Sled with us Crazy Mountain People Down the Mountain

in #winter7 years ago (edited)

What the heck is with this crazy snow??? It is supposed to be spring time!!!

But the weather is like NOPE, nearly 2 feet of snow for you and -20c again! Poor chickens were really sad about it too. Just the other day they were venturing out to unthawed ground for scratching, but now they are yet again cooped up, and I feel the same way! I just wanna put my bare feet on the earth again. 

Anywho, the truck was not going anywhere and we needed to get into town. There is literally a sheet of ice with holes in it, very thick, underneath over a foot of snow! So, we decided to walk/sled down the mountain.

Here we are leaving Cedarville with the sled, down the mountain and into the city-place. 

We tried a few different diy sled methods, but the plywood and poly one my dad made worked the best. Really, its the only one that worked, and it didn't work on the powder (duh) cuz we just sank! Once we got onto the main road and it was really downhill however, we could sled down the tracks made my snowmobiles, and man, we went fast! It was a ton of fun! And a ton of snow in my face!

The scenery is particularly enchanting in the wintertime. I love the cool blue hues among the evergreen trees. Its like walking through fairy land, though I think the fairies are all asleep underground right now ;P

We come across the gate to the land share, I think it should say "protected by the technology of magic" instead of "protected by the magic of technology" haha. Underneath it says, "if that doesnt stop you, mojo will! " Whoever or whatever is mojo haha. 

The sun is just trying to peek out, I wish it would just make itself known! At least it gives our misty mountains an eerie and beautiful feel <3 

The lake looks pretty sad and dreary, but still it is beautiful. A walk down the mountain really is a treat, not a chore. I itch for the snow to melt so I can explore our mountain  more and get out on hikes! That, or snowshoes. Luckily, I think winter might be almost over for real this time, after this horrible cold snap.

Ryan tried many methods for making the sled work, and oh, if only I had a picture or video of him falling on his face! It was freakin hoelarious! Soon after this part we got it to work good. 

I fell on my face too and I wasn't even riding the sled. It is no exaggeration when I say there is literally a thick sheet of ice underneath the snow. I fell at least 5 times haha, and got covered in snow so bad. Brrrrr. But at least moving quickly down the mountain keeps one warm, and my thermos of tea <3

See I fell in the snow!!!

Here is a link to a dtube video of Ryan or @offgridninja sledding down the mountain.

He doesn't have a laptop in his bag nor does he care much about getting snow in his face, so I let him ride it down most of the way. With some improvements, we could probably make another sled and have lots of fun! Maybe my dad will meet us at the bottom to drive us back to the top haha. 

We made it into town! Woot! The success of getting on a warm bus was like, really nice. We missed a bus and had to walk a while in town, which is not nearly as enjoyable as walking through the snowy woods. We did it though! 

And my camera didn't totally die from the snow too much haha, but it was basically dead the whole time and that's why we didn't get more videos :/

Anyways, we got into town where its nice and warm now, went to a cool viking bar and played games. I think I will make a quick post about that later, and stay tuned for a post on Gemini archetypes soon! Thank you for visiting, and stay warm!

 

If you enjoyed this post, do not fret, there is more! Check out these links for more posts from @skycae! 

Crazy Mountain People Sledding Down the Mountain 

Delegation Updates and Delegation Giveaway! (Apply in the Comments)

Steemit Vision Quest - My Angels Among Us Vision Entry

Vegetable Family Study Guide #4

https://discord.gg/QU8ASsh


steemit.com/@livesustainably

https://discord.gg/434kYZ


 

Sort:  

So did your dad drive you back up or did you have to trek back up the mountain??

haha no way in hell id walk back up, even in the summer lol. Im staying at my moms until we get a ride :P

Seeing the pics got me jealous. Snow is something i really want to see and touch. In my country here, we dont experience such @skycae

shred up some ice! Throw it in the air! haha I hope you get to see snow one day <3

Wow! What a lot of snow... Seems you had fun even it was in batches together with some falls!! Lol...... Wish you could send some snow over - it's been hot ho hot here, ugh! Lol....

Id trade you! I could use a couple weeks of warmth . The falls were fun too haha.

Hope you are fine from the falling. Over here at my place we don't have snow so we always dream of snow. and even have themepark man-made snow but nothing conpares to the genuine real snow. To us, you all will be having fun with snow. But to you all it is freezing.

My regards to you and family. Take care. 😊 Thank you for sharing your journey down the mountain with the sled. It doesn't look easy at all.

Haha yeah to us its just sorta old! But as a child snow is sooo much fun, or if your new to it. As long as you have a warm place to go back to and hot chocolate or tea haha, then its fun! And, in small doses. Snow all the time is just annoying.

This post used the @earthnation tag.

Earthnation is trending and if you have new paradigm, conscious focused, humanitarian, spiritual, or solution-based content then consider getting supportive upvotes with our @earthnation-bot swarm service or by joining our community Guild @ensteemit https://www.earth-nation-steemit-guild.com to where you can interact with like-minded souls.

A very enjoyable trip, I love snow, in Indonesia there is no snow.

hmm no one on here has snow like i do haha, im glad you get to see something cool

Man I'd love to get snow here! Lol. Looks so much fun!

It can be a whole ton of fun!

Haha great post , and yup that sure looks like the Okanagan ! Glad i came to check out your blog , its nice to see a fellow steemian from the Kelowna area ! you wont see me treking in the snow like that lol!! its bad enough trying to walk around my security constrution job at -22 lol , I dont !! haha I can see most of it anyways from my car ! great photos , thanks for sharing , upped and resteemed !! im also following you now !! keep up the great work !✌👍💕😊

Thank you for stopping by! Haha that photo is hoelarious lol. I am excited for when we have enough okanagan people to have a meet up!

Lol thanks im glad you liked it ! Yes that would be cool !😀

looks like mad fun. Wonder how snow feels

haha, shred some ice, put your hand in it! It feels cold and wet, sometimes sticky, sometimes as fluffy as a feather, and sometimes nearly hard as a rock. The inuit of northern Canada have many many names for different kinds of snow too!

The images remind me so much of the area where I grew up (middle of Sweden), it's amazing... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34