A Very Scary Halloween Story

in #tellastorytome6 years ago (edited)

scary story moon ghoul5.jpg


The moon hung low in the sky. Well of course there's a moon--this is a scary Halloween story. Every respectable Halloween story has a moon, and my offering will not disappoint. But do not expect to be comforted by the prosaic here, for this is a tale like no other. You had better keep the lights on, and perhaps a friend or two nearby.

As I was saying....the moon hung low in the sky. It was the darkest of nights. Despite a full moon that should have illuminated the way, the path forward was opaque. If the children had not been holding onto each others coats, they surely would have been lost.

There were three of them, each dressed in the most macabre costume their youthful imaginations and parents' meager wallets could manage. They had decided on a theme, which was intended to be a jab at their Sunday school teacher, an awkward, oddly disjointed youth, Ichabod Crane, who was new to the village. This taskmaster subjected the children to tedious memorizations, long tracts from the Book of Revelations, which he much favored over all other passages in the Good Book.

The children had devised a clever revenge this Halloween. Each of them dressed as one of the Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Since they could only accommodate three of the Four Horseman, they decided Conquest was too benign and settled on Pestilence, Famine and Death. They managed to simulate these horrors to such good effect that their own parents were taken aback.

And so the three children, dressed as harbingers of the Apocalypse, made their way through the mud-like dark to the apse of the Church. There, the last stragglers from the village Halloween party would be making their goodbyes. Hopeful lads and lasses would pair off and exchange perhaps the kind of sentiments appropriate to such occasions. This the children depended on, because everyone knew Ichabod had set his cap for the Dutch farmer's daughter. The pair did not let them down, but walked hand in hand from the churchyard.

Sweet cider punch, a low-hung moon and solitary forest path would provide the Bible master with an opportunity to state his case with the young lass.

The children hurried. They wanted to catch the Sunday school teacher as he crossed the bridge that led back from the farmer's house. It was there that the headless horseman was said to lie in wait to snatch not only the heads of travelers, but also their souls.

The cover of dark served the children well as they hid below the ridge of the river bank. This was the River of Sorrows, named for all the souls who were said to have been stolen by the headless rider.

It was known throughout the village that the teacher was of a sensitive nature, easily moved by impression. Townsfolk remarked that he blanched when the cock crowed at the stroke of 12 during the Pumpkin Fest. The children hoped to play on that sensitivity with their provocative costumes.

Ichabod made his way on foot toward the Bridge of Sorrows. He proceeded at an unnaturally brisk pace, all the while muttering to himself. As he drew closer the children recognized the Psalm they'd been forced to memorize, "Guard my soul and deliver me". Over and over again Ichabod repeated the phrase. As he grew closer, his voice rose to a hysterical pitch.

When his foot touched the first wooden slat of the bridge, the children leapt from their hiding place and descended upon him. Horror was their reward. For the master did not cringe from their howling and screeching. He instead turned a cold and gruesome visage toward them.

In ink-black darkness of a low-moon Halloween night, light streamed from the Sunday school master's eyes. But these were not his eyes. And that figure held none of the comedic ungainliness of Ichabod. Instead a fiend grinned broadly and opened its wide cloak.

"Ah, my young ones, I have been schooling you for this night. Week after week I drilled into you those tedious verses that are vile to my ears. Patiently I waited as you, the cruelest of your lot, succumbed to your lowest inclinations. This is where it will end for you. I perform a service for the community, for humanity, as I take you from this earth. You will no longer trouble your parents, your siblings, your schoolmates. For now I possess you, body and soul, for all eternity."

A great void engulfed the children and they fell senseless under the weight of the thick cape and the terror of the night.

So it was their families found them the next morning. A search party had been assembled. The children lay at the foot of the bridge, their costumes in disarray, their faces alabaster as though all blood had been drained from them.

The river was dammed up after that and a lake formed at the top of the hill that overlooked the village. But the lake could not escape the legend of the river. Ever after, when children went to swim or fish in its waters, they would look for shadows and imagine they could see the three children struggling to be freed from Halloween Lake.

And did you think, dear reader, the children would rise the next day and return to their families? You were warned. There is no deus ex machina, no anodyne device to lessen the terror of the tale. For in a truly scary story, horror is the only harvest.




I am submitting this story to @calluna's tellastorytome contest and also to @stevescoins Halloween 2018 Open Medium contest. It's a real bonus to be able to participate in both contests.

Requirements for the contests are a little different: @calluna wants to be scared by a story, either one inspired by a classic, or an original. @stevescoins wants a Halloween theme entry--or many entries--of any kind. Check the links to discover the rules for each contest. These are both fun! Don't waste time. Days still left to enter. Deadline for both contests is October 29th.

Also, check the links because you're bound to find many gruesome entries for your Halloween enjoyment.




The inspiration for my Very Scary Story was Washington Irving's The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. This classic tale from the nineteenth century has frightened generations of school children, and it did frighten me once. I borrowed the name of the protagonist and some chief elements. But certain aspects of the story are different here. Washington Irving allows for a more benign interpretation of the end than I do. Mine is a really scary story (I hope).



The picture at the top of the page is a combination of two Pixabay drawings: A Ghoul and a Moon Scene

Sort:  

I couldn't not have been more taken with the tone you took here, the address of the reader can work so well in horror, and you execute it in true style from start to finish. The children dressing up, the reference to the well known legend playing in, combined with your vivid descriptions build a sense of suspense at what could be coming, and then the flipping of the scare has the perfect effect, ending with the sense of horror worthy of some of the greats. The lack of relief works so well in creating a new urban legend to haunt the minds of readers. Well written, as always, and so well put together, a very nice scary story!

The winners of round 11 have been announced and round 12 is out - really hope you'll be back to tackle to next one!

Thank you, @calluna. High praise from a master storyteller. Of course I'll be back. Writing is an addiction :)

Dear @agmoore,

I knew you write short stories, but this is the first time I have had the opportunity to read one of your pieces with the time and attention they deserve.

Your fiction writing is just as I expected: sophisticated and enthralling. The way you speak to your reader brought to mind Dostoyevsky's style and it made me smile.

I was particularly fascinated by the two paragraphs that describe Ichabod approaching the bridge and subsequent encounter with the children. A very scary story indeed :)

Much love to you from Portugal :*

It means so much to me that you read the story and appreciated its style. I'm glad it was scary :) I refused to allow the reader relief--cruel of me, wasn't it?

I'm glad you're in Portugal. I'm assuming the weather is wonderful there. I do love the Internet--nothing impersonal about it. You proved that today.

Thanks again for enjoying my story and giving me a morale boost. Every writer needs that. Much affection and appreciation from chilly NY.

Edit:
It just hit me now, as I was enjoying the glow of your praise--Dostoyevsky! One of my favorite writers of all time. To have my story bring him to mind--well, that really makes my day.

Creepy! I loved the twist and the atmosphere @agmoore!! Thank God I read it in broad daylight 😅

🎃👻😬
Happy Halloween!

A fantastic Halloween fiction full of metaphor and allusion to various archetypes of the season. A scary twist at the end and I found the narrator dynamic at the beginning and the end particularly enjoyable. It was kind of like a nod to series like the 'twilight zone' and other spooky shows. Great atmospheric story agmoore :-)

When you start with Washington Irving, it's easy to find inspiration :) Thanks for the high praise!

Again and again I love this stylistic device to be addressed directly by the author! There is something very cheeky about this in your case. I also felt abducted to a time when women were not wearing trousers and life seemed to be much more uncomfortable. Since I like the old-fashioned at all and also the coat and sword era have become completely addicted, your language style enchanted me, even if here no heroes in tights appeared, but you murdered "innocent" children.

My man would have definitely had something against you doing something as infamous as putting an end to little people. But of course we know that father's death doesn't stop at anyone and that there are also recruits among the youngest. Whereby - I would like to add - they have long since been bewitched and manipulated by the adult dark powers.

Even before the Sunday teacher entered the bridge, I wondered what was going to happen. Certainly not that he is afraid of the children. Somehow that wouldn't have been your style. But then I was horrified, you wrote the scene very impressively!

Ah, my young ones, I have been schooling you for this night. Week after week I drilled into you those tedious verses that are vile to my ears. Patiently I waited as you, the cruelest of your lot, succumbed to your lowest inclinations. This is where it will end for you.

So that's what I call a disgusting and ice-cold plan. And yet there also sounds something, as if we humans would also say to each other: Aha, that's how it is. We are all exposed to certain situations that are considered to be painful and unpleasant. To learn stupid texts by heart and to do things that one does not do voluntarily and yet - and perhaps for this very reason - to become people who do not aspire to evil-will. As if one wanted to say further: Even if someone else tries to awaken the lowest in you, learn to resist and not to become the lowest.

I perform a service for the community, for humanity, as I take you from this earth. You will no longer trouble your parents, your siblings, your schoolmates.

And this expresses the general - subliminal - wish that someone take care of those who are annoying, evil-doing and wrongdoers for others and free them from their presence.

But I confess, I have turned more to your narrative style and have not been so scared:) - except for that above scene.

My Dear Erika, thanks for your thoughtful feedback.
Not every story will be a morality play, though there will always be an element of principle--that is unavoidable. Most of this is tongue-in-cheek, a parody of the original story. However, life does not always have a happy ending. And neither will some of my stories :) Every now and then I will write a fairy tale, though.
I set a Halloween mood (I hope). I think a holiday like Halloween gives us an opportunity to deal with fear and the grotesque. We look at it and make fun of it. It is a part of our psyches whether we acknowledge it or not.
I do poke a bit at hypocrites (a favorite target of mine) and convention (another irritant). But, mostly, the story is just fun. A grisly tale without a happy ending--that's how life works out sometimes. As you know from your Buddhist studies--suffering is an essential part of life. So, I will not deny it, escape it, or ignore it. It won't go away just because I look away.
Glad the story spooked you, at least a little bit. That's what Halloween is all about :)

Laughter! I enjoyed your story very much. No happy end was demanded by me.

they decided Conquest was too benign and settled on Pestilence, Famine and Death

this line hooked me into the story!

well played, sir!

High praise! Manna for the creative spirit. Thank you very, very much!

Really enjoyed this entry. Perfect for Halloween.

Thank you for that! I always enjoy your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23