Entry for Story Cubes Contest #9: Come Back, Michael Strutters!

in #storycubes7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for (previously @jacobtothe's, but now) @goodguygreg's Story Cubes Contest nr. 9

Even though it's close to ending/payout, you can find the rules for the contest here.

These are this weeks dice:
I used them in this order: 8-9-2-6-3-7-4


Right. My name's Michael Geronimo Strutters, and in case you're wondering - I've made a fortune, making beans in a hot sauce, but was forced to go underground, where I met a Leprechaun who magically turned me into a one-foot tall lilliputian.

These are my chronicles and I'm writing them down because lately, I feel as if my life's in the hands of some demigod throwing some weird obstacles along my way. But, hey - he might be a good guy - and I may even make a buck or two of off it.

And of course it's bloody fun - that is: up until the point where I found myself one fucking foot tall in the land of the Leprechauns, and all out of bourbon and tobacco.

So, having evaluated the situation for six whole minutes, I jumped off of my last and now very empty case of bourbon and I decided I could either find the leprechauns and ask them to turn me back to my normal size, or I could appreciate and enjoy my life as Mini Mike.

Never wanting to lose out on anything: I decided to do both.

You see, I did some research on Leprechauns, and these little creeps have some marvelous abilities - and ever since I guzzled that amber & thyme sap, I figured I could do the same: I can now become visible or invisible at will, I'm finding all these pots o' gold at the ends of rainbows and I can travel along these rainbows anywhere I want!

So off I went along the rainbows: to Europe, Africa and Asia, even as far as them Chinese pagoda's, to see for myself if my friends' crappy holiday snaps were as cool as they pretended them to be. I have to admit, yeah, they were pretty cool.

I knew it wasn't going to last though - so when, this morning, I was on a rainbow on my way to Lima, Peru - I suddenly found myself in Limerick, Ireland instead. In front of me was Nikstlitselpmur, the Leprechaun King and he hypnotised me, saying:

New York Michael, you've come from afar
Down in Montana you were the star
You're not one of us
No time to discuss
I set you free to be who you are

In his words, I understood the leprechauns didn't want me, Michael Strutters, going rogue like that around the world, and they came looking for me - something I had hoped for while studying their habits. And just like that, I found myself back in the city of Helena, Montana - looking at a baseball coming right in the direction of my googlyeyes. In a reflex, I swung my bat and nailed that son of a gun outfield.

I looked around in amazement, then checked myself - I seemed to be me again, back to my full 5 feet 4! I jumped around in joy - realizing I - or Nikstlitselpmur for that matter - had broken the spell and I was little old me again. Literally - as then I remembered I had swung that bat and played that baseball game once before in my life. When I was eighteen fuckin' years old.

So, this is Michael Strutters, signing off another bloody week. I'm no longer one fucking foot tall, I'm fucking 18 years old again and back to being a New Yorker stuck in Montana.


Author's note: no offense to either Montanans (Montanians?) or New Yorkers, or 18-year-olds, or leprechauns for that matter, just a work of fiction here :) I'll include links to the previous chapters soon - as my youngest kid's a bit ill as I'm writing.

[Edit: I included the links, and added my self-imposed rule of referencing googlyeyes - which I completely forgot with the deadline in mind]

Sort:  

Who's rapping on those planks?

Dang right, that's "little rattle stilt" the maddest rapper of all the German folklore!

which I completely forgot with the deadline in mind

I would have been disappointed ;)

Hahaha, didn't know his MC name was "Little rattle stilt", I'll remember that one - very cool! Glad you caught the reference!

And I was in my car, driving my son home from school when it just came to me out of the blue: "Oh, shit, I didn't mention googlyeyes yesterday!"

I didn't see it missing... so we can just pretend it never happened :P heh!

I love MG Strutters! He's the Gone Back Kid!
Here's hoping you never tire of this obscenely attractive character! Thanks!

Thank you @jonknight! Thanks to @jacobtothe I can take MGS through all kinds of weirdness :) Much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52