Open Mic Week 58 - Cups by Anna Kendrick (Cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

I did something a little crazy this week! I have always thought the Cups song by Anna Kendrick would be really fun to learn, and so I decided to take on the challenge this week for Open Mic. I am pretty used to playing an instrument while singing - but this was a whole different level of musical coordination!

I hope you enjoy my cover of Cups (When I'm Gone) By Anna Kendrick.

Sort:  

I love the gif of you messing up! Damn it!

Hahah I was wondering how long it would take for someone to point that out! 😆

Never heard the song before, but you sung beautifully and coordinated the cup and singing very well! Good luck in the open mic. :)

Thanks @goliath. This song definitely makes for a good party trick! 😜

Inventive stuff. Enjoyed that. They should have done something like that in the movie Cocktail ;)

I actually haven't seen that movie! I generally tend to like Tom Cruise movies though, so I probably would like it. :-)

Yeah, it's a pretty good flick. :)

Difficulty Level: 15

Didn't know the song until now, but just saw the music video and am glad you didn't have a table of flour flying all over.

Did you notice that the bartender messed up pretty bad with his shaker cups? Surprised they let that go through with him as a focal point for so long.

A+ for raising the bar on challenging yourself. That takes incredible focus and coordination. I'm proud if I can drum and eat a snack that's sitting on my second floor tom.

Thanks! Just don’t play metronome over the track, you might notice I get off time in a few spots! 😜 I didn’t notice the bartender with the shaker cups, but I will have to go back and rewatch it. A drummer like yourself would definitely notice something like that! 😊

You did it awesome plus I love that song and movie lol

I love that movie!! In fact, I have the day off work tomorrow, might be time for a little Pitch Perfect goodness in my day! 😆

Beautiful as usual!... Those percussion patterns looks hard to follow while singing!, congrats!

Thanks @dreamrafa! It was a lot of fun to practice this song. 😊

This is the first time I've heard this song and you sing it well. Love how you did the rhythm too.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks @luzcypher! I try to switch things up and do something a little different every week. 🤘🏻

Girl - that was AWESOME... Love the back-beat and the intense creativity behind it all! Vocals were awesome as well! We got to get together for a "Kitchen Sink" & "Cups" duet... It'll be sure to take the house down! :-)

Haha I’m game! Just tell me when and where! 🤘🏻

Gosh, where to begin… How bout’ in “the kitchen’ - with some really good music in the background, a great dinner on tap, along of course, with several bottles terrific wine to enhance the entirety of the creative endeavor… Ha-ha… Would love nothing more than to one day entertain both you and your husband to a fantastic meal, great wine, along of course with fully embellishing the percussive “cups” alongside some “kitchen sink” bongos to round out the evening! I’m in the Southeast – you’re in the Pacific Northwest from what I gather… Perhaps one day, our paths will cross and we’ll make some beautiful music together! Much love… :-)

Oh man, that sounds like an amazing night!! Maybe one day. 😊 You are correct that we are up in the northwest... so we are only on opposite ends of the country. 😜

Nice! Playing the cups takes talent for sure 😊

Thanks @drewley! My hands and arm were starting to feel sore from all the practice! It probably didn’t help that I used a stainless steel pint glass... 🤔

interesting performance.
nice idea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55