My Bliss in Stillness Steemit Vision Quest

in #svq6 years ago

Bliss is something captured in moments in between, those moments in the void between average moments; that is where bliss can be found.

It can be found meditating on a crystal rock in a stand of poplar trees, your bare feet on the cold stone

Or it can be found on the dance floor when the music and movement pushes everything from your mind except an exuberant and blissful peace and feeling of awe

It can even be found between breaths in the hustle bustle of the city scapes, amid the noise and movement, even there you can find a moment of blissful peace and stillness.

There are endless opportunities, places and times to find a little peace and to step out of the world and into the void. Really, you can enter the void anytime, and anywhere, because its a secret hiding spot within each and every one of us. 

When I look at Buddah, sitting there with a small smile on his face, I imagine that is where he is in that moment, the void where nothing and everything exists. Its a place of peace, without worries or cares. It is the place of meditation, of stillness, of our inner worlds. 

The Goddess Guidance Oracle Deck by Doreen Virtue has a goddess card dedicated to the void that comes to mind, and that is Sige. This deck always gives good messages, and maybe this one is needed at this point in time. Do you need to rest, to retreat, to refrain from rash decision making?.  This is what it says:

 " Sige ~ Quiet Time: “Take some quiet time alone to rest, meditate, and contemplate.”Message From Sige: “Shhh, dearest one. Quiet your mind. Breathe and let go of words, worry, and plans. Go into that space of silence deep within you, that vortex of peace where the world does not enter. Now is the time to retreat in silence and spend time alone. I will lovingly help you to rejuvenate and recenter yourself. Do not try to make any decisions now. Just allow your mind to be at rest. You will know soon enough when it is time to take action. But for now, quiet your mind. Rest.”
Various Meanings Of This Card: Go on a retreat. Listen more and talk less. Avoid loud noise and sounds. Meditate. Surrender mind chatter to heaven. Know that you are more sensitive to noise now.
About Sige (pronounced Sig or Seej): The Gnostic goddess Sige is considered to be that great silence or void from which all creation sprang. Sige reminds us that worlds create duality, and that in silence, we find our true origin and self. Quiet is omnipresent power that gives birth to wisdom, just as the Gnostics hold that Sige is the mother of Sophia, the goddess of wisdom. Sige teaches that our roots are in the silent void of the universe, and that it is important for us to reconnect with silence regularly.”*– Doreen Virtue, Ph.D "

Oh yes, this is something needed. We are now in the ethreal astrological sign of Pisces, and Pisces is indeed the void of all things. Before the seed springs forth from the earth in Aries, we rest in the void of Pisces, the last quiet recesses of wintertime. Take solace, and take peace and rest well it lasts in the bliss of stillness my friends. 

Now, onto the artwork!

The Process:

For this particular vision quest and for this artwork, I had something in mind right away. A few years ago I sketched the blue Buddha seen here for my mom, in a similar fashion. It is still in some notebook somewhere, I couldn't find the original, but I knew I wanted to do it again for this contest. 

The Buddha centered in ripples of water is an image of peace that I love to capture. I tried out a few different versions just for fun!

My mom has a lot of Buddhas, and she is not even Buddhist! She just loves Buddha and collects cute little statues of them. 

After drawing the first Buddha for this contest, I was having so much fun I figured I should draw a few more! And so, I kept on drawing Buddhas! I chose the most peaceful looking of them all for the bliss in stillness theme, since they all are very still and all look quite blissful. 

I must apologize for the lack of process pictures, these sketches came together really fast! It was an excellent practice in shading and shadows, and they are all really beautiful things to draw. 

The Finished Product and Takeaway:

It did not take me long to finish these sketches, really what took the longest was rounding out the ripples, but much quicker then the angel painting. I feel like I might add some colour, maybe some blues, to these afterwards but I am afraid I will fuck it all up with that (but watercolours???) so I am leaving them black and white for now!

