Redang island Marine Life :Snorkeling in the island of Peninsular MalaysiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear steemians,

When you think of South East Asian island destination, which country come to your mind; my guess will be Thailand or Indonesia ? For the past few years , I have been exploring a few islands and to my surprise I find Malaysia to have some of the best marine life I have seen so far during snorkeling.

Although it's less popular country in terms of beach destination, Malaysia has almost 900 islands. I have been lucky enough to explore some of the islands and was not disappointed with their marine life.

Since I am not a diver and I am sure there are many incredible locations Indonesia and other countries.In terms of accessibility and cost, islands in Malaysia are definitely worth your money and time.

Today I want to share some of the photos from my travel to redang island.

Where is redang island?

Paula Redang ( Paula means island in Malay )is one of the largest islands off the east coast of Peninsular Malaysia. It is famous for its crystal clear waters and white sandy beaches.

How to reach to redang island ?

You can reach to Kuala Terrenganu which is the small town where you have to take the ferry . You can easily travelled to kuala terrenganu from Thailand/Singapore and from kuala lumpur by land.

The other alternative option to travel from Kuala Lumpur to Kuala Terrenganu is by air.

Once you reach the ferry at Kuala Terrenganu, you will then take a boat or ferry to go to Redang Island. You should check the ferry schedule with your resort ahead as the ferry only operates on summer months and schedule time only .

Snorekling in Redang island

The resort that we stayed had white sandy beach in the front and the ferry dock at the back. Although there are few fishes around u can see while snorkeling at the beach front . For the best marine life experience, you have to take a boat .Snorkeling trip is scheduled twice a day, 9.30am and 3pm. I am sure you can arrange private tour if you pay extra money, but ours came with a package so it was free.

They first made a safety briefing and as you can see there were a lot of people gathering and I wasn't sure of what to expect. Even though there were people around , it was not crowded like in Thailand and bail, the beach front from the resort was almost empty during our stay.

It might seem like it's something you won't enjoy so much with a lot of people but trust me , once you are in the water and swim away for few minutes, the open water is all yours.

Since I can't swim, I got the help of the guide who showed me around the best spots. We even saw baby sharks.


Once I am in the open sea, I am the happiest human. I swam around and amazed by all the underwater beauty and creatures.









One thing I find very amazing is that the government of Malaysia protect the marine life in the region. There are strict rules of no fishing, no use of swimming fins etc
I hope you enjoy my first under water photos... What is the best snorekling spot you have been ?let me know in the comment , I really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

I use gopro Hero 4 silver for these photos.

Check out my other Switzerland Travel articles here

Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

This are brilliant shots!
I think they would turn out more lovely if you would edit them a bit up :)

thank you for your suggestion.

Sabah dive sites are filled with vibrant colours of the corals. Tried diving there ?

I have never tried, but planning to take diving course and explore more sites in the future soon.

hey I thought you at Swiss right now?

I am actually at work right now,all are past travel , sorry for the confusion.. hehe

hahah.. no worries..... hehhe great travel

I love this post because:

  1. It's about Malaysia and that's where I'm from
  2. The photos are beautiful
  3. I love Redang as much as you do

Followed you for more travel posts! :D

thanks a lot, I really appreciate it.

nah no worries :)

I love snorkeling. Beautiful pictures under sea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38