Travel Adventures - Rejuvenate at the Scandinavian Baths of Whistler

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My recent travels took me to the snowy mountain village of Whistler. This little Canadian town is an internationally acclaimed destination, known for it's suburb winter sports in addition to great shopping, dining and nightlife. It is also popularly known as the home of the 2010 Winter Olympics.

I am fortunate to live only a three hour drive away from this little gem. As long as you don't mind potentially waiting in a border line up - it is a lovely drive. In my day job, I work with business all over the country - including the Hawaiian islands and surrounding areas. Today I was talking with one of my accounts in Guam and she told me that she actually takes a ski trip to Whistler every year! Guam to Canada is quite the commitment. It really put my three hour drive to shame.

I'll share more on my adventures in the village with @raised2b in a future post, but for now I want to talk about the absolute highlight of our getaway weekend - The Scandinavian Baths.

9B8DF4C7-6C18-4B10-A80E-CAAB02481F80.jpeg

The baths are nestled on a mountainside just a short drive outside the village. They only allow a certain people into the baths at a time to help maintain a feeling of calmness and serenity on the grounds. Those wishing to attend simply purchase a day pass and are free to stay as long as they wish. This means that it can be a little difficult to predict when there will be a wait list because there are those who stay for two hours, and there are those who stay for 10!

1A33E207-5465-4191-93D1-E874CDA6979C.jpeg

We had about an hour wait to get in.

748FC17B-C2B2-4914-93EA-97B95A06851B.jpeg

Fear not, the lobby had lovely fireplaces and couches to relax in while we waited.

Three Part Relaxation System - Hot, Cold, Relax

To take full advantage of the hydrotherapy options available, they recommend cycling through three stages. 15-20 minutes of heat, 10-15 seconds of a frigid plunge, and 15-20 minutes of relaxation.

Hot

The first hydrotherapy stage increases your body temperature which dilates blood vessels, reducing blood pressure and increasing blood flow to the skin and muscles. The increase in body temperature causes considerable perspiration, which helps cleanse the skin and release the body’s negative energy. The following stations were available for heat.

  • Eucalyptus Steam Baths
  • Wood Burning Sauna
  • Finnish Sauna
  • Hot Baths

The temperature was about 25 degrees F the day we went, and so this was my favorite section! The Finnish Sauna ended up being my favorite, but I really enjoyed the benefits of each. The eucalyptus steam room really felt like it was penetrating your skin with the essential oils. The steam room probably felt the most therapeutic, but I had a hard time staying in there for more than 10 minutes because the heat and the steam were so intense.

The dry saunas were nice because I could easily sit in there about 20 minutes and just enjoy the warmth. The wood burning sauna was pretty incredible to experience because there was a literal fire warming the space. I personally love the smell of a fire, and being surrounded by snow and evergreens really made it feel festive. The only drawback to the wood burning sauna, is that it didn't get nearly as hot as the more standard, finnish sauna.

7EE2D164-1A80-49F2-8E1A-47336C097BCD.jpeg

Outside the Eucalyptus Steam Room

Cold

The second step causes the pores of the skin to close and flushes toxins, with a brief but highly beneficial cool rinse. A dip in the cold plunge helps to release endorphin's, and increase your heart rate. This stage is where you will receive the most benefit of the hot-cold-relax circuit. These are the available cold options:

  • Nordic Waterfall
  • Nordic Showers
  • Cold Plunge Baths

I have to admit, I did not participate in this part of the experience. Remember back to the beginning when I said it was 25 degrees F? I just couldn't bring myself to do it! @raised2b on the other hand, absolutely loved it! I have been there in the summer before and enjoyed the nordic plunge, but I just didn't have it in me this trip. I usually sat in one the lounge chairs outside for a bit to cool off after a heat session. Because it was below freezing outside - does that count for a cold step?

The nordic waterfalls were absolutely stunning. Even in the summer... water is cold! I really do love the way it feels when it takes your breath away. This may sound strange, but it's almost like your body temporarily tightens up, and then it let's go completely after a cold plunge - making the relaxation step more effective.

