Australia #10 - The Barossa, South Australia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

It's just a short run from Adelaide to Tanunda, the centre of the Barossa.

IMG_7897.JPG

The last 15 kilometers or so on the Barossa Highway is wonderful, many vineyards green and lush with arid hills in the background, and a large above ground pipeline used to bring in the vast quantities of water needed for irrigation.

IMG_7902.JPG

We get real heat again, the first time since Alice Springs and Uluru, very sunny and hot, 31 Celsius. Later on TV we learn that the month just past was the fourth hottest February on record, and this heat will continue with us throughout the rest of our time in Oz! On average in Feb. and March 2016 it's 5 degrees hotter than when I did my planning 'rehearsal' the year before!

IMG_7921.JPG

We get our first caravan park Jayco 'box', essentially a caravan (Oz-speak)/RV trailer (Canada-speak) without the wheels! They are generally fine, like this one, but one or two occasions we have to take a smaller unit, or get one that needs a bit of maintenance!

IMG_7925.JPG

This is also the first time we adopt 'road trip rules'. After our unsuccessful experiment with a sedan in Perth I upgraded our rental to a SUV (actually lucked in this time to a free upgrade when I re-booked!), and got a brand-new fully loaded Hyundai Tuscon - we have a Santa Fe in Canada so there was no learning curve. Rule #1 - rolling duffles in the back, food and freezer bag between them, for a 1 or 2 night stop everything stays in the vehicle except for food, toiletries and a change of clothes. And that's the laundry bag on the left, lying in wait for our once-a-week chill day (Rule #2)!

IMG_7905.JPG

IMG_7907.JPG

IMG_7914.JPG

At one point during our trip I reveal to brightonbonnie that we are actually on a wine tour disguised as a 90-day Tahiti-Australia-New Zealand roadtrip! We enjoy wines from Oz and NZ, so this is our first visit to a famous wine area, but it will not be our last. This winery is Seppeltsfield, one of the oldest Barossa wineries, which like many in the Barossa do not export to Canada and often only sell from the storefront at the winery. We taste (and eventually buy) two wonderful whites, a riesling which is much dryer than the German or Canadian varieties and a Vermentino, which is a variety from Sardinia which does well here because of the climate. The rep suggests we try the Moscato, a sparkling rose, which is normally not our taste, but she persists in a kind way and we succumb – glad we did! We buy a bottle of it as well.

IMG_7916.JPG

IMG_7919.JPG

IMG_7920.JPG

The next day we take the scenic route to Angaston, which is supposed to have lots of nice restaurants and cafes, but find nothing to our liking. It is a pleasant town, well-kept, with stone buildings and verandahs typical of South Australia. We do buy some nice halloumi at the Barossa Cheese Factory before heading out on another scenic route back to Tanunda. Along the way the Mengler Hill lookout gives us a panoramic view of the entire Barossa Valley.

IMG_7901.JPG

IMG_1709.JPG

So we have lunch a second time at POD (Plate Of the Day) in Tanunda, a very funky find with an interesting menu, like Malaysian Fish Curry for me and Zucchini, Pomegranate, Egg and Ham Salad for less-adventurous brightonbonnie.

IMG_7912.JPG

And so we leave the Barossa after a very pleasant couple of days. Join me for my next post - we head for the Great Ocean Road, but first have a few stops along the way!

Thanks to @benfenson for watching over my Oz posts!

!steemitworldmap -34.525225 lat 138.965010 long Barossa Valley Australia d3scr

Sort:  

Perhaps of interest for your bug file? Did some minor editing of this post and got another notification. Sometimes when I check the entire context of my post I see both worldmap notifications, sometimes only one! I thought it might be because I mis-numbered my original post and after a few minutes edited the title line, but I don't think this is the cause.

Edit Sept. 18 - just did another test. Edited post, deleted worldmap line and updated. Pin disappeared, which actually surprised me because I expected it to be locked in your database. Waited about 5 minutes and edited again, adding worldmap line back in but changing lat long slightly, updated. No notification, pin re-appeared (I assume with location shifted slightly though I can't tell), but original title mis-numbering is still there (locked in your database or steemit database?). Not sure if this is helpful to you at all.

Edit Sept. 19: @martibis - anybody home? A little concerned you've not been replying to my tests. Is it due to workload picking up, here on map or at uni? No problem if you don't get back to me, just wanted to know all is OK!

There should only be one showing up, I'll have to talk it through with @blueorgy to see what's going on here!

