Cut of the week #1 by @privat. Featuring three hip hop artist on Steem!

in #thecut7 years ago

Today's features: @termitemusic, @geechidan and @jamesgetsit

New years was a week ago so what better time start a new weekly tradition? I would like to introduce my “Cut of the week” where I will showcase some of the talent found in #thecut or the hip hop community here. This will, hopefully, happen regularly on Mondays!

I will not take any time trying to put my three features in any order or even claim that they made my favorite hip hop on Steem this week. I will simply pick three users that I have something to write about and I will sometimes try to pick ones I haven’t written about before regulars. If you find my perspective in #thecut interesting it gives you a reason to follow me but I also hope that you’ll find reasons to connect with some of my chosen features.

See this as your weekly newsletter from my side of #thecut. I hope this can inspire more to share theirs as well in similar ways because it’s hard to digest everything that’s going on.

If you’re wondering what the cut is I made a post to share some collective thoughts from around this hip hop community. Just click the picture to see our "black paper"! 

Or just keep reading, this post was made to show three, in my opinion, great examples from the cut this week!

1. @termitemusic

I’ve got to start of with @termitemusic! This lo-fi god of world wide cyphers has been the number one reason I’ve kept rapping on Steemit. And thereby even kept me writing in English which I’m enjoying a lot more now. His jam is now on week 16 and going strong. Consider entering if you’re a rapper/singer/scratcher/impressionist or just go their and enjoy his original dope as drugs hip hop music. Support a really good initiative if you can, no one else keeps a regular cypher with their own beats on Steem for all I know!

This week he’s not only hosting the regular world wide cypher but also gave us a complete instrumetal EP for an exclusive Steem download and more! This is some of his best posts this week in my opinion:

2. @geechidan

Self proclaimed best rapper on Steem and you really have to show it to argue with that. He’s been around a bit longer than me here and was a regular on the rap challenge when I joined already! Rumours has it he was the first one referring to “the cut” as the hip hop hang out on Steem.

This week he has been busy not only posting what is probably my favorite verse yet here but also creating a new discord channel especially for #thecut. This is some of my favorite posts by him this week:

3. @jamesgetsit

First seen rapping for Steem only two weeks ago but what else can I say, James gets it! Right of the bat he showed where he wants this community to go and proves his talent by rapping when he’s not vlogging and driving uber. This is a couple of his raps this week that you should check if you missed them:

All of these have more content so make sure to check out everything on their page as well if you missed something.

That’s all for this week! This was kind of a last minute decision to start doing so sorry if my descriptions are a bit short this time. Please let me know what you think of this kind of updates and what could improve for next week! Until then, peace and love!


Sort:  

This is dope man. I am thinking about starting up some sort of "league", and weekly curated content for #thecut. Possibly thinking about some cool bot ideas to be used exclusively in #thecut. Would love to work with you on something like this, if you ever need any help or anything with the weekly blog, give me a shout.

Thanks!! Sounds great mostly. I'm not sure I believe in bots for curating. But I'm not sure I even believe in things like alliances, I can probably be persuaded. I just like the idea of the cut being the place. Still I do believe in standardizing and communicating those standards to create a community.. I feel like I have to give these things lot more thought. Keep that energy, peace!

This is a great way to support the talent in the community and spread their work. If you could also include links to the videos featuring the artists, that might make it easier to get an idea of their work... perhaps, maybe... or maybe its better for the readers to find them if they desire... i'd play with that, see what works... kudos!

Thank you so much for reading! I'll make sure to have some video links or embeds in the next one! :)

Dope. Thanks for even the mention. Resteemed.

Thanks and no problem just trying to keep the cut together!

appreciated bro!!!! together, we are strong!!!!!!

RESPECT!!!

I'll keep promoting your cypher until you stop hosting them! Might leave some room for others in the next episode though.. RESPECT!

we have infinite room!!! haha! props bro!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44