You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Very Scary Halloween Story

in #tellastorytome6 years ago (edited)

Again and again I love this stylistic device to be addressed directly by the author! There is something very cheeky about this in your case. I also felt abducted to a time when women were not wearing trousers and life seemed to be much more uncomfortable. Since I like the old-fashioned at all and also the coat and sword era have become completely addicted, your language style enchanted me, even if here no heroes in tights appeared, but you murdered "innocent" children.

My man would have definitely had something against you doing something as infamous as putting an end to little people. But of course we know that father's death doesn't stop at anyone and that there are also recruits among the youngest. Whereby - I would like to add - they have long since been bewitched and manipulated by the adult dark powers.

Even before the Sunday teacher entered the bridge, I wondered what was going to happen. Certainly not that he is afraid of the children. Somehow that wouldn't have been your style. But then I was horrified, you wrote the scene very impressively!

Ah, my young ones, I have been schooling you for this night. Week after week I drilled into you those tedious verses that are vile to my ears. Patiently I waited as you, the cruelest of your lot, succumbed to your lowest inclinations. This is where it will end for you.

So that's what I call a disgusting and ice-cold plan. And yet there also sounds something, as if we humans would also say to each other: Aha, that's how it is. We are all exposed to certain situations that are considered to be painful and unpleasant. To learn stupid texts by heart and to do things that one does not do voluntarily and yet - and perhaps for this very reason - to become people who do not aspire to evil-will. As if one wanted to say further: Even if someone else tries to awaken the lowest in you, learn to resist and not to become the lowest.

I perform a service for the community, for humanity, as I take you from this earth. You will no longer trouble your parents, your siblings, your schoolmates.

And this expresses the general - subliminal - wish that someone take care of those who are annoying, evil-doing and wrongdoers for others and free them from their presence.

But I confess, I have turned more to your narrative style and have not been so scared:) - except for that above scene.

Sort:  

My Dear Erika, thanks for your thoughtful feedback.
Not every story will be a morality play, though there will always be an element of principle--that is unavoidable. Most of this is tongue-in-cheek, a parody of the original story. However, life does not always have a happy ending. And neither will some of my stories :) Every now and then I will write a fairy tale, though.
I set a Halloween mood (I hope). I think a holiday like Halloween gives us an opportunity to deal with fear and the grotesque. We look at it and make fun of it. It is a part of our psyches whether we acknowledge it or not.
I do poke a bit at hypocrites (a favorite target of mine) and convention (another irritant). But, mostly, the story is just fun. A grisly tale without a happy ending--that's how life works out sometimes. As you know from your Buddhist studies--suffering is an essential part of life. So, I will not deny it, escape it, or ignore it. It won't go away just because I look away.
Glad the story spooked you, at least a little bit. That's what Halloween is all about :)

Laughter! I enjoyed your story very much. No happy end was demanded by me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18