Travels With Connie #59 Maryhill and Rodin

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.


DSC_0072.JPG

Samuel Hill built his wife Mary a couple of mansions in the Pacific Northwest. One in Seattle that she lived in for less than 6 months, and one in the Columbia Gorge near Goldendale that she never even saw. Sam's loss was our gain as Sam ended up collecting a significant amount of art from around the world and he donated it and the mansion to exhibit it.



Maryhill has an extensive collection of Auguste Rodin, the father of modern sculpture. Included in the collection are scale models, idea pieces, body parts and watercolors.



This fully detailed piece is called 'Crying Lion' and became part of a much larger piece. The entire exhibit is mainly a primer on how Rodin created his masterworks.



This case, for example, is just full of various body parts in plaster. Rodin believed that practice makes perfect and he would make parts of bodies just to get them correct.



This full size bust is impressive as a standalone piece, but becomes even more impressive in a much larger context.



We even get a look behind the curtain. This is an actual mold used to cast a bronze with the lost wax process. Unimpressive to look at, the piect that comes out of that mold is impressive.



Rodin was a huge believer in concept modeling. In this case are several concepts that show his process for coming up with a finished idea. Left to right in the foreground are the couple, the arrangement, a mold for the final pour at the right.

This is simply an impressive permanent exhibit at the Maryhill Museum of Art an unexpected gem in the Columbia River Gorge.

There will be more from Maryhill. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Rodin was dedicated, I appreciate that! I'm not a huge fan of statues since they're literally lacking 'life', the only time I was finally seeing why some people love statues is when I visited Villa Borghese and saw Apollo and Daphne. The way they placed it in the room, forcing you to walk around it, and by walking around it the statue came to life since perspective made you see different details, different movement... It was an eye-opener for me. One of my favourite 'museum experiences' ever.

So happy you're enjoying yourself <3

Much of the Rodin exhibit is detail work. Miniature bits of what would be large sculptures. Trials worked through until they were what he wanted. I was very impressed by the amount of time and effort he put into his pieces. I am also impressed that all this is in a building that stands by itself at least 60 miles from anything that would be remotely considered a population center. The obvious patronage level that exists there is astounding when you consider that it is a major trip to see what you have done.

Obviously I was impressed by the place and Rodin is the calling card to get people in the door. The main floor is an impressive exhibit of the 'things' of Queen Marie of Romania. One of the original patrons of the Museum she donated many things which are displayed there.

So. You are right. I am having fun and was impressed with Maryhill.

Wow.. All the art work above are outstanding

#hope you enjoyed your trip

Bravo

I am enjoying it like crazy. Approaching home and still having fun. Thanks for the kind words

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 205 (7/24/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

This is so cool. I love that they turned it into a museum. The topic of mansions made me think of the mansion that was built i in themeskiming Shores in Hailebury Ontario. The owner ran out of money while building it and now it sits empty and unfinished.

Samuel Hill loved this area, and gave lots of money, time and prestige to it. I would not be surprised if he had the museum in mind all the time. What a legacy to give to an area.

C'mon! There are so many posts about art lately and they're all amazing!! Great idea to turn it into a museum but a bad idea to built so many mansions for your wife haha :D JK

Enjoy your traveling! I miss my bike this summer :(

It was not a happy marriage. The two mansions weren't enough to induce her to stay, she moved back home with her parents. Samuel supported her in the manner befitting her station in life and there was never a hint of divorce or dishonor. He li.ved in them, at least part of the time

That buste is very impressive, can't believe they were able to get those fine details with casting.

I believe that bust to have been a practice cast. It is incredibly detailed, isn't it.

I love the places you share with us from your outings and this is another very cool one

Then you and I are interested in the same sorts of things. I just love things that make me think and wonder.

@bigtom13 yes we are very alike like that I often stop on my walks and ponder things I come across

I love Rodin. I think his work takes the plastic and makes it expressive and alive. I like his process as well.

I have done many forms of artwork, but only dabbled in 3d work, always meaning to do more sculpture. Of course now with digital, when the price is better 3d modeling in vr will be my next new area to venture into in art and fun.

I can't wait to see where you go next and more from here as well.

Thanks Donna. I just love this exhibit because you can plainly see his process. Very painstaking to say the least. I'll be interested to see where you take 3d modeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55