AE6D709C-019B-4188-89E1-A214957128A1.jpeg

The Nordic Waterfall

Relax

The final stage in the cycle is designed to allow the cardiovascular system to regulate itself. After spending time in hot and cold environments, it is recommend to rest the body to help stabilize blood flow and heart rate. This is a time for body & mind to rest and relax. The following relaxation options were available:

Solariums
Hammock Haven
Outdoor Fireplaces
Multi-Purpose Yoga Studio

The hammock haven was unfortunately closed due to the weather. It is located up a flight of wooden stairs on the outskirts of the baths and they were worried about ice forming and guests slipping and falling. The solarium were my favorite spot to just sit, relax and think. There was a mix of comfortable seating including lounge chairs, couches and beds you can take a nap on. There were a mix of indoor and outdoor fireplaces which not only helped provide additional heat, but helped promote a sense of relaxation.

C37FA9C9-A8BF-49BE-B1DA-66586A733B72.jpeg

Free citrus water and herbal tea stations were located around the grounds

No Wifi, and No Cell Phones Allowed

The Scandinavian Spa purposely does not provide wifi for their guests, and they strongly encourage keeping your cell phone in the locker room. They believe that in order to fully relax - one needs to unplug from the pressures of the surrounding world and simply leave space for stillness. There are many people who bring in books to read or journals to write in.

Now you might be thinking... how did you snap all these pictures then? Well, i'm pretty sneaky. I don't actually have any kind of cell service in Canada unless I am using wifi, and so it was simply used to snap a couple shots. Don't worry, I wasn't browsing Steemit while I was there. :)

I did actually listen to an audio book for a while though, which was a lovely thing to do while relaxing on the couches in the solarium. I am currently re-reading one of my favorite books - Eat, Pray Love. I actually prefer the audio book because the author Elizabeth Gilbert reads the book herself. I almost feel like she is personally telling me her story.

2489EEB7-334E-4B85-8B82-627E8A6AD642.jpeg

Absolute Silence

They do not permit any speaking while in the baths. This is designed to give people a chance to relax in their own way, without feeling distracted by other guests. They also really believe that by spending time in silence, it helps to promote introspection and self growth.

I am pretty talkative and outgoing, and so I have to say it felt a little weird to go that many hours without speaking, but it was actually quite refreshing. It gave me time to meditate - which is something I don't make nearly enough time to do in my regular life. After I broke through the initial "Everyday and mundane" thoughts, I felt my consciousness go to a deeper level of clarity where I could see my life and my goals at higher level instead of feeling in the weeds with everyday situations. This really makes me want to find some kind of space like this that is closer to my home that I can visit every few months to spend hours in a silence rejuvenating my body and my mind.

Ok, I have a confession to make. I actually got in trouble with the "Silence Police" for quickly whispering something. It was actually pretty funny, because after that, I noticed how many staff members were walking around with jackets that said "Silence Please" on the back! I understand that they do this to protect the ethos of the space and ensure everyone has an equal opportunity for relaxation and reflection....but still... leave it to me to get in trouble!

(

Hard to believe I could feel this warm in below freezing weather wearing just a bathing suit and robe!

Benefits of Hydrotherapy

Hydrotherapy is an ancient practice that has been used for thousands of years. The cycle of heating and cooling the body helps to release tension in both the mind and the body. This has been shown to help improve circulation, release endorphin's and activate the lymphatic system - further detoxifying the body.

Many people find that hydrotherapy helps to boost the immune system and may help prevent them from getting sick. It can also be used to relieve pain, reduce muscle tension and aid in the recovery of injured muscles.

A recent study conducted by Dr. Elaine Moore found the following results:

Hydrotherapy increases blood circulation, including circulation of the immune system’s white
blood cells. Hydrotherapy also increases the body’s production of endogenous opioid peptides,
particularly endorphins. Enhanced circulation and increased endorphins strengthen the immune
system, reduce inflammation, heal injured tissue, improve well-being and energize the body.