I am quite pleased with the finished product, as always I could fix something, but it is bliss in stillness isn't it? I feel at peace even with the imperfections, and I think these Buddhas bring out the meditation in me.  They just look to peaceful, so full of bliss, centered in the void and in the loving energy that just is. Buddha really can be an inspiration, I love having representations of him all over my mothers house!

Honestly this was super delightful. I have been reminded by Sige and Buddha to take time to be still and just relax during these last legs of wintertime. 

In the void I can find the peace and quiet I need, and recharge my batteries one last time before bounding into springtime full force. That is what I have taken away from this Vision Quest, and thank you for joining me!

Thank you for joining me and partaking in my Vision Quest, you can find the full contest details Here! 

I absolutely adore this contest, it is very inspiring and gives me warm fuzzies to participate. Thank you, all who put it on! I appreciate it <3

 

If you enjoyed this post, do not fret, there is more! Check out these links for more posts from @skycae!

Steemit Vision Quest - My Angels Among Us Vision Entry

Have You Ever Been to a Viking Bar? Visit Munins Post with Me!

Magically Mundane - Divination Tea and Green Growth

Sled with us Crazy Mountain People Down the Mountain

Delegation Updates and Delegation Giveaway! (Apply in the Comments)

And if you feel so inclined, check out these cool cats and their awesome but sadly undervalued posts:

POSTCARDS FROM ASGARD: The Wall of Asgard- Part2 by @lordsnek

How to be more motivated: get your stuff together! by @zpedro

My First Time on a Glacier by @chaseburnett

The space weather. How does it affect us? by @jlmol7

Astrology for Beginners (Part 2) – The Sun, the Moon and the Inner Planets by @solarisastro

https://discord.gg/QU8ASsh


https://discord.gg/434kYZ
 

Sort:  

You wish I was blessed with artsiness I would'vd joined. ^^ I love your sketches the buddha looks they had fun too. ^^

Thank you @skycae for this magnificent post :)

(And thank you very much for promoting my post! I just posted the part 2 of my motivation triology)

I am glad you enjoyed :) And no problem! Your part of my team. We can be the Team of Catgirls, though no one else is a catgirl, which is sad. I hope everyone likes catgirls tho...

I think ill have to come up with a different name for our team mew

I have two cat-girls living in my house! They're single ladies!

hahaha awesome meow

This was a really nice post. Having ADHD it is hard for me to get my mind into that quiet state to just be still and meditate. I have always struggled with that. I appreciate what you have put together here.

Thank you, I also have some pretty terrible ADHD myself and its only with art and nature that I can concentrate. It is a practice that takes some time, taming the distractions.
Thank you for visiting!

Thanks. That is great to hear. I have usually never tried because I figured it would be futile. Knowing that it can be over come is encouraging.

Yeah near half of the time I am a bundle of distractions, it can be hard to get anything done. Nothing like hiking though, and same with doing something with my hands. I spin a staff, doodle, mold clay, twiddle a stick lol. They are all pretty meditative, I heard today on someones contest post that they 'absorb the thoughts'

Practice makes perfect really.

Am I the only one who sees a water bong on this spot?

xD The way to true spirituality I guess :P

Lovely work Cae

ahaha I think that is supposed to be the folds of his robe, but indeed it looks like a bong instead. Stoner Buddha is at Peace.

Thanks for stopping by meow :P

It's a veritable Buddha~fest!

Great post.

And thanks for your encouragement on my entry.

I have followed you for more delights :)

Wishing you well.

xox

Aww thank you! Your art was pretty lovely, I hope there is more awesomeness like that from you too :)
Thank you for visiting meow!

really like your entry,' Really, you can enter the void anytime, and anywhere, because its a secret hiding spot within each and every one of us. ' love this it really resonates with me, so very true xx

Thanks meow! It is true to me, true to you, true to anybody who wishes it so!

You got a 71.43% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @skycae! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Great post @skycae! "Still and just relax" - beautiful :) You inspired on this Sunday morning. Keep up the good work.

Thank you! Have another lovely weekend <3

Very nice! The vision quest series has been awesome for making me be more mindful too!

Yess, it makes me stop and think, ponder, and create.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38