TODAY IS NATIONAL SORRY CHARLIE DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago



Image source

SORRY CHARLIE!

It’s Sorry Charlie Day,
sorry Charlie is a way to say,

you’ve been rejected.
You control how you’re affected.

Some are saddened,
some are maddened.

Some ask why,
others were glad to try.

Just know this,
you can still find bliss.

Whenever they say no way,
remember at least you played.

There’s experience to be gained.
So, don’t feel ashamed.

With reflection
on the rejection,

you can turn,
what you learn,

into growth.
That’s my personal oath.

Sometimes I wasn’t prepared,
other times I erred.

Once or twice it was skill I lacked.
But, I always bounced back.

It’s knowledge I gain,
from rejection pain.

So next time your rejected,
choose how you’re affected.

Shout it out loud,
“Every cloud,

has a silver lining,
I won’t be whining,

I’ll be learning,
my passion is still burning!”

The catchphrase "Sorry Charlie" comes from the Starkist Tuna commericals.

Video source

Here is vintage commercial form 1962.

Video source

And this one is from the 1970's.

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL BURRITO DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL WALKING DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL FIND A RAINBOW DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY DAY!
TODAY IS APRIL FOOLS' DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL TATER DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes:Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

So you do poetry?

Nice!

Thanks, I do poetry my way. I try to keep light heart, positive and fun.

Congratulations @emergehealthier! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37