WalkWithMe Dump Treasure Revealed - Two Working Computers! - plus Unexpected Surprise!

in #technology6 years ago

When I finished yesterday's "Walk With Me" post about the town dump, I had no idea how my evening cliffhanger surprise was going to work out. In fact I was thinking I'd probably just loaded myself up with more garbage, and would come to regret it.

Thankfully this was not the case!

Backdoor.jpg

Sometimes you just gotta ask.

As I drove in to the dump yesterday, I noticed there were a few desktop computers on the pallets near the entrance. These are items that you've got to pay extra to throw away, like TVs and refrigerators and tires. They are specifically not to be left at the swap shop, because odds are they don't work, and then you're just sticking someone else with the burden of disposal.

Still, there were a couple computers there that looked a little less trashed than normal. So after I made my rounds of the swap shop and took the pictures you saw yesterday, I circled back to the pallets next to the gate house and approached the window.

BasicBodies.jpg

The usual attendant is what I'd describe as "New England Grumpy," or maybe "Cape Cod Gruff." Picture your bearded, mid 60s, white haired, slightly unkempt stereotypical Gorton's fisherman, minus the yellow rain-slicker.

I took a deep breath to overcome my social anxiety and said, "Do you mind if I have a look at some of those old computers over there, and maybe take one home for parts?"

Silence.

"It's just, I could use them for an art project. I'm always looking for old circuit boards and things."

"Are you a resident?" he said.

This was an odd question, since I was in a car with a resident sticker and couldn't have been here without it. "Of course," I said.

Heavy breathing. "Well...."

"Look, man, if the answer's no, that's fine. If there's rules against this, it's not going to hurt my feelings."

Finally, a nod. "Well, all right then. Go ahead."

On closer inspection they didn't look as good. The two computers that looked most promising from a distance had cases that were out of alignment and held together with packing tape. Rain had pooled in the crevices, which meant they'd been here through Tuesday's torrential storm, and they rattled as I turned them over. But the price was right, and I wasn't lying about having some ideas for an art project with old circuit boards, either.

As I carried my choice back to the car, I heard another voice. "You get everything you needed?"

"Well, I think so, yes." I walked back to the booth and saw there was a younger man sitting inside now - he addressed me from the opposite window.

"If you want more of that stuff, take all you want. We have to pay to get rid of it, so you're doing us a favor."

Clearly there were two different interpretations of dump policy going on here.

Well, they say "beggars can't be choosers," so instead of choosing, I went back to the pile and took both.

What I didn't expect was for them to work.

And at first they didn't. After several days of soaking in the rain, this was no surprise.

But they were surprisingly complete. Nothing fancy. On-board graphics on both of them (rather than a dedicated video card). The older one was loaded with 2 GB of ram and the newer one with 6! It had a wireless antenna card too. Both had good fans on the CPU and at the back of the case, and while any hard drives had been removed, the data cables were left behind. (This was the source of the rattle when I turned the cases over.) Both had DVD burning drives mounted, but disconnected. And as for the cases being held together with packing tape - that was just a matter of whoever disposed of them being in a hurry. I was able to slot them together again.

1.jpg

The older computer actually powered on right away. It displayed the motherboard's BIOS screen on a monitor. Great, I thought. I'll plug in the DVD drive and put a bootable Linux disc in. But as soon as I tried that, it went dead. I couldn't get any response from the power button.

Nothing from the newer computer either. Motherboard lights went on when I plugged it in, but no action.

Well, if the moisture was the problem, there was only one thing to try. I set the computers over our hot-air grates, turned up the heat, and poured myself a scotch. Usually we use fans to keep our computers cool, but right now I wanted them hot and dry.

A couple of drinks later and they both powered on.

The joy of tinkering.

Man, I don't know why I enjoy building computers so much. It's one of my favorite things to do. I just go into this blissed out frenzy where I want to pack as much technology into a thing and see what it does.

OfficeClutter.jpg

This, despite the fact that I don't play many video games or do processor-intensive tasks. There's no justification for buying new computer parts that I'm not going to use, so it's rare that I get to indulge this whimsy. Having two actually working boxes to rip apart and put back together again sent me to cloud nine.