Hydrotherapy also supplies fresh nutrients and oxygen to injured tissue and helps with the
removal of waste products. In injuries alternate applications of heat and cold accelerate healing
by improving blood vessel integrity and muscle tone. Heat causes peripheral (surface) blood
vessels to dilate or expand. Cold causes peripheral blood vessels to constrict and drives blood
back to the organs.

0C42640A-4F5B-4F11-B670-29895AACA295.jpeg

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to read through my post! I hope you enjoyed learning more about my experience at the Scandinavian Baths in Whistler. If you ever find yourself in that neck of the woods, I would highly recommend it.



A Few of My Recent Posts


Open Mic Week 58 - Cups by Anna Kendrick (Cover)
Hiking in the Snow at Mount Rainier
Portrait Contest Week 20 - Dancing at Sunset

Always Hitting You With The Good Stuff!

D168A6F0-1EFE-4431-9D9D-B00282E60BFE.gif

Sort:  

I love this place. I wish I could go there at least once a month. I didn't realize you got so many awesome shots too, you are sneaky!

Ahhh right?? Going once a month would be a big quality-of-life shift!

This is a really good post for the journey and story telling. It brings me back to my winter trip to Iceland in the Blue Lagoon where it was fine to stand outside in a bathing suit in frigid windy weather because of the heavenly steam. Wow, it feels weird not writing steem for once.

I hate hate hate cold water, so I would've definitely skipped the polar bear club element of your day too. @raised2b has some serious guts there.

Great story though as some calm late night reading material here.

That Blue Lagoon experience sounds awesome, I'm going to put that on my "to do's I hope to get to one day"

I've always loved the cold water dips after a sauna or steam session (haha, it is weird not writing steem). I was actually surprised by how many people were doing it. Lots of guys and ladies went for the dunk. There were a few screams from the ladies though. Fortunately there's always a sauna nearby to retreat to.

I can’t believe you’ve actually been to the blue Lagoon! That is absolutely on my bucket list. Also, thanks for the compliment on the storytelling and writing. Telling more of a story through my writing and photos of something that I am actively working on. 😊

It sounds exotic, but the Blue Lagoon is actually geothermal steam runoff from a power plant. It's man-made. There are natural hot springs, but they're tougher to get to around the Golden Circle. Since I went in January, it was brutal outside, and the bus ride to the Blue Lagoon was about as wild as I wanted to get in those conditions.

Hmm interesting that it is man-made. That does lesson the appeal a bit. I’d love to visit Iceland sometime when the northern lights are happening and hike to somewhere secluded to watch them.

Lovely post and photos. :)
Did you go all the way to Scandinavia from the U.S.?

This is actually located in Whistler, Canada. They just use a finish and Scandinavian technique in the pools. 😊

Ah, that's great! The Finnish are really into it. I have seen that they have too many saunas even in their airports. :)
P.S. Learning something new every day here on Steemit!

Oh wow! A sauna in an airport would be a great way to pass the time while you are waiting for your flight. I had never heard of that before... so I learned something new today too!

Yes, they have at Vantaa airport, Helsinki. The Finnish alcohol, cloudberry is also great! ;) The guy sitting next to me on the plane suggested and I bought myself a bottle at the duty- free shop. hehe

Ohhh that sounds lovely! I’ll have to remember that if I ever visit Finland. 😊

Yeah, but avoid getting drunk in a foreign country, especially when on a short visit ;)

Sounds like you have a bit of experience with this? Haha

I agree with you- especially if traveling alone.

Hi @coruscate how long have they been there ? I was over there 2 years ago for 20 days loved every minute can't wait to get back in 2019 I hope

How amazing that you got to visit for 20 days! We just went up for a long weekend. 😊 Are you a big skier or snowboarder? I imagine you probably went in the winter?

wow enjoy beautiful girl :)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 27.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @coruscate
It consists of $5.36 vote and $1.79 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @coruscate to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 4.74 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @coruscate. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26