Walk With Me to the Town Dump - And Look at the Treasure!

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I've talked a lot about the town dump, and for good reason. It's pretty much the only place I shop. That's because the stuff is free.

Even better, I always leave with less than I came with. This is important to a minimalist!

After yesterday's 12 mile trek, my legs needed a rest. But it's still too clear and gorgeous to stay inside all day. So it seemed like the perfect day to head down to the municipal transfer station and walk around there. We had five big bags of household trash and the last of our Christmas debris to haul away, anyway.

BigBarn.jpg

The big barn is actually off limits to residents. When they leave the doors open, you can see a pile of scrap metal there that goes all the way to the roof. I thought the building made for an impressive thumbnail with its colorful mural, and the oil, paint, and toxic waste sheds in front.

There's a lot of toxicity packed into that photo, actually. I guess that's why residents of our town get such a break on our dump stickers. All the waste on Cape Cod eventually gets funneled through our facility. We live a good distance away from it, but I wonder if the closer residents are as grateful.

Here's what we're really interested in: Dorothy's Swap Shop.


SwapShopEntrance.jpg

The rules here are simple. Take anything you like. Leave anything you don't want. Don't leave actual garbage. (And why would you? There are bins for that stuff just outside the doors.) Don't leave things like broken TVs or fridges that you'd have to pay a fee to dispose of propertly. And be polite to the people around you.

The dump staff is pretty laid back. Sometimes they'll suggest an item would be better tossed in the bin, because anything that's left at the end of the week has to be tossed anyway - by them. Once we arrived with a like-new, four drawer, legal sized file cabinet. It would have cost $250 at Staples. And the guy said, "Just leave that by the metal's dumpster. That way, when no one takes it, I can just push it in."

Let's go in:


Stuff.jpg

As you can see, sometimes the line between trash and treasure isn't really clear. But this place is always packed with pickers, and everyone enjoys making their own decisions. I actually had to wait a few minutes to capture a scene without people in it.

And like, what's this thing, for example? Some kind of dome-covered cooker? Or a device to keep your space helmet warm?

DomeThing.jpg

Now we'll go around the corner and get to the real treasures: the books!

This is where I picked up the hardcover copy of From Dawn to Decadence, featured in my Adventures in Reading post.

Books1.jpg

You've heard of Little Free Libraries, right? Well, this place is more of a medium-large free library. Look, there's more!

Books2.jpg

For writers, it can be a little humbling to see so many books just tossed aside. We know how much work goes into every page, not to mention an entire volume. We want our words to have value. And yet here are millions of words, left in a drafty shed.

As a reader, though, how can I resist supplementing my library? My biggest concern when I'm reaching for a title is, Do I really have room for another book in the house?

The staff actually leaves the books a lot longer than the rest of the stuff, which is nice. And I love that they've taken someone's discarded shelving and turned it into a "featured selections" display. Merchandising is alive and well, even in the "free" world.

BooksFeatured.jpg

Ok - just a few more treasures before we head home.

Why not keep some holiday figurines around for next year? And pick up a shock-collar for your noisy dog while you're at it?

HolidayCollars.jpg

We're still close enough to Christmas that you can pick up next year's tree and wreath and wire snowman while you're here, too.

Christmas.jpg

How about a hand painted pillow from 1989? In this PC world, I'm not sure if this object is racist or not, but I'm sharing it anyway.

PillowBlack.jpg

Here's a crocheted pillow that clearly took someone a long, long time to make. (My grandmother used to knit these squares by the hundreds.) It's amazing that they could stare at that yarn for so long and not start to question their choice of color. But tastes change, I suppose. That's why the pillow is here.

PillowCrochet.jpg

Here's an actually pretty nice headboard and foot-board to go with those pillows. The rails and the slats were missing, but someone with a wood-shop could probably make it back into a gorgeous piece. Or you could paint something on it and turn it into a work of art, or a sign.