If you remove it from your post, we take it out of the database as well, and I think the title is linked to Steemit so not sure if we can update that, would have to take a look! Definitely helpful information though, will take a look into it!

Sorry that I haven't been active the last few days, real life has gotten incredibly hectic all of a sudden, too many things I need to do at once right now! Probably I'll be a little less active in the upcoming one or two weeks or so, after that we'll be back to normal! But definitely no need to worry! Catching up on everything related to the Steemit Worldmap now!

Hi @steemitworldmap, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic response so that I may respond to your mention later.

No problem - just checking in on my guys! If you want me to try another test or replicate something let me know. I'm a little busy now too so haven't posted to Australia for a couple days - hopefully tomorrow.

Definitely will do, actually I got something for you to test and I think you will like it!
Try to click on a post link to the map! 😉

Used this post for test:

Author link got all my posts. Your challenge, should you accept it, is to insert the author's handle somewhere top centre in case the viewer has a brain gap and forgets who they were viewing. (Edit: just tried another of my posts, noticed the author's handle is in the 'www' line - no I don't know what you tech folks actually call it - so maybe my comment isn't valid. But, it would be nice to have the handle in a big box with flashing lights etc.!)

Post link got my post. But... ! It's out of view. Your challenge, should you accept it, is to centre the view on to the post link location.

Of the two challenges, # 2 is more important. Hopefully this is not Mission Impossible...

Great job guys!

The second one (center on the post), is the one I just implemented normally!

So if you click the post link (not the author link), it should center on the post location now!

If you're not sure what author you're viewing after clicking the author link / or being in the search, you can always click the search again (it stays on your last search query)!

Fixed the two latest posts with missing 'r', tried them both, neither is centering on the post link as you describe. Do we have different understandings of what 'centering' means lol?
Clicked 'search' and got the author info - you should include that in your guide/FAQ.

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human 😊!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brightongreg to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This trip has been amazing and I love how you take me along with you with your writing! Thank you and I look forward to seeing more, more, more! :)

This needs a resteem, it is not getting any attention. The feed here is poor for sharing around. I had to go to your site to see what you have been up to!

Upped and Steemed

Thanks so much for the kind words and the resteem! I thought people would be more interested in this but right now I'm just happy re-living the trip. I kept a journal, and lots of photos, so revisiting them after a year and a half it's almost like I'm there again!

It's not people, it is the way the feed is. If you don't see it when you post it, it gets buried, which is why I gave it a resteem.

I'm still trying to figure steem out. I normally post in early morning Central Canada time, since I'm an early riser. Coffee on, and some steem time. So I figure that catches the folks who are up along the Eastern Seaboard US/Canada, then moves across to the West Coast as they get up, and hopefully catches Europeans around supper hour. But my math could be completely off, as could my assumptions about people's viewing habits. And then my brain starts to explode trying to figure this out so I give up...

I am in Washington DC, one hour ahead of you. I am an early riser and there seems to be the most action about 7-8am and then at 5pm my time. I don't understand it. At night it is totally dead.

Lately, it is dead all over the place!

I'm near Toronto so actually same time as you - some discussion whether we are geographically Central Canada or Eastern Canada, but we are Eastern Time! So same as you I aim for 7-8 am - but at 5 pm I'm at the bbq or watching Charlie Rose (except today, out all day on errands so catching up right now)!

How was the fish curry? I always thought that fish is such a delicate flavour that the curry might be too strong and over power the fish. We don't get a huge variety of wines here and I don't believe I have seen Canadian, Australian or New Zealand wines anywhere. I guess I'm down to making my own. Sigh...

Making your own can be fun! I used to do it until I lost control of a 23 liter carboy, lifting it from floor to table after racking, ending up with lots of glass and red wine everywhere. I saw this as a sign that I shouldn't do this any more. Now I collect wine, put away 12 bottles every year for special occasions down the road.

Can your local shop order wine - you're missing a lot of good product.

Memory test now - I'm not big into spices and would have asked about the curry, so it had to be pretty mild and not overpowering. I do remember I enjoyed it. Here's the review I did at the time for TripAdvisor, which doesn't really answer the question you asked with any more clarity:

https://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowUserReviews-g495039-d7222956-r354713502-Cafe_Pod-Tanunda_Barossa_Valley_South_Australia.html#REVIEWS

The dish I had the second day was equally good!

Thanks. Its just that I'm such a foodie. By the way, we don't have wine shops per se...

I don't think we could live where you are lol!

Congratulations @brightongreg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61