Live In Peace And Let Go Of Your Bitterness

in #teammalaysiababes6 years ago (edited)

28938756_10156063344139070_994999356_o.jpg

I don't mean this to be a religious post but the above painting was inspired by one of the Bible verses I read this morning.

This morning I was reading chapter 5 from the Book of Esther and one of the cross-references brought me to this verse:

Work at living in peace with everyone, and work at living a holy life, for those who are not holy will not see the Lord. Look after each other so that none of you fails to receive the grace of God. Watch out that no poisonous root of bitterness grows up to trouble you, corrupting many. ~ Hebrews 12: 14-15 NLT

There are two things in this verse that convicted me:

  1. Work at living in peace with everyone
  2. Watch out that no poisonous root of bitterness grows up to trouble you, corrupting many.

Even if you are not a Christian I think this message is applicable to everyone regardless of who they are. Let me tell you why.

Live in peace with everyone

I don't like conflicts. I am sure many people also feels the same. But it is impossible to run away from conflicts. As long as there are relationships in our lives we are bound to face conflicts within these relationships. That is a normal part of being human. The thing is it becomes a problem when we don't actively pursue a solution to maintain peace and reconciliation. That's why we have wars and broken relationships.

I don't mean we should ignore the bad things someone did to us. If you are being abused by someone, go get help. And it doesn't mean you are to continue living with that abuser and endure his abuse.

Live in peace with everyone basically means if you are having issues with someone, find a solution to solve it. Try your best to maintain peace by respecting the other person's opinions or stand. However, if after doing your best to solve the issues between the two of you and you still can't find a solution, then perhaps you should agree to disagree. Let go of your dissatisfaction and don't go on thinking about it on and on like a dog with a bone. Forgive each other and move on.

Don't let bitterness grow in your heart

The second point is just the continuation of the first one. If you keep holding on to your dissatisfaction towards the other person, you are nurturing bitterness in your heart. I think this is a very dangerous thing. Bitterness will harm you emotionally and physically. You will feel very unhappy and the heavy feeling in your heart will drag you into depression. I don't write this to preach to anyone. I am writing this because I have experienced this first hand. When I nurture a grudge/bitterness against someone, I am deeply unhappy and I feel like I am imprisoned by my negative feelings. There is no joy and meaning in life because this grudge overshadows every single aspect of my life. And it also affects my relationships with other people. I will tend to complain and gossip about that person to other people and spreading negativity like wildfire. Friends and family members will avoid me because they just can't deal with my negativity. Who loves to be around a complainer? I don't. I am sure you don't too. So do yourself a favor. Try to forgive. Accept the fact that you can't do anything to control someone's action so let them be and move on with your own life. Living in bitterness is not worth it. It destroys you and your relationships with other people.

The painting

This is a stencil on watercolor painting. I drew a stencil of a flying dove because doves are often used as a symbol of peace. The background is made by spraying the green and yellow watercolors on paper and tilting the paper to achieve the effect I desired.

Here are the progress photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this post? Leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Announcing My Weekly Doodle Contest Week #1 | Flowers & Plants | SBD6 For The Winner!

My Sketchbook | Dancing Like The Spider & I Am Cool!

New Glasses, Folder And Sketchbook - All PAID By Steemit!

Grieving And Doodling To Cope

Doodle Tutorial For Complete Beginners

Two-Hour Parenting Class For Those In Klang Valley


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Some would think it's a weakness to retreat from a confrontations, but it's actually better to give each other space to acknowledge the anger instead of letting it eat you up inside. It that way both can calm down, reflect and find a peaceful way to settle things.

That is how it should be.

I believe so too.

Totally agree on this and well written babe. The bird painting reminds of a Dove - set to free, in peace. Sometimes people didnt know they drive people away because they expect people to understand them. The "expectation" part could kill any friendship or relationship. If we learn to set our expectation right and keep checking on our emo, we should be alright. It all started with baby steps, slowly but surely.

We are selfish beings and expect people to cater to our needs all the time. But thus the nature of relationships. We can't always expect to receive. We gotta give and sacrifice too. We can't control people and expect them to follow our standard. And when people disagree, we sulk. We are not robots or pawns. We are free beings. We gotta respect that and maintain peace by accepting our differences. If something is not right, it's good to stop and reflect - what did I do to contribute to this crisis/issue? What can I do to make it right?

Seriously, who got time to pujuk a sulking adult?

Lols! No time! We moms got loads to do. Even when our kids sulk pun we let them calm down, reflect and then talk. What more adult!

Hold up, put down. Such a simple step but not easy to be achieved by everyone, that's because something beholding by them. It is about let it go sometimes. Love your arts by the way, @coloringiship.

Pride is often the main thing that holds people back. We all have it. I have it. I hate to admit I am wrong and I hate to apologize. It takes time for me to learn to empathize but when I make a deliberate effort to set my pride aside, great things happen - reconciliation, and peace.

@coloringiship, I must agree once we learn to manage the pride, that's where the true life you start living in.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74