You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WalkWithMe Dump Treasure Revealed - Two Working Computers! - plus Unexpected Surprise!

in #technology6 years ago

What a find. I have always been curious about maybe building my own computer. I am held back from the concept that I would be completely out of my depth. I have a techy friend that usually does it for me. Would rather do it myself...but again the learning curve scares me.

Sort:  

It's really not hard, and much easier than it used to be. Not much different than putting legos together. With websites like pcpartpicker.com you can easily see if the stuff you're getting is compatible.

Strangely, though, it's usually cheaper to buy a ready-built computer from Asus or Dell or whatever, and then upgrade what you need. The cost of a Windows license really drives things up for the DIY-er, where Microsoft makes deals with major manufacturers to sell their licenses in bulk. (If you install Linux, of course, this isn't a concern.)

Maybe I'll do a tear down and rebuild of one of these dump machines to show people how easy it is.

I would love that, please leave a link to it in my comment section after you post, if I don't see it in my feed (I actually don't check there as often as I should). Basically, open invite to spam computer build post links when you do.

Try to do it like.... Computer Building for Dummies style.

Cool - I definitely will!

Count me in! That sounds like a great post(s)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45