Headboards.jpg

Kind of tempting, actually. But no... I will not hoard. And besides, that's too big to fit in my hatchback. (Sometimes I'm really glad I don't own a pickup truck.)

I did come home with a couple of treasures. I'm not sure if they'll work, and I'm not sure if I need them if they do, but they'll not be too hard to throw away again, and I might be able to make some art out of them.

But I'll have to close on that cliffhanger because this post is already getting a little long and unwieldy (not to mention trashy) and it's just as well to have a little something to look forward to. Isn't it?

Sort:  

That is really awesome that they have a swap shop for people to look at dump items. Dumpster diving is a big culture in Interior Alaska (Fairbanks area). The transfer station is lined with families and individuals jumping in the dumpsters. I live 300+ miles away from fairbanks but when I visit I go to the dump!

That sounds really interesting - and really dangerous! And it seems like some kind of missed opportunity for a resale business. But then again, with stuff spread out that far, it probably wouldn't be practical.

Have you written a post about the Alaska dump? It would be amazing to see pictures.

Haha, nice pun! I guess I'll just dump my thoughts here...

It's nice to see that people like you find value in things that other people just throw away. That's also a pretty impressive library!

Yeah, for some reason I just feel guilty when I buy new. I can't make myself do it. Even grocery shopping is a struggle, but there ain't no second hand bread!

Seem like rules easy enough to follow! That library in there is actually pretty incredible for what it is.

It really is. I could literally read for the rest of my life from stuff I pick up there.

The idea of the swap shop is so cool and it shows how civil is the place where you live! I wish there were some swap shops around my area. I guess what would happen is that people would just take everything and don't leave much.

In America we have so much junk we don't know how to manage it. I heard that China has stopped taking our garbage - oh no! We might have to handle it ourselves...

China takes its waste, chops it up and sells it back to us. I worked for a scaffold company that used mats made of 'recycled Chinese garbage' for mud sills. They were kind of gross, occasionally they would have a wire sticking out of them and someone found a tooth in one once.

Good lord. That stuff could be (probably is) full of toxic chemicals.

Yep, definitely wash hands before lunch.

Cool place! I'd love to look through those books. The closest I got to this is finding some very cheap books at a recycling point - including Terry Pratchett!

Terry Pratchett - always a treasure, and a great one to pass around!

A really neat article. We have the same at various dumps here in the South West too, and I always end up with something I never knew I needed or wanted. Also near me we have a Red Cross charity shop where everything is always £1.99, now you really can pick up some bargins there.

Charity shops, Salvation Army, flea markets, the dump - for some reason I always feel so guilty when I buy new!

Wow. way better than foraging through Grandma's attic. Very keen to hear what the new items might be. Is their actually a tag for frugal?

You can use any word you like as a tag! I try to mix major categories like "photography" with something more specific like "frugal." That way there's a small chance you'll be see in the big lake and a big chance you'll be found by someone looking for your specific interest.

got it....still learning the ropes....everyday is a new Steemit adventure

Oooh woot woot! I love swap sheds, what a cool place you took us to today Winston!! Epic cliffhanger too lololol!! I never thought I'd be this excited to see your junk :) :) :) I'll be looking forward to Part 2!

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Part 2 is up, and it worked out so much better than I expected!

I might need to see a LOT more of that shed. I see similar items all the time, but we pay good money for them!!! We are a poor country and very little is given away. The stuff in the shed looks like standard auction fare. I would probably get around $30 for the headboard & footboard in the shop. I wouldn't sell the pillows though, they are pretty awful!

I'll try to remember to bring the camera along next time I go. It could make a good ongoing series.

There are actually a lot of people around here who visit the place regularly for online sales and eBay businesses. Why not? We have a school for special needs students in a nearby town who raid it to stock their consignment shop.

I'm glad to hear that :)

Great @winstonalden. The title got me in--had to look, and I enjoyed your pics and narrative. Thanks

Thanks - glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45