There's Something For Everyone on the Steem Blockchain: Why YOU Should Be on Steemit if You're an Artist, Photographer, Musician, Streamer, YouTuber, etc.

in #steemit6 years ago

KAOZsteempromocoverphoto.jpg

I've been on the Steem blockchain for about 6 months now, and I've come to really love it as my new home for content creation. Over the past decade or so, I've tried several avenues to monetize the content that I create, but I never had much success on any other platform. I've tried YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, a few other social media platforms that have since failed, and I've even attempted a Patreon run in the past.

As a writer, singer, streamer, and casual photography enthusiast, I've made more money on my content in the past 6 months than I ever have in all my previous attempts to gain some value from the stuff I produce. This monetary success was such a boon to my creativity and motivation, as seeing those dollars roll in can really be a great motivating factor to continue exploring my creativity and continue sharing it with the world.

I suppose I'm making this post today in an attempt to really get more of my creative friends to consider checking out the Steem blockchain. In this post, I will cover several platforms that run on the Steem blockchain and serve a similar purpose/function as other more "mainstream" platforms (like YouTube, Instagram, Twitter, etc.).

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 9.56.19 AM.png

These platforms are DTube, DLive, DSound, DMania, Steepshot, and Zappl, and they are the Steem quivalent of YouTube, Twitch, SoundCloud, 9Gag, Instagram, and Twitter, respectively. SO why should YOU, the reader, check any of these platforms out, especially if you're already somewhat "established" on the more mainstream platforms? It's simple, really.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 9.57.28 AM.png

Those mainstream platforms that you're already on are centralized systems owned, operated, and controlled by groups of people with agendas. They control all of the content that you submit to their servers, and can remove any of your content if they ever decide to do so. They can block your account, as we have seen YouTube/Google do recently to larger accounts that were not in line with the vision of those in charge.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 9.58.21 AM.png

Furthermore, these mainstream platforms usually have very specific criteria that you must meet before your content starts getting monetized and you start getting paid for the things that you post. On the Steem blockchain, none of that applies. The blockchain is decentralized, meaning no one person or group of persons is judge, jury, and executioner for your content. No one can remove your content from the blockchain if they decide that they don't like what you're saying/posting, and if one of the websites that access the blockchain ever goes down, you can still access your content by logging into the blockchain through one of the other websites.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 10.00.35 AM.png

One of the biggest advantages that these platforms on the Steem blockchain have over the "established" platforms like YouTube, is that there are no specific criteria that you must meet before you start seeing money from your content. Every time someone sees your content and likes it (showing their support by upvoting it), your post increases in value, and you have access to that money just 7 days after you create the post.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 10.01.58 AM.png

While it certainly does take a lot of hard work building your audience of true followers on Steemit, this model of rewards system typically frees up content creators to focus more on creating and pushing out awesome content, instead of spending so much time worrying about trying to meet some criteria before they can start getting paid.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 10.09.55 AM.png

The Steem Blockchain truly is a content creator's paradise, and I hope that this post has, at the very least, piqued an interest in some of you. Hopefully you will check it out and give it a shot for yourself! If you found this post helpful, I hope you will consider upvoting and resteeming it so that more people will see it as well. :)



Check out some of my other posts!


Six Sites You Need to Know About as a New Steemian
How You Can Withdraw Your Steemit Earnings to USD
How to Use Tags to Maximize Visibility for Your Posts and Gain More Upvotes
How The Minnow Support Project Helps You Achieve Your Dreams on Steemit
How I Achieved 200 Followers in My First Month on Steemit
Why I Chose to Invest $100 in Steem
How To Set Up Your Steemit Profile
The Dawn of The Dancing Dreamers
The Dawn of Friendship In a New Age
I'm Just an Island Boy Living in Utah who Loves EDM



!steemitworldmap 40.754539 lat -111.902618 long Salt Lake City, Utah local Steemian! d3scr

Sort:  

Loved this article. I've been trying to experiment and look at the various steem tools available for artists like me; and figure out how to use them. Alas, I'm still trying to simply figure out how to best tag on this platform. I'm going to check out your blog. Thank you for your post- very informative introduction and reasons to give the tools a try.

Thank you for checking it out! I also wrote a guide for tags a while back, you can check it out here:

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@rodeo670/steemit-tutorials-how-to-use-tags-to-maximize-visibility-for-your-posts-and-gain-more-upvotes

Hey, this is great. I love the blockchain. I have been trying to dabble in a little bit if all of it.

Hey, @captainbob, I see your mug in that screen shot! Nice.

Hahaha! Fun!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rodeo670
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=there-s-something-for-everyone-on-the-steem-blockchain-why-you-should-be-on-steemit-if-you-re-an-artist-photographer-musician


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SaipanDamashii from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post, I’m going to show this to all my friends that are on the fence about joining STEEMIT!

Cool article!

Cool that's a good summary, as I was telling my partner, Steemit world is a little bit like parallel worlds, where there's pretty much an equivalent to any existing social network here.... ahah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92