Part of the joy, I think, is the basic puzzle aspect of how do these things fit together. It's not really hard, per-se. But every case comes apart differently, and every manufacturer has some variable way of coming at the challenge of where to mount things. If I'm working on a laptop I'll usually download some kind of instructions, since the stuff is small and delicate and easily broken. But with desktops it's just more fun to dive in, scratch your head, and figure it out.

Like - where can I mount some hard drives? I had a couple old ones hanging around in a drawer, and a big tin of spare screws, so it was just a matter of figuring out where to put them. In the newer machine, you have to attach rails to the side of the drive and then slide it in upside down, for some reason:

Reclining.jpg

Where on the older one the drives get mounted sideways.

3.jpg

Once those were in place, it was just a matter of booting to the Linux USB Thumb Drive I created this summer, poking around a bit to discover that everything worked fine, and then installing. I had Linux Mint running on these two free computers before I'd finished my third drink.

Free, as in speech, AND free, as in beer!

Things aren't as fragile as you might think.

Two inches of rain followed by freezing temperatures? Who cares. These things work just great.

The lesson? You don't have to be afraid of breaking stuff. You might even be able to make them better.

One final surprise. (Protect Your Data!)

It's good that whoever disposed of these computers went to the trouble to take the hard drives out. I've actually gotten used drives with people's photos, school projects, and tax returns before. They think that just because the computer isn't working, the data on the disks in inaccessible. Not true!

But the newer computer has a hidden front panel for USB devices and an SD card reader. I only discovered it when I was trying to work out where to stick that hard drive. And once I flipped it open, I found an SD card inside!

SD_Card.jpg

Now, I know the honorable thing to do would be to format this thing without looking at it. Or chuck it into the fire. It's really none of my business what's on there, right? I mean, it could be anything.

Hmm... The temptation. Not to mention the risk! This is how businesses and top-secret government facilities get compromised. Someone drops a couple infected flash drives in the parking lot and your high-security-clearance employee just can't resist sticking it into his laptop.

Well, good thing I was running a live session of Linux with no hard drive plugged in. No risk of contaminating my own systems that way.

So, you want to see what was on the card, right?

SD_Card2.jpg

Turns out it was...

DusterVert.png

Paintings!

Painting0.jpg

Some pretty nice ones.

Painting2.jpg

Painting1.jpg

And a little view into an artist's studio.

Painting3.jpg

Nothing salacious. Just another delightful surprise.

What an adventure this turned out to be.

I'm not really sure what I'm going to do with these computers. I may throw a graphics card and a small solid state drive in the new one to really speed it up. And it'll be nice to have a dedicated Linux desktop that's free of viruses and unburdened by Microsoft's botnet spyware. Even the older computer is a step up from the ancient Dell we've been using in the living room as our Netflix and Chill machine. (I guess it says something when the crap you get from the dump is nicer than what you've been using at home!)

It's fun to be a crap-hound, sometimes.


Thanks for reading and for checking out my junk! May your day be full of unexpected treasure and artistic surprises!

2.jpg

Sort:  

Who knew the dump could hold so much potential? Reading this post was like taking a miniature adventure! I really enjoyed the SD card suspense element.

This might be forward of me to ask, but I have to ask, may I use your photo of the alluring My Lady Nicotine as a subject in one of my future works? This is the specific shot I had in mind:

Of course!

The Wife informs me that this is actually "Apple White" from a Disney line she got at a clearance sale. Snow White's daughter apparently. Here she is looking into the mirrored surface of a hard drive platter.

Mirror.jpg

I love the way you turn random things into statement art, maybe without even trying that hard. A man who photographs a special doll regularly might be unsettling in certain circles, but I think its great. You are definitely a creative individual.

Thank you for granting permission! I'm going to sketch up something - coming soon!

Thanks, @enternamehere - I'm glad you don't find me as unsettling as some other folks have! ;-)

You're tops in my book!

REALLY nice story! Maybe that USB previous owner is a Steemitian and is now reading your post....lol

That would be a fun way to make a connection!

Great score! I'm happy for you. And epic, epic photoshoot with that doll...it was really well done Winston...

Thanks so much Lyndsay. It's such a blast to be able to post about something that I enjoy so much.

That doll does come in handy! Never thought I'd say this but... I think I need to buy her some more clothes!

Maybe you'll find some at the swap shed :)

hey I liked your publication about those two old comútadoras share your emotion to see them work even though they were old you found a utility and best of all work, I would have liked to go through the same fate yours but in the place where I find these types of events escape from reality, I write and publish from a borrowed computer but I know that God will reward me with a very soon to share great things ...

You are lucky! Looks like a 100-150$ lottery!

Yeah, according to Ebay that's probably about the value. They mean more than that to me though because the addition of a few cheap parts means the newer computer at least will be more than I need for years to come.

Interesting story, really nice paintings and I am wondering do you play with that dolly all the time?

Well, not all the time...

She does make photos a little more interesting, though!

I bet....!

just haven't posted him yet

Maybe we should arrange a date!

sure he likes Italian food , jazz and rock and roll and likes to dance..and he is a runner. how about her? :))) drives a maserati

When companies are trying to sell expensive, elite cars they always have a beautiful model. It makes sense to do it in your posts too! Next you know all the guys will want one of those computers when they hit their midlife crisis.

You junk is more than fun to watch! You are an excellent crap-hound. Mission accomplished.
This made me think that I keep losing usb and memory cards!! I shall stop.

Oh no - what's on the cards that you lost? Nothing incriminating I hope!

Plenty! Plenty of incriminating stuff

Rats - And now we'll never be able to see it!

Thank's God!!!

Very cool! Love when you can find useful items without any cost. Seriously I would love to have your dump near me vs using our trash cans. Almost seems like an adventure vs a choir.

Would you believe we get free trash pick up too? But I much prefer hauling it in myself, for obvious reasons!

Think I would too. Our rate for once a week pickup just went to $32 a month. Plus we pay extra for any landscaping waste.

What a find. I have always been curious about maybe building my own computer. I am held back from the concept that I would be completely out of my depth. I have a techy friend that usually does it for me. Would rather do it myself...but again the learning curve scares me.

It's really not hard, and much easier than it used to be. Not much different than putting legos together. With websites like pcpartpicker.com you can easily see if the stuff you're getting is compatible.

Strangely, though, it's usually cheaper to buy a ready-built computer from Asus or Dell or whatever, and then upgrade what you need. The cost of a Windows license really drives things up for the DIY-er, where Microsoft makes deals with major manufacturers to sell their licenses in bulk. (If you install Linux, of course, this isn't a concern.)

Maybe I'll do a tear down and rebuild of one of these dump machines to show people how easy it is.

I would love that, please leave a link to it in my comment section after you post, if I don't see it in my feed (I actually don't check there as often as I should). Basically, open invite to spam computer build post links when you do.

Try to do it like.... Computer Building for Dummies style.

Cool - I definitely will!

Count me in! That sounds like a great post(s)

This reminds me of my dear old E-machine. I found it piled beside our apartment dumpster, so full of dust bunnies. I cleaned it out but it was obvious over heating had fried it's capacitors. So I went and bought a mobo, cpu and some new ram. Eventually I added a graphics card so had to upgrade the psu, switched the main hard drive for an ssd... Basically the only original piece is the case, there's a philosophical argument for whether it is still the computer I found🤔 Luckily it doesn't have to be pretty, it sits in an attic crawl space behind the TV image.jpeg

Love this tale of scrap hunting, used to love walks through scrap yards to find mystery prizes.

That's so cool! What operating system did you install on it?

I was able to get a free copy of Windows 7 off a buddy who worked at a computer repair place, and have subsequently been able to upgrade to 8, then 10 for free. I've tried to dual boot it with varying Linux builds, or running a virtual machine environment, but still find I like Windows more, even after a few years of macs. It fucks up regularly, especially when it updates the Windows before the graphics card, giving me a black screen, but I can stream my xbox up to my other TV, and wake on lan from my phone/use my phone to control it. I'm not code literate, so keeping it Windows simple works for me.

Funny coincidence - I just tried out windows on the dump beast. I was able to get a copy off a torrent site and then activate it, no problem, with the activation key on the sticker on the case! Not even illegal!

Added a graphics card and an SSD, and it's a decent gaming machine. Subject of tomorrow's post...

Now with two working towers I don't have to choose between Windows and Linux.

Macs turned me off when I discovered they don't maintain their OS after a few years - you've got to pay for something new or chuck your hardware. And their laptops are the only computers that physically die even when you don't abuse them. You need special tools to work on them and they are so shoddy and cheap inside.

I have a Raspberry pi 3 running Linux just in case I get bored, but I've yet to find a use other then for my son to learn coding eventually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45