You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels With Connie #59 Maryhill and Rodin

in #travel6 years ago

Rodin was dedicated, I appreciate that! I'm not a huge fan of statues since they're literally lacking 'life', the only time I was finally seeing why some people love statues is when I visited Villa Borghese and saw Apollo and Daphne. The way they placed it in the room, forcing you to walk around it, and by walking around it the statue came to life since perspective made you see different details, different movement... It was an eye-opener for me. One of my favourite 'museum experiences' ever.

So happy you're enjoying yourself <3

Sort:  

Much of the Rodin exhibit is detail work. Miniature bits of what would be large sculptures. Trials worked through until they were what he wanted. I was very impressed by the amount of time and effort he put into his pieces. I am also impressed that all this is in a building that stands by itself at least 60 miles from anything that would be remotely considered a population center. The obvious patronage level that exists there is astounding when you consider that it is a major trip to see what you have done.

Obviously I was impressed by the place and Rodin is the calling card to get people in the door. The main floor is an impressive exhibit of the 'things' of Queen Marie of Romania. One of the original patrons of the Museum she donated many things which are displayed there.

So. You are right. I am having fun and was impressed with Maryhill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39