My sublime, beautiful and unexpected Sunday. 'Indy Cars-Surfers Paradise.'

'Indy Cars-Surfers Paradise.'

Don't you just love it when a short break turns out to be more than you expected? This is what happened to us.

(This is my contribution to #beautifulsunday by @ace108 and #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a)

John and I came down to the Gold Coast to attend an Il Divo concert at HOTA (Home of the Arts) at Surfers Paradise and we decided to stay for the week prior to booking. But nobody told us that the 2018 Indy Car racing event would be in full swing over the weekend........and our holiday apartment was only one street away from all the action.

So, naturally I had to see if I could get close enough to capture some of that action and investigate the source of the extremely loud sounds filling the air.

zr5ondnogq.jpg

And, instead of putting my feet up and watching a movie at the end of an eventful and fun day, I decided I'd rather share my day with you by putting this blog together. On the way to the noise.....I spotted a group of officials taking a break.

3k46v2j9d5.jpg

Many of the Surfers Paradise streets were blocked off and of course, a police presence is necessary for occasions like this, due to the sheer number of people crowding the area and for the safety of all concerned.

tkq5dha9eh.jpg

Just for fun, I am including a mixture of photos for you that have been digitally manipulated to provide an interesting variety. Well, that's my intention anyway.

dq13zp7as9.jpg

After walking a short distance from our apartments I was able to see the cars speeding around the corner behind some very sturdy fences. I zoomed in as well as I could from the distance I was standing.

kl5urqr377.jpg

The adrenaline rush these drivers must experience when racing would be incredible I imagine and I was thankful that none of my family members drove racing cars for a living. It is a dangerous sport and from what I heard, there had been quite a few close calls already.

5c9yysflyh.jpg

A camera man with equipment somewhat more impressive than mine was shooting from a high vantage point looking down an uninterupted section of the racing circuit.

9vupyzlezm.jpg

omdabcksqq.jpg

I headed towards the world famous Surfers Paradise beach and noticed people buying some of the merchandise on sale.

e7gsflepzn.jpg

a30khygci8.jpg

Some hefty looking transport trucks were parked in strategic places ready to transport racing cars back to the where they came from post Indy 2018.

omfbizaezf.jpg

0jgeq1qh37.jpg

plj0g5mn4v.jpg

I wandered around the streets dodging the crowds to the best of my ability and some time later I retraced my steps back to my apartment. My timing was impeccable because I was fortunate to capture a few cars being taken to the trucks for transportation. Here they are
........Vroom...........

sxulyqpdf3.jpg

cfa3rxz0oc.jpg

7ttp2zsm0q.jpg

xc24sgz8s1.jpg

h05tg62vhy.jpg

7savp449lo.jpg

o6xisrp01a.jpg

hvc02bcit4.jpg

And 'Operation Loading' was underway.

vxgox8tiqx.jpg

qkxjwflkll.jpg

I may have missed out on all the action on the track but watching this hive of activity happen right before my eyes made up for that......sort of.

stgky0utqm.jpg

And then a pile of dismantled bonnets were hearded onto the trucks.

b4wco18uxj.jpg

0u0m0m96yr.jpg

n5ofn2ew7o.jpg

2xsblx529i.jpg

l5g40rgsz9.jpg

l4ttrondh5.jpg

fvwfvd7trf.jpg

rk8f5mbb6q.jpg

Well, that was how I spent a large portion of my Sunday. But the day was not over yet. An inviting pool surrounded by palm trees complete with its own mini waterfall awaits........and then there was my appointment I had with a cool, refreshing cocktail on the terrace as the sun descended into the distant hills.

gl55w8x9tj.jpg

Sounds good doesn't it? Unfortuantely the Gold Coast was hit by a vigorous summer storm and the deep throaty roar of V8 engines humming over burning tyres was replaced by dramatic staccatto echoes of thunder ripping across the skies following fluorescent streaks of jagged lightning.

I took a shot from our deck anyway after the storm abated but it was rather disappointing, so I digitally exaggerated the colours and contrast as a hint of what is to come. There will be a beautiful sunset tomorrow, I promise.

adcxj8x0wt.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

It's always good when an unexpected but amazing event happens to be near your vacay spot. Gives you something to do and blog about.: ) I really enjoyed the pictures, I felt like I was there. You took pics of everything LOL nice eye, you even got the camera man hahaha. You have perfect timing indeed you got some great shots of the cars as they were packing up.
Hahaha you gotta keep those appointments:)
PS: I like the effects you used to add variety to the post. I hope you don't mind me taking a page out of your book;)

I am well rewarded when i read comments like yours @dmilliz . Thanks so much for your welcome visit and kind support. I don’t mind at all if you would like to take a page out of my book as I’m very passionate about digital art.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-sublime-beautiful-and-unexpected-sunday-indy-cars-surfers-paradise-d5021d4e83456est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a cool selection of images, must have been such fun

Thank you @tattoodjay it was a lot of fun and too good an opportunity to miss

ohh for sure and you got such cool shots of it

Hi trudeehunter,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Many thanks for this wonderful gift and lovely surprise @curie .Your support and encouragement is greatly appreciated.

Nice photos! I don't think I've ever seen an indy car in person.

Though it does remind me of the time that Gran Turismo had a game release in Ronda, Spain. I was walking to my private lesson and had the "New Bridge" had all these expensive sports cars parked on it.

Well I am very happy to share these photos with you @fotosdenada. Most of us can only dream about driving one of these machines lol.

that's pretty cool. we have the F1 race every year for a number of years already but I've never been to one.

I was only on the outskirts of the circuit but I got a great sense of the atmosphere even where I was standing. Many thanks for your wonderful support, I hope you have a fabulous week.

You're welcome


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Thank you for your ongoing support #teamnz

Thanks for bringing the car racing to us:)

Thanks @j85063 it was my pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63