Story Cubes Contest #5 entry - short story

in #storycubes7 years ago

My entry for @jacobtothe's Story Cubes contest nr. 5.

Every week, @jacobtothe rolls 9 story dice and invites everyone to create a story (in any medium you can be creative in) using at least 3 of those dice. These are this weeks 9 dice, I used them in this order (1 being top left, 9 being bottom right):
2 - 5 - 7 - 4 - 8 - 3 - 6 - 1 - 9

Here's my short story, hope you enjoy!

My name's Michael Strutter and I'mma let you in on a little secret:
the secret of my fortune.

My dad always had high hopes I'd become a basketball-player - and he still does, by the way. My mom on the other hand would've liked to see me become an airplane pilot (she doesn't anymore). But I've always been a restless, free-wheelin' n' free-dealin' cowboy, getting my fun along the way.

So when I was 17, I decided to combine my love for the ocean and my passion for photography, and I bet you can imagine my folks not being very entousiastic about that. I left home, aboard the Sweet Georgina, off to photograph the Blue Striped Grunts in the Caribbean (that's an actual kind of fish, kids, googly-it if you doubt that).

Imagine my surprise when on my first divin'-trip, I followed some funky little fish as it crawled off into the Caribbean sand - full fathom five. I searched for it and as I dug around with my hands in the sand, I brought up a little wooden chest. I secretly took it up to the boat and opened it. Inside was an ancient treasure map, drawn by the legendary pirate Jacoby Greenbeard IV'th, himself.

I hollered to the captain that I would be leaving the ship - and 't was a good thing I did, cause last thing I heard about Sweet Georgina was it went right up into flames - sinkin' to the bottom of the Carribean.

I studied the map and eventually figured things out, and with my little salary, I was able to venture deep into the heart of the Amazon. Piranhas, apes, crocodiles, I saw the lot and I got away with all my limbs in the right places. I got real close to the location of the treasure when suddenly, I hit a fork in the road. Imagine me there, just dunno which way to go, really.

So I stuck up my middle finger and said, "ef you, fork in the road, I'mma do this. I'mma find this treasure an' I'mma make me a fortune!"

Guess what? I found that treasure.

It was a little recipe.

It was Jacoby Greenbeard's IVth recipe for beans in a hot sauce.

I got back home, said 'hi' to mom & pop, made the beans in hot sauce and it was delicious.

I made a fortune selling them beans in hot sauce.

Wanna know the recipe?

Sort:  

kids, googly-it

listen to uncle @marty-art kids!

Haha, I knew you'd spot it :D

Nice entry in the contest! Upvoted and resteemed. Of course, all the bots and spammers are saying basically the same thing. Yes, I want the beans recipe!

Thanks! Yeah, I couldn't resist commenting though, but in the voice of Michael Strutter: that's why they ain't gettin' no upvotes no more!

I'll get you that recipe - but I figured that might be my entry for contest nr. 6 ;)

Working a beans recipe into a story with 9 random dice could be interesting. I look forward to it with bated breath.

That's my challenge! I'm already looking forward to your next dice :) Yes, very interesting ;)

Great story and as long as it's vegan, I sure want the recipe!

I have yet to write it, but I'll make sure it's vegan for you @rem3600! Thanks!

Yeeeehaaaa \☺/

Hahaha, @jacobtothe & @rem3600: on top of writing a recipe with Story Cubes, it seems Jacoby Greenbeard IV'th was a vegan :D

Double challenge accepted!

I am still laughing! I LOVE this!
...... <