Trial by Comics winners for “Lovecraft” and new theme announced!

in #trailbycomics5 years ago (edited)

Hiya, Steemit! Finally, here’s the long awaited Trail by Comics update! A lot of times, these delays are because of the art. Between work, family and travel, there isn’t much time to draw. I started Trial by Comics as a commitment to make sure comic illustration is always a priority for me. The themes are whatever I feel like drawing that week. I had finished art for this week’s theme done last year, but wanted to sketch something entirely new. That’s the point, right? Thanks for your patience. Without further adieu, here are this week’s winners for “Lovecraft”. A theme that seemed to sweep Steemit beyond just Trail by Comics.

FIRST PLACE! @arseniclullaby snapped up with first place with his entry “Arsenic Lullaby - Trail By Comics entry "Lovecraft" round”. One of the greatest things about Trial by Comics is the barrage of comic art styles entered each week. It was great to have a new voice among the winners, especially for a theme as cool as “Lovecraft”. As you know, I’m also a sucker for process, and the documentation on perspective, penciling and inking was everything I look for in the winning entry. Congratulations, @arseniclullaby 25.000 SBD to you.

SECOND PLACE! @bronkong again sees the winners podium with his entry, “Chthulhu for the Trial by Comics”. There are so many elder gods in the Lovecraft mythos, but I was happy to see a few Cthulhu interpretations. @bronkong’s was on point with the “classic Chthulhu”. I also love seeing the art process, and ultimately, those efforts awarded him second place this week. Congratulations, @bronkong. Thank you for your continued participation in Trail by Comics. 10.000 SBD to you!

THIRD PLACE! @rosiryscg owns yet another win in the top three for her entry, “Trial by Comics theme “Lovecraft” /Entry #3.”. Contrastingly, I love seeing a different interpretation of a Lovecraft creepy fish monster. There is low hanging fruit in the ever expanding Lovecraft mythos, but this was a deeper dive and I appreciate that. Again, love seeing the process and the clean black line work. Congratulations @rosiryscg! 5.000 SBD to you.

MERIT AWARDS! Each week, there are far more entries than the three winners. Even during the endless crypto winter, the art scene here on Steemit has continued to thrive. I like to take a moment each contest to recognize some of these artists for their talent and participation in Trail by Comics. All of them deserve your follows, support and votes. Here’s a look at a few of the notable artists that entered “Lovecraft” and should be recognized for merit awards.

@cryplectibles


@andreasalas


@jeffersom


Trial by Comics new theme is “Magic: The Gathering II”

Just over a year ago, for one of the first Trial by Comics art contests, I chose “Magic: The Gathering” as a theme. If you read above, you’ll note that I choose themes based on what I want to draw. I also like to find a common transition from theme to theme. Well, if you’re at all familiar with Emrakul and the Eldrazi, you’ll understanding why “Magic: The Gathering II” is following “Lovecraft”. As an avid MTG player, this is one of my favorite themes […which is explains why we’re doing it again]. There’s plenty of rich worlds, demons, angels, goblins, ogres, artifact creatures and planeswalkers to inspire you.

Deadline for “Magic: The Gathering II” is Sunday, February 3rd 5:00UTC 12:00a.m. CTS 

Rules 

• Up to three entries per trial round [weekly]

• Original artwork only [process documentation strongly encouraged]

• Winners will be chosen based on quality of work, submitted before deadline and ability to adhere to the weekly trial theme

• Must resteem the contest post you’re participating in

• Must include #trialbycomics hashtag 

**Quick PSA! This contest is about art, and that’s it. That’s how the entries are judged. Skill, technical prowess, uniqueness and creativity. Please keep all religious and political views separate from your Trial by Comics contest entries. Thank you.

That’s it! Now it’s time to start drawing. Congratulations to all the winners. Thank you all for regularly contributing and making Trail by Comics such a cornerstone of the Steemit art and comics community. I want to take a moment to encourage all of you to head on over to @bryan-imhoff’s @fundition project for his comic, “I Thought It Would Be Zombies…”! @bryan-imhoff just made a big update to his @fundition campaign. Great seeing Steemit artists chipping away at their personal comic projects. I can’t wait to see “I Thought It Would Be Zombies…” reach completion. 

Join the Trail by Comics Discord channel for more comics, community and art.
Sort:  

I won?! WHOOOHOOO!!!!! (tents fingers together)Excellent.
This was fun and congratulations to everyone else too! Lot's of good work on here!

Sure did. The process on this was really helpful @arseniclullaby. Well done!

Whoaa the winners are awesome, and I really like Doug's Cthulhu :D. Congrats to everyone ^_^.
                   
Lars, I am hoping that you will continue your Steemit comic... surely all the recent changes would make good materials to draw? Or maybe I just want to see more of your drawings :D.

I second that! And plenty more Copper Coins work too!

I definitely want to, @scrawly. Really, the state of my life right now is breaks where all I can do is edit, and then allow myself a few days to draw. @ghostfish and I are really getting close to finishing our first short horror story for @coppercoins, so I'm trying to wrap that up before I leave for Seattle next month.

I was a fool to have missed the deadline for this contest, but here is the elder god that Theresa and I have developed, the quantum spider - Iss-Nagish

Iss_Nagish_Character_Turnaround.jpg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much for the plug and support!

Any time, @bryan-imhoff. Glad to see you're still plugging away.

Congrats winners, well deserved!

Ohhh! @kommienezuspadt I feel very happy to receive this award!

It is always nice to see your contest, that gives a lot of opportunity for newbies to show themselves and to use the topics in order to create their work. I have never heard about “Magic: The Gathering II” before but just looked through google pictures, looks interesting , let's see maybe will have an inspiration to create a painting too, Cheers @Stef1 with Art magazine @art-venture

That'd be great, @art-venture. I'd love to see you enter. Check out "MTG planeswalkers" on a Google image search or on Pinterest. That'll be a great place to start.

I feel inspired - tentacles and such are what I like, should be able to come up with something - however, I had in past had a outlandish, wayward approach to Lovecraft and similar images.

MTG wow! OH, nooooo! I've missed this because of my stupid internet, there are some problems in Venezuela and they are removing the internet, so many things to do and it does not let me do anything
OMG I have to participate!
I remember when the first contest of this topic, it was great! they were my first participations in the TBC.
It is not uncommon that you would like to do a second contest, it is a great topic where there is a lot to choose and as a great MTG fan that you are, you like to draw on that.

Good drawings of the winners of Lovecraft, Congratulations to all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53