Australia #16 - The Gold Coast - Queensland

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

At the end of my last post we had just had lunch in Ulmarra (well it was Sunday, so brightonbonnie actually had chocolate torte with whipped cream, while I had passionfruit cheesecake, but both were low-cal!). Due to a 5 kilometer GPS error (more on some issues with my new Garmin in a subsequent post) it takes us a while to find North Star Holiday Resort in Hastings Point, still in New South Wales but just south of the Queensland border, so well-positioned to explore the Gold Coast.

IMG_8179.JPG

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast.

It's a very upscale caravan park, and the cabin is the best we’ve had so far, very high-end and roomy. I finally decide to try the barbeque in the kitchen area to do a couple of hamburgers, but it takes a long time to heat up the metal plate, and because I don't think to spray the plate with oil it takes even longer to clean, so the hamburgers turn out fine but are really not worth the trouble, and I don't barbeque again during our trip.

IMG_8111.JPG

Cabins line the walkway to the pool - our unit wasn't in this area, but very nice all the same!

IMG_1932.JPG

Part of the very large pool (no - we did not use the slide!)

We stay at North Star a couple of days. It's sunny, hot and humid, around 30 Celsius, and we even get some rain. We are able to have our first proper chill day in a while. For breakfast I fry the halloumi we bought in the Barossa, something I learned to do in Cyprus, the home of halloumi, in the mid-70s. brightonbonnie goes for an excellent pedicure and wax at the Seascape Spa on site, and on the spa's recommendation I drive a short distance to Pottsville to get a very good haircut at Emily’s while discussing our trip and the weather in Australia and Canada.

IMG_8115.JPG

Back at the park it's into the pool, then laundry time. We finish a relaxing day with the 2015 Moscato we bought at Seppeltsfield Winery in the Barossa, an absolutely wonderful rose from Muscatrouge a Petits Grain grapes, with a hint of fizz – not our usual taste but so good we had to have it!

IMG_1936.JPG

Coolangotta - view from near where we parked...

IMG_8119.JPG

with recreational surfers enjoying the day!

IMG_8123.JPG

Snapper Rocks - on the left, one of the large TV screens.

The next day we get some excellent advice from reception and head north, trying to stick to the coast as much as possible as we cross into Queensland (and by the way, another time change!). Our first stop is Snapper Rocks at Coolangotta. Parking is a challenge but worth it as we have marvelous views and then find the surf competition on one of the best surf beaches in Australia, part of the national championship. To our surprise entry is free, and it's not that crowded as it is initial heats of the women's competition so we get to watch a few runs. We could have stayed all day because the atmosphere was really cool, but we wanted to explore a bit more.

IMG_1953.JPG

No entry fee, make yourself comfortable where-ever you want!

IMG_1956.JPG

Spectators near one of the large screens, broadcasting live coverage on one of the sports channels.

IMG_8150.JPG

Getting up...

IMG_8152.JPG

Dad with two apprentices? Surfers Paradise on the horizon...

IMG_8164.JPG

Near the end of the run...

IMG_8158.JPG

Some photographers with much better kit than I have!

We drive further north to Burleigh Heads for the Queensland Surf Livesaving Competition, but the venue though set up is not operating, and no-one around or any signage to explain why. In lieu we have a picnic on the beach and I get in the water a bit, but not too far out as the sand is unstable and there is a strong offshore current. Walking along the beach 500 meters or so I come to a small elevated headland with observation platforms, and get some great shots of Surfers Paradise.

IMG_1983.JPG

The beach at Burleigh Heads - that's me in the middle, trying to body surf again! brightonbonnie uses her iPad rather than my camera, and, unlike in Manly, this historic moment is successfully recorded for posterity!

Surfers Paradise is our next stop; we drive most of the length of the beach, with highrises lining the boardwalk. We decide if we ever return to Australia we could also live on the Gold Coast, but we still like Manly and Sydney so it would have to be a month in each location!

IMG_8178.JPG

Burleigh Heads, looking south from the elevated headland.

Unfortunately we have to head back because we have massages at Seascape Spa booked for late afternoon (New South Wales time - fortunately we didn't adjust our watches when we came north!). The massages are another unexpected surprise at our upscale park, and absolutely necessary after about 40 days on the road in planes, trains and automobiles! So after a couple of days of rest and chilling we are well prepared to head out on the road again for the last leg of our Australian journey, north through Queensland all the way to Cairns.

PS - if you've enjoyed this post please check out the previous 15 posts in this series, and the 3 before that as we started our 90-day roadtrip in Tahiti! Probably a half dozen to go in Oz as we head to Cairns, then on to a month in New Zealand!

PPS - if you've really enjoyed this post please support me by upvoting me at https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@accelerator/six-of-the-best-map26-minnow-contest-vote-now-win-upvotes - just scroll down until you get to comments, scroll down some more until you find my introductory comment, then upvote it directly (and add a reply if you are so inclined). Thanks in advance...

read me!

!steemitworldmap -28.162756 lat 153.549916 long Snapper Rocks Queensland Australia d3scr

Sort:  

Nice trip! Thanks for posting.

Thanks for feedback - following you now.

Love all your coastal shots (#1, 5 and the last one)! You actually managed to catch the surfers too... Love travelling along with you... :)

I love your travel sagas! I can almost pretend I was there, too. Tip!

Thanks Melinda! And for the tip too! Just posted #17!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Have you read the latest breaking news yet?

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brightongreg to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

You have the best travel blogs! The beach shots are standouts, especially the very first and of course the surfers. You caught the curve of the water so nicely, leading my eye down the beach.

How long had you been gone from home now?

Thank you for these. I am going to have to look back on a few more! tip!

Thanks so much Denise. We're almost 2 months at this point, and brightonbonnie with only one suitcase. Normally she has a second one just for her shoes! She was a real trooper on this trip, and her friends couldn't believe the one suitcase bit!

If you have the time you should go back to my first Tahiti post to get the entire story arc: https://steemit.com/travel/@brightongreg/tahiti-1-getting-familiar-with-the-island

Sadly going to post my last Australia story today - but you will love New Zealand!

Have a great day!

I think I need to start over and go through them, mostly because I didn't comment much when I first started, being a little unsure of how this platform worked and not being confident in my words. Nothing has really changed, just know I am not being judged on my performance. LOL

Thanks, Greg! These blogs have been a real adventure for me!

No problem - as you know I enjoy your work too, and more importantly the encouragement you have given me along the way!

Great post... North Star Holiday resort looks amazing. Putting that on my list of places to visit.

Thanks for feedback! You will enjoy it I'm sure!

Back at work after the weekend, my work now apparently being beta-testing your app lol! This one OK!

Well, if that's work I like to think that isn't half bad, haha!

You're right! Saw your other reply too re: multiple locations, no problem - just pulling your leg! Take care!

I love Gold Coast, Barossa Valley, and Barossa wines! Great photos, love them! What a great trip!

Unfortunately my 're-living remembering' Oz is almost done! But you will love New Zealand - have you been there?

Oh... not yet! Hopefully, I will go there next year. Fingers crossed!

In the meantine I will take you there, and you can use our experience to trip plan!

You bet I will! Thanks, my friend!

In that area they made up the movies The pirates of Caribbean Gold Coast and Surfers Paradise are nice location I have already been

Thanks for feedback, following you now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45