The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii Episode 13 Recording and Recap - How Raving Helps Veterans Heal and Reintegrate Into Society, and a Group Discussion With Veterans Who Rave

KAOZthedancingdreamerswdjdamashii13RECAP.jpg

Last night's show was another huge success, thanks to everyone who took the time out of their night to tune in! Seriously, thank you so much to all of you who tune in every week, it really means the world to me that you choose to spend 2 hours with me every Wednesday night to listen to me talking about the Electronic Dance Music culture and lifestyle. This week, I had an even larger audience than last week, so I am hoping that this signals the start of a real growth for my show in terms of audience viewership and participation. :)

Last night was all about military veterans in the rave scene, and how we have found a true sense of healing and restoration through raving. I started the show off with a track by Swedish House Mafia to commemorate their epic reunion at Ultra Music Festival this past weekend, and then I dove right into the subject matter at hand. The show got really heavy right from the start, as I mentioned on the air that my inspiration for covering this subject was the recent suicide of one of my good friends from my time in the military.

I then went into my own personal story of coming home and how alienated I felt, how no one really understood me or what I was going through, and even how my own family basically thought of me as this monster to be avoided at all times.

It was around that lowest point in my life that I started going to raves after getting out of the military, and I went over how that initial venture into raving provided some sort of relief for me, but it wasn't a lasting effect and didn't stick in the long run because I was going to raves for the "wrong" reasons and simply using them as an excuse to escape from my problems and get as messed up as possible while partying my ass off.

I talked about how we veterans feel like we can't reach out to anyone, even though so many people offer their presence to us if we ever need anyone to just listen to us vent or talk about what is going on in our heads. Then I discussed how the central core values of raving, PLUR, are the key to helping us overcome that mentality and how it helps us to finally start reaching out to people when we need to.

After that, I went over each letter of PLUR and what it stands for, what each letter embodies, for those in the audience who had no idea what any of it really meant and why it's so significant to understand the spirit of Peace, Love, Unity, and Respect.

The whole night also featured tracks that I felt had lyrics that were relevant to the struggles we face as veterans, to give listeners a small window into our mentality and our hardships.

I intended to open the show up for guests right as the second hour hit, but once again, I ended up talking well into the second hour, so I opened it up for guests closer to 7:30. For this episode, I had two guests who agreed to come on the air with me, and I decided to turn it into a group discussion instead of splitting the time between both of them. Two fellow veterans came on the air.

One of them is @djallynbaha, my friend Josh who goes by DJ Allyn, who was on the sixth episode of this show and has since then joined Steemit.

The other is Bryson, who went by Bry on the show last night. I got in touch with him through the Radiate app earlier in the day when I was posting around looking for any veterans who were willing to be a guest on my show. He is a combat veteran who has spent a lot of time in the Middle East and discovered the raving lifestyle after he got out of the military and returned to the civilian world. Because he had never been on my show before, I had him first talk about how he got into raving after getting out of the military, as well as what he loved about it all.

Then we all talked about finding healing through raving and how being in that environment has really helped to facilitate not only our healing process, but our steady reintegration into society and civilian life. Bryson even eventually went into how he started meeting people from the Middle East at the raves he was going to, and how he realized that his perspective had changed through the power of the rave.

Of course, an episode of The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii with guests would not be complete without me asking my guests about their dreams in life, so I also asked Bryson about his dream (I didn't ask Josh about his because I had already previously asked him that back in episode 6), and he mentioned that he wanted to go into producing music himself so that he could bring that same kind of happiness to others.

If you missed the live broadcast of the thirteenth episode of my new radio show on @MSP-Waves, you can listen to the recording below:

Thank you everyone for tuning in last night! And for those who didn't tune in, thank you for listening to the recording, if you choose to do so! But regardless, thank you for being here and checking out my post!! I hope to see you all in the audience next week.

Last night's episode featured tracks from Swedish House Mafia, David Berkeley, Porter Robinson, R3HAB and NERVO and Ummet Ozcan, Hardwell, Fedde Le Grand and Nicky Romero, Martin Garrix, Dyro, Armin van Buuren, Michael Calfan and John Dahlbäck, Steve Aoki, KhoMa, Blasterjaxx and D-Block & S-te-fan, and The Prophet. Unfortunately, for this recording, I had to remove those tracks in order to get this video uploaded and posted. If you want to hear the music that I play during my shows, you'll just have to tune in to my live radio show every week! :P You can also click here to launch my Spotify playlist for this episode. I look forward to seeing you there for Episode 14!

As always, my final gratitude before I end this post goes out to @globocop, @r0nd0n, @ma1neevent, @wipgirl, and the rest of the @MSP-Waves family for helping me with my show and for the constant encouragement! You guys are all amazing, and I truly appreciate all that you have done for me!

See you all next week for the fourteenth episode of The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii!


When and Where Can You Listen In?


MSPlogo.png

My show will take place every Wednesday (or Thursday, depending on where you are), at the following times:


5:00-7:00 PM PST
6:00-8:00 PM MST
7:00-9:00 PM CST
8:00-10:00 PM EST
12:00-2:00 AM Thursday UTC
10:00 AM-12:00 PM Thursday ChST
(ChST is Chamorro Standard Time, the time zone used in the Mariana Islands)

You can tune in directly through the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty server on Discord if you are already a member of the @MinnowSupport Project.

If you are not a member of MSP, you can also tune in through the @MSP-Waves website:
http://mspwaves.com/listen

If you would like to tune in and also chat with audience members who are not in MSP, you can do so through Twitch:

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rodeo670
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-dancing-dreamers-with-dj-damashii-episode-13-recording-and-recap-how-raving-helps-veterans-heal-and-reintegrate-into-society


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78