Tell A Story To Me, And Win 5 SBD! Writing Contest #12 - The Golden Disc

in #tellastorytome5 years ago

Tell A Story To Me,
Oh The Endless Possibility,
Let Your Imagination Run Free
And Win Some 5 SBD!


Welcome to Tell A Story To Me. We are back with another prompt, back to just one this time, so let's see what you have for me! You can check the Winners of Round 11 here!

The Prizes

First Place - win 5SBD in every round

Second Place - this is triggered once we hit ten entries, and 1SBD and 1 @steembasicincome share

Third Place - this is triggered once we hit twenty entries and is either 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Author's Choice & Voters Prize - I have a prize for Authors Choice so I am asking everyone who enters to vote for their favourite from the other entries - I will release a list of entries when the contest closes and will be asking for the votes there. Lucky voters will also win!




Round Twelve





Rules


1. One Entry Per Person, written for this contest, and inspired by the prompt
2. Prose, poetry, any form of fiction is accepted, as long as you tell me a story based on the prompt
3. Contest closes Midnight (BST) on Monday November 26th (That gives you just over two weeks to enter)
4. Use #tellastorytome
5. One picture only please, additional images of text are fine, but I want you to tell me a story with words, so only one actual picture
6. Link back to this contest somewhere in your post. I would be really grateful if you also resteemed this contest but that's optional
7. No min length and aim for under 4,000 words, but if it goes a little over, don't worry
8. Post a link to your tale in the comments below



The Prompt




Your entry must be inspired by this prompt, I am looking to hear the story where....


The Voyager Golden Disc is found




I am looking for a science fiction/horror/fantasy (fiction of any sort), set in the future, about the discovery of the message humanity sent into the stars

I want to hear a story about the Golden Record that was shot into space. One (or both) must be discovered/encountered in some way. This could be the focus of the story, or a background plot point, as long as the golden disc is featured, and in some way found/encountered/seen. The story should be set in the future, how far is up to you. (Although may determine how far the disc could have travelled)
Image Source Wikicommons - Public Domain


If you are looking for more ideas, some of the questions you could think about, but by no means have to answer, include:

  • Who/what finds it?
  • Can they understand it, if so, what d they make of it?
  • Is humanity still going?
  • What has the record encountered along the way?

This seems like it would go pure scifi, but i know you guys will come up with all sorts, and despite the more rigid prompt, hoping to see a few wilful/imaginative interpretations that still manage to fulfill the criteria. I really hope you will all find ways (and time) to be creative and see what you can come up with, and I can't wait to see your entries.

Don't forget to include a link in the comments!

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.983681080031838
This post was voted: 61.62%

Here be me submission: Pirate Hunters for this contest here.
Jevil.gif

It's done. This was great fun...took a lot of research, which I also enjoyed. I do think I can imagine a book. So many threads to follow. Thanks, @calluna, for the creative exercise and productive prompt.
The Record

Congratulations @calluna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm hyped. I'm on it. But I think I will submit something close to the deadline, since... a lot to do, a lot to do. And a lot of other posts are due.

Anyway, thanks for the opportunity and this awesome prompt. Feel free to kick me around come the end of the week.

Great prompt!

I've had it for a while but wasn't sure how it would go down, glad you like it, hope to see what you end up with from it!

You give us so much freedom. For me, this is key, because my mind tends to go a little off the beaten path. A wonderful opportunity to explore with unfettered imagination.

Oh i'm glad you like it, I was worried a real life object was too restrictive! I can't wait to see what you have in store!

You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @manoldonchev

We have planted already 5908.47 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26054.45
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

My thoughts have been circling round of recent. Looks like this prompt just gave it a rippling effect.

Oh I love it when this happens! Look forward to your entry :)

I’m going to commit taking a crack at this. Please, when i get road rash, do something!

Ooo I am excited to see what you come up with! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66