Travel from Venice to Spiez | Switzerland travel series #1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

I have been trying to share my travels with you and to be honest I don’t really know the best way. So I have decided why not bring you to the places that I went in order. That way you guys can make out a plan yourself in the future and I can also live through these memories again.

So here we go: The journey from Italy to Switzerland

We started from Venice to Spiez. Spiez was just a train stop over to our final destination,lauterbrunnen.

The routes we took are
Venice- Milan (train transfer) – Spiez (train transfer)- Interlaken (train transfer) – Lauterbrunnen

That’s a lot of train transfers!

So why did we choose this place?
It was my first time in Switzerland and obviously I wanted to see the best of sights this country has to offer, it seemed like Bernese Overland region was the place to explore and I was absolutely right :) . A lot of people based themselves in Interlaken which is a very popular town in the region, but we really wanted to absorb the small village atmosphere, so Lauterbrunnen it is.

From Venice to Spiez , the duration takes around 6 hours with a change of train at Milano central train station.

The ticket costed us around 40 euro from venice to spiez , which isn't the cheapest route as you can get from Milan to Zurich for as low as 20 euro. We also bought our tickets in advance online so it was way cheaper than on the spot ticket.


Milano central

In Milan train station, we almost missed our train. Our next train was in 45 min so we decided to have some snacks in the station and came back to the train track 15min before departure time .There was a train but we couldn’t able to find our coach , but luckily we saw people running and realized that the correct train was at the back. We were lucky it was just few second after arriving on the train till it left the station. Lesson learnt: always better to be waiting at train station then missed for trains.

We arrived at the train station in Spiez and were immediately floored by how beautiful the views were across the town and lake. we had about 20 min before our next train and decided to get some pictures.


Just across the street


Greeted with this view of lake thun which is an Alpine lake in Bernese Overland region


Anyone keen on sailing?

a close up view of the mountains.

Off to next station.. Interlaken

Thank you for reading..Hope you enjoy it , remember to up-vote if you like it and leave a comment of what you think.
Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

those mountains look great for hiking

Your pics are so beautiful 😎 Travel girl! You are so inspiring. You are here to stay and probably soon become a travel Whale in Steemit. Good luck to you ✌💪

thank you. you are very kind. I wish you the same.

@aburmeseabroad I love the photos and the journey. I've actually been looking into getting into sailing, I will definitely try it now.

thank you.. good luck with the sailing.

I love your posts. Your pictures are always stunningly beautiful.

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

thank you very much.

Nice photos.

thank you.

Nice post and thanks for sharing of your travel.

thank you very much.

Upvoted and also resteemed!

Wow! You have a great rest! good luck to you.

thank you. wish u the same.

Thanks you! Follow me please?)

Ahh beautiful :) I'll have to check out when you post about Interlaken. I'll be writing about Lucerne in the next couple of days.

thank you for reading. I have posted from lucerne, but it was just a short one. I will check out urs too. keep them coming.

Very nice photos! When did you visit?

it was from last year. thanks sweet. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85