Arsenic Lullaby - Trail By Comics entry "Lovecraft" round

This is a wrap around cover for an upcoming book. I have a bunch of progress shots, in case you wanna see. I work pretty much traditionally except the coloring and some jacking around with the thumbnails.
starts with the basic idea of course...


then I figure out the vanishing points and details...refine it.

The refining stage with the vanishing points is the dangerous part. The original sketch always has the most life and energy...then you struggle to keep as much of that as you can while making things correct. Sometimes (often) you are faced with a decision- do I draw it correctly even though it will lose visual energy, or do I keep the energy even though it's drawn wrong ( out of proportion, maybe arms that don't bend like they should, buildings that don't exisit on the same vanishing point as the rest of the scene). I happens a lot and it's aggravating. Usually I fight with the f*cker for hours trying get the wild sketch and the refined work to be equal in visual impact...and end up going back to doing it just about the way it looked in the sketch even though some stuff is technically wrong)

Once that's as settled as I can get it then onto the pencils...from here on out I can pretty much turn my brain off and just draw what I've decide to draw.

and onto inking. All the inks are done with a brush ( windsor newton series 7 no.0 ) A pain the the ass, but it gives it more charm. ( I tell myself this)

I'll usually start inking things that are organic or broken, in this case the dented cars and Cthulhu, since there is room for error there. As opposed to the ridged wall and tight lines needed for the little guys suit, if there is a line that goes a bit stray no one will know and it won't harm anything. A dent is a dent, a curve on a wing is a curve on a wing...it requires precision, but a mistake on those...who's to say it doesn't look better if the dent is bigger than I meant to ink it.

Then I'm onto the line that need to be spot on. Window panes, building edges, door frames, but by this point I've got some wins under my belt and my confidence is up. Inking is mostly all in your head. Most mistakes come from you talking yourself out of thinking you can do it.

By the end you are just doing one line after the next and not even thinking about it. and that's that, pretty much it. Then I color the bastard.

Turned out pretty good

STMTBannerscrawl.jpg

Sort:  

Love. I work much the same way, with sketch, then layout then sketch again with outlines then it either goes illustrative or I continue on in digital oils for a painting. I just love the process.

I am sorry I missed this round of #trialbycomics . I always mean to consider it but just haven't the time and I love cthulu! You've done him proud.

Thanks! Personally, I find it strange when I hear anyone doesn't work from a sketch. I guess the tablet makes them think they can skip that part, or they just have such good instincts that they don't need to figure out a few things before starting?
I dunno...alls I know is I need a few tries...and for that matter I need to see a few ways to do it wrong, so I know what I don't want to do and why. yknow?

I totally agree, although some people just work differently. Even though I've moved to a lot of digital I still work the same way I did with IRL media, sketches, watercolour studies and laying out grids and such before filling in with digital oils. It's simply nicer now to have so many layers that I can have affect one another of not, which seems magic compared to the old way of painting. :)

Love your arts so much, Doug <3 There is so much consideration given to composition and framing, I love~ LOVE~

The detailing in your pieces are always mindblowing, too !

Gorgeous piece, very eldritch (and yet humorous :D)

Congrats on curie, and good luck for the contest <3

#Comics

Thanks!
Thank you
I appreciate it
an yeah, how 'bout that curie vote?! Pretty sweet!

Greetings, @arseniclullaby. This is a great work you have here. Thanks for the detailed and didactic walk along the process. I'd love to see all that art in a full story. I'll check your blog for more.
I'm guessing the final coloring is digital work. Any program/software in particular?
Again, fantastic work. Steem on.

Thanks and hello! The coloring is photoshop, I just try to keep the colors from overtaking the inks. By all means, stop by again!

Hello there @arseniclullaby!!

I am such a cartoonist fan. I admire the artist behind every comic or scrip or videos. Your talent, skills and creativity is unquestionable.

I like to keep reading artwork posts that eventially allows us to see drawings or sketches from scratch till the end results. It is just like watching how do they do it..

Thanks! I had fun reading through. Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words! more to come...

You are most welcome.. cant wait!

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks like a David and Goliath scene in a modern setting. A stand-off between the giant and the tiny dwarf. What is that beast anyway, a dragon, octopus and... ? I can't figure the bloody body. 😊

I can say that you really did great with all the progress shots there. You are very patient to have the drawing with all those details. Great job!

Patient, or I've lost my mind. It's one of the two. The big monster is Cthulhu, who was never specifically described in the books, just some elements were given ( the tentacle, the bat wings)...so everyone has a bit of a different idea of what he'd look like.

I said patient and I keep it that way. I don't think anyone who lost his mind will be able to come up with such a good work of art. 😊

What is the book's title any way?

The title is Arsenic Lullaby "The Devil's Only Friend". I'll let you know when it's out! #comics

I really like that you showed us how you created the building and the perspective lines of it, that's neat. And cthulhu is great of course, but that's nothing new.
                     
Congrats for the curie vote, Doug :D.      
                   
#comics

Thanks! The buildings were...not very fun to do, hahaha #comics

Hey what amazing work. I love the way you explain the step by step... Red is my favorite color. so I like that choice. Happy new year from Venezuela xD

Thanks and happy new year to you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

wow amazing art work you feel right in the action, what will happen next? congrats you are so talented

Thanks so much! As for what happens next...you'll have to find out when the issue comes out ;) #comics

Hey that looks very interesting, a humanoid Cthulhu destroying the city and being confronted by a robot!?!? Excellent! Tell us more about the book if you like :)

Well...in this particular story, Cthulhu comes back to destroy humanity but came too late and we already destroyed ourselves. Except for that one guy...who is very lonely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50