Journey to top of Europe

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Finally ,The day had come.

Deciding to to visit to Bernese overland was because of jungfraujoch,
the top of europe.It would be my first time visiting a glacier,
needless to say I was very excited

Tip: If you are planning to visit jungfraujoch, make sure you have
extra days ,as the weather can be unpredictable.


We started our journey in the early morning to have more time
ourselves in Jungfrau.


Upon purchasing the ticket ,We were given a nice little
booklet,Jungfrau passport

Train Journey Begins!*

First it was a short train ride up to Wengen , car free village.
And then another final train change at Kleine Scheidegg station.

There were lots of hiking routes with the distance and the duration it would take. Since we didn't have much time, we proceeded with the next train to the top. The sun wasn't fully out yet, fingers crossed for a clear and sunny day on the top to get to see the best view of the glacier.

Halfway Stops

On the way to Jungfraujoch, the train passed through a long dark
tunnel and made 2 brief stops along the way for the passengers to
disembark and enjoy the wonderful view.
First stop is Eigerwand at 2865m above sea level.

The 2nd stop is at Eismeer at 3160m above sea level.



Finally , we arrived Jungfraujoch, a total train journey time of
almost 2hours. At 3454m, this is the highest train station in Europe,
and also fondly known as "Top of Europe".

If you haven’t read the the previous posts yet, here is the link.
(1)https://steemit.com/travel/@aburmeseabroad/travel-from-venice-to-spiez-or-switzerland-travel-1
(2)https://steemit.com/travel/@aburmeseabroad/train-travel-from-spiez-to-lauterbrunnen-or-switzerland-travel-series-2
(3)https://steemit.com/travel/@aburmeseabroad/arriving-to-magical-lauterbrunnen-or-switzerland-travel-series-3

Thank you for reading..Hope you enjoy it , remember to up-vote if you like it and leave a comment of what you think.
Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

Such beautiful pictures! I'd like to travel and take nice pictures to put on steemit as well. Someday

thank you. I hope you can do it very soon.

I hope you have visited the galleries in the glacier and accessed the outside at the top
Dscf1302.jpg

Dscf1312.jpg

DSCF1243.JPG

wonderful pictures! I did, coming up next. :)

As long as i following your blog , i am travelling around the world. Thanks for sharing .

thank you ko henry! appreciate you for following me on steemit. I hope to share more of my future travel too.

I like the first photo. I wonder why there is so little tourists around. Was it a bad weather or maybe in the middle of the week? Also on the train, I can't see a lot of them.

We were quite early, because there were two routes to go to jungfrau but it became crowded when we arrived at Kleine Scheidegg station. thank you for reading .

I just wanna say this is seriously so stunning!!

Wow, so pretty there. I think my parents-in-law have been there recently...

oh wow, may be u can visit there next time.

Definitely have to add that to my bucket list :)

Oh wow. Looks like lots of fun.

it was fun, the ride was amazing.

Amazing Man. I love these places. I shared beautiful photography of those areas you can visit my profile @mtkhan

amazing place indeed, I will check out your photos. :)

Ahh beautiful! I saw it from another mountain I climbed but I didn't make it over there.

Trust me, the beautiful pictures from the trains will be coming in next posts in a couple of days. which mountains did u climb? There were so many of them, and another reason for you to go back :)

Cool I'll keep an eye out for those. I hiked up Harder Kulm and Mt. Pilatus both on foot. We walked over 16 miles on the Mt. Pilatus trek... my legs were killing me haha. Yeah I'm 100% going back at some point.

I didn't make it to them. It's crazy you did both on foot, I am not really a hiking person, my fitness level sucks haha, but in switzerland the nature and the trails are so beautiful, I wanna explore more and do some hiking (only down slops) in the future. :)

great pics. thanks for sharing @aburmeseabroad

thank you for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82