Friendship In a New Age - The Dawn of Friendship In a New AgesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

dawnofFINAquote.jpg

We live in a day and age when friendship is something attainable literally at the click of a button. In just a few seconds, you become friends with someone you just met in person. Friends become pictures online as you scroll through Facebook, or people you send snapshots of your life to over Snapchat, and maybe even people to grab a drink with in real life.

Social_Media_Sharing.jpg

In a world where we are so connected to each other online and are constantly viewing random tidbits of each other's lives at any given moment, we have lost sight of the true nature, purpose, and value of friendship. No longer do we sit and ask our friends deep, piercing questions in an attempt to get to know them better, because we feel like we already know them through their social media posts. For the same reason, we also no longer open up to our friends about our innermost thoughts, fears, and desires, because we've spent so long cultivating this online façade of who we want people to think we are, that we don't dare shed that veneer and show our true selves to anyone.

MG_Larry_cries_web_kwxkut.jpg

No, because to do so would be to make ourselves vulnerable, and vulnerability is ridiculed by society today. But what good is a friend for, if you can't be vulnerable with them? Why call them your friend if you're not willing to let them know who the REAL you is? Once upon a time, the true value and deep significance of friendship was more widely known. Poets like Emerson even wrote beautifully crafted treatises on the concept of friendship, going in depth into what it entails.

frienshipday-quotes.jpg

In our modern day and age, we seem to have forgotten, as a society, what friendship really is. We have relegated the classic idea of friendship to the pages of old poems and manuscripts, and adopted a new, insignificant concept of friendship based on the digital age of social media, which trivializes friendship and turns it into a superficial concept.

nevodka_197767229-1984x880.jpg

Friendship In a New Age was born out of a desire to re-popularize the classic idea of friendship, to elaborate what friendship should mean in our society today, and to combat the "isolation effect" of social media by helping people to create true and lasting deep bonds of friendship and understanding with each other. Recognizing the lack of deep, intimate bonds of friendship between males in society today, as well as a general misconception in society of what Friendship means, Friendship In a New Age was born out of a desire to bring back the classic ideals of Friendship that all the poets and writers of olde held dear. The goal is to re-popularize the true meaning and significance of Friendship in order to help people of today, particularly males, gain truer, stronger, and more intimate bonds of friendship. I believe that this will lead to stronger relationships in general across society.

image-9.jpg

What we need most in this world today is true interconnectivity, not this false sense of connectivity fostered by social media. Come along on this journey and together, let's explore the dawn of Friendship In a New Age...

Sort:  

Congratulations @rodeo670! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So connected and so alone still..the isolation effect is something that most people not even think it's real, they get mesmarized about the 5000 friends and the comments and the likes but it never occures to them.. hey .. when was the last time i really sat down with one of those friends and really allowed myself to be me(vulnerable)
Quick question, because this is so interesting to me, how exactly can i keep up with your posting on Friendship In a New Age ?

Awesome to see someone working on a real life problem something that truly matters.

ps: why i can not resteem this? i do not see the button/icon...

Yes, that's exactly one of the reasons I decided to start writing this blog! People have forgotten that these online friendships that we have, while yes, they are a form of friendship, they are not the same thing as the real life friendships that we have with our real life, in person friends. This isn't to say, of course, that our internet friends can't ever become our real friends. In fact, my best friend now is someone who I met in a Facebook group.

The problem arises when we think that our online friendships are enough. We lose our connection to the real world and real, physical people. We begin to lose our sense of being able to communicate and interact with real people in the real world because we no longer know anything about how to be REAL with people.

If you would like to keep up with my Friendship In a New Age posts, you just have to keep me in your Following, and my posts should show up in your feed whenever you check them. Or you could just make it a point to check my account from time to time to see my posts, but that's a bit more dedication than I'd ever expect from anyone :P

As for why it can't be resteemed, it's because the post is older than 7 days already, and from my understanding, once a post crosses the 7th day, it becomes completely cemented in the blockchain and can no longer be edited or resteemed. Thank you so much for trying/wanting to, though! It really means a lot to me, you have no idea!

I started formulating these ideas last year, but no one really appreciated them and I didn't really have an audience for them, so I kinda lost motivation to write more on the subject. But now that I'm here on Steemit and people have actually been appreciating my posts and commenting on them to start discussions, I have renewed my passion for writing about it and plan to keep on writing more posts frequently.

Seriously, thank you SO MUCH! I really and truly appreciate the comments you're leaving.

regarding: If you would like to keep up with my Friendship In a New Age posts, you just have to keep me in your Following - for as long as steemit works you will be one of the people i will follow and i will check your account to see your new posts on friendship.

The idea that i just have realized is this: i made a mistake that i will fix, i started to follow some people that do not necessary write something super interesting to me, and that tends to backfire as i will occasionally miss posts from people that i do want to read posts from like you.
Will fix that soon :)

About resteem, i did not give up i found another post and after i read it i resteem it. I do not quit so easy :)

And one more thing: look i read also your introductory post and loved the humanity you have put in there but i could not helped but noticed you did not mentioned anything about the Friendship In a New Age, or did i miss it?

What i wanted to say is this: EDM is awesome but friendship is orders of magnitude more awesome.
Believe in yourself, do not quit writing, we need people like you. And i think this video i did might help you a bit..

I think actually the second one is more relevant to my point about finding the strenght to continue when things are tough

Thank you again for your continued support! I'm so glad that Steemit connects people like you and I to each other. I am looking forward to building a real friendship with you! I, too, have had that same problem, and I am working on fixing it as well. I made that same mistake when I first started out, I was under the mentality/impression that if people follow me or say they will follow me, that I owe them a follow back. So I followed so many people back without even considering whether or not I would actually appreciate their topics, etc.

People in the Minnow Support Project has since taught me that not only is it OK to not follow people back whose posts you aren't genuinely interested in, it's pretty much the standard practice, especially for people who have grown on this platform and have several hundreds of followers.

I'm starting to learn that I don't have to feel bad about not following someone back, because they will understand. The most I can do in that situation is just express my sincere and deepest gratitude that they deemed my content worthy of being followed.

Wow, that video was so on point! I really loved the message you shared. That is definitely a mindset that I try to cultivate within myself as well. It can be hard sometimes to stay on course when the little doubts come into play, and you're absolutely right, trust is a key factor in all of it. We need to trust that if we just keep on putting one foot in front of the other and keep on working towards our goal, victory will be waiting on the other side of the mountain of doubt.

Also, I really loved the way you talked about it. I could tell that you are passionate about that subject because of how you gesticulate as you express those ideas. My best friend actually broadened my horizons on the whole notion of people who gesticulate as they talk.

He said he believes that when people do that, it invites others to really listen and pay attention to what they say, because the very act of involving your whole body in the process of expressing your ideas shows just how truly passionate you are about what you're talking about. It engenders a sense of trust with the people you are speaking to, because they will think to themselves, "wow, this guy is really into what he's talking about, maybe I should pay attention!"

Thank you for sharing that video with me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93