietnamese while looking at me and she slapped him in the face. Hardish, but still in a joking way. The people are funny out here, I don't know if jocular is the right word, but it seems like everyone is always cracking jokes. They crack jokes with each other too, not just about me or my bike.

My bike was fixed, after a while, and I went out to see some of the city.

20150403_174455.jpg

Some of my drive-by photos of a market in Dong Hoi.

20150403_174504.jpg

Plenty of fruit.

20150403_174952.jpg

A normal scene on a normal day.

20150403_175312_HDR-Edit.jpg

An old French church.

20150403_175350_HDR-Edit.jpg

An old French church.

20150403_180911.jpg

A new Vietnamese church. Looks like they need a bigger building.

20150403_181032_HDR.jpg

20150403_181146_HDR-Edit.jpg

20150404_072058_HDR.jpg

The view from my hotel.

baby flourish.png

When I got back to my hotel several of the staff girls were at a table close to the elevator. While I waited for the elevator, one of the girls asked how I was. I said I was good and asked how she was. She replied with, "I don't know, maybe I missed you." Taken aback, I said that I missed her too and would see her soon.

Earlier, at a restaurant, a lady said "You're single, I'm single. I love you." after she asked the standard questions. It was hard to tell if these were legitimate advances or if this is just Vietnamese humor. Either way, I enjoyed it. Funny, flirty interactions with strange women are part of what makes Vietnam so much fun. They are also why I have very little interest in traveling to India and most Islamic countries. Such interactions with women are likely to be few and far between.

After I got to my room, I posted on Facebook and went to sleep. The next day of riding would take me to Vinh. Until then, ride safe!

20150403_173840_HDR.jpg

Sunset in Dong Hoi.

map.png


_dragonframe small upside down.png


Viet Road Trip is a blog series about my solo scooter trip through Vietnam. Read about days 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.1, 8, 8.1, 9, 9.1, 10, 11, and 12 here.

Sort:  

Great blog as usual dude, love it. Was you vaping that chinese menthol when the mechanic was coughing his butts off? lOl Them girls been loving you, huh? Nothing's different in the west..we love them asian beauties too. (;

You know I had that Chinese menthol :D. It was crazy how many people tried my vape in Vietnam. No one in any other country tried it, but in Vietnam it became a normal thing. Every single person who tried it coughed their ass off.

The only people who seemed to like it were some kids who didn't want to give it back. That's coming up in a couple of posts.

Haha..that's funny. Can't wait to read about it on your next post. Cheers.

Wow its a greeny mountain, a miss my province. Great adventure @fronttowardenemy.

"You are single, i am single, i love you" Easiest flirt ever hahaha
Great pictures man, thanks for sharing !

You're welcome!

Not speaking Vietnamese, I could never quite tell when a woman was coming on to me or making jokes. Now that I think about it, the same is true with English speaking women. Maybe language isn't my problem here :)

Hahahaha, language is definitely not a problem here :p

Keep going....

Great photos - its like I travelled with you!

Glad to have you along for the ride!

great tour

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FrontTowardEnemy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I've so gotta do this. I'm in Thailand atm. Thanks, great post.

It's definitely worth doing. When I started the Asia part of my trip, I was too scared to get a scooter. I didn't want to end up like all of the banged up tourists that I saw every day in Thailand. Eventually, I rented a scooter in Pai and never looked back.

I ended up renting scooters in Laos and Cambodia and finally buying one in Vietnam.

Dude! This looks amazing! I would love doing this! I will take my time one day and go through all of them. Just looked over the pictures now. How many days will your trip be?

The trip is finished already. In total, I was traveling for 2 years. I was in Vietnam for about 4.5 months, and the "road trip" part of my time in Vietnam was about 25 days.

Wow, that is just so amazing! Would love doing something like that and just blogging every step of the way. Think I should =P

I wish soooo much that I was on Steemit during my trip. I didn't earn shit from facebook :)

I want to go back on the road and write about it here. Just need to figure out where to put all my stuff.

Yeah, can imagine you got nothing from facebook. I kind of forgot about it, lol. This will be the perfect place to do it and to follow it daily as it is happening will be amazing! Added to my bucket list.

Very nice post - thank you for taking me along for the journey! Your photographs are excellent :)

Happy to have you along for the ride! Glad you're enjoying the posts.

Yes! Your posts are great!

Thank you!

Thanks for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48