Six Tools That Every New Steemian Needs to Know About And Use

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

KAOZ6sitesfornewsteemianscoverphoto.jpg

Now that I've been bringing so many people onto Steemit, I've decided that it was finally time for me to make a post that I've been meaning to make for the past few weeks. For whatever reason, I always kept on pushing this post to the side...but I guess now's as great a time as ever to finally make this post to help all my friends out.

I am aware that there are probably other guides like this out there already, but I'd rather make a post for myself because it will make the onboarding process of my friends feel a lot more personal for them. I know I would rather read something my friend wrote, instead of having them just dump links from a random person I don't even know...

Anyway, let's get right into it. These six websites are such important tools for new Steemians to use in order to really optimize their experience on Steemit. I know I wish I had knowledge of all of these tools when I first started (although to be fair, at least one of them was not around yet when I first started out).

1. Steem Now

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 12.04.58 AM.png

Steem Now has been my main tool ever since I found out about it. As you can see from the screenshot, it tracks many things for you, from your wallet balances, your Steem Power, how much your vote will be worth at different percentages, what your daily rewards are, all of your incoming upvotes, and even all the way down to what your pending rewards are. One of the most important parts of this site, is that it keeps track of your current Voting Power, so you know how long it will take for you to get back up to 100% Voting Power. You can use it to track your own stats by going to https://steemnow.com/ and adding "@username" after the slash, where username is your own username.

2. Steem Stats

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 12.05.07 AM.png

Steem Stats is another amazing tool to use, because it lets you keep track of multiple users at once, as you can see in the screenshot above. If, like me, you've brought many friends to the platform, you're probably going to want to keep track of their activity on Steemit, right? I know I do, anyway. This site has so many features, it's insane! I admittedly haven't even explored all the tabs and options myself, because I only use it to keep track of my friends' posts and their upvotes...but as you can see in the screenshot, there are so many other things that you can use it for. Feel free to explore for yourself at https://steemstats.com/ and start using it to track all of your friends!

3. Steem Followers

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 12.05.14 AM.png

Steem Followers is pretty cool, because it keeps track of every time you gain a new follower, as well as every time someone unfollows you or mutes you. As you can see in the screenshot, there's a nice little graph on there to provide you with a visual representation of your follows, unfollows, and mutes over time. It's just a fun tool to use if you like to keep track of your follower growth as you progress on your Steemit journey. Check it out for yourself at https://steem.makerwannabe.com/ and plug in your username to start tracking who follows you!

4. Steem Follower

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 12.05.19 AM.png

Steem Follower is a cool little tool if you're trying to grow your following and gain some visibility for your posts, which eventually translate into upvotes. There are mixed views in the Steemit community on this website, and some will tell you not to use it because it feels very "Follow for Follow" and that's frowned upon. However, the site doesn't work on a follow for follow basis. You are never obligated to follow someone back who follows you. In fact, unless you use this site in tandem with the one above, there's no way for you to know who on the site has chosen to follow you. Furthermore, it is completely up to you who you choose to follow. The more you follow, the higher up the list you will show up for other users, which will increase your chances of being followed. It's a nice little helper for organic growth.

The upvote system works similarly, and the more posts you upvote, the higher up the list your latest post will show up for other users. You can check it out for yourself by going to https://steemfollower.com/?r=5651 and connecting it to your Steemit account through SteemConnect (use your posting key, not your password that you use to log in to Steemit with). Yes, that is a referral link. You will get your own as well when you connect to the site, and anyone who uses it will give you 5% every time they upvote a post. It sounds pretty cool, but I've never used it myself, so I'm not entirely certain what kind of boost it gives you. Maybe now I'll start to see it for myself, though :P

5. Steem Voter

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 12.06.17 AM.png

Steem Voter is a tool that you will typically find out about once you start to join communities on Steemit, as several of them require you to add an account onto it as a condition of membership. It's a cool way for you to support communal accounts with your upvote, as it automatically upvotes any post made by the accounts you set rules for. You can also set how much Voting Power you want to apply to each upvote, though some communities will require you to leave it at 100%. I started using it simply to gain entry into some communities, but have since then added to it some people who post amazing content. It's a great way to register your support for people automatically, since we can't really keep track of and be on top of every post that people make on Steemit. You can check it out at https://steemvoter.com/ and get started on your auto voting journey!

6. Steem Upvote Bot Tracker

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 12.06.36 AM.png

Steem Upvote Bot Tracker is a literal GODSEND. One of the problems we have as new users on Steemit is that our posts don't make much because they don't get seen by too many people. The upvote bots have become a subject of controversy lately, but I still swear by their use, not for the monetary boost that they provide (though that's definitely nice to see), but for the boost in visibility that they can add to your posts. You see, if you place a bid and get a huge return from it, it can jump your post from being buried under the countless new posts under Created and take it into the spotlight of Hot and/or Trending, and that's where you will start to see a real increase in your post's earnings, as more people see it and decide to check it out. The site itself is pretty easy to use. It tracks all of the upvote bots and their bidding windows, so that you know to place a bid if it's still profitable. It also includes a nice little calculator at the top which can give you an idea of how much your post could be boosted depending on how much you bid and what time you bid at.


Well, I hope this post has helped some new users out! If you found it helpful, I hope you will consider resteeming it and following me for more helpful posts in the future! I am all about helping new Steemians out, especially since I am so active in the @MinnowSupport Project and have become an official Greeter. If you would like to know more about me, please check out my @HumansOfSteemit interview, which was published yesterday!



Check out some of my other posts!


How You Can Withdraw Your Steemit Earnings to USD
How to Use Tags to Maximize Visibility for Your Posts and Gain More Upvotes
How The Minnow Support Project Helps You Achieve Your Dreams on Steemit
How I Achieved 200 Followers in My First Month on Steemit
Why I Chose to Invest $100 in Steem
How To Set Up Your Steemit Profile
The Dawn of The Dancing Dreamers
The Dawn of Friendship In a New Age
I'm Just an Island Boy Living in Utah who Loves EDM



!steemitworldmap 40.754539 lat -111.902618 long Salt Lake City, Utah local Steemian! d3scr

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

These are awesome resources! Thank you :) You definitely helped me out.

Very helpful thank you. I did not know about any of those suggested sites at the end. Appreciated.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rodeo670
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=six-tools-that-every-new-steemian-needs-to-know-about-and-use


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.64$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Thank you dear for mentioning @humansofsteemit!

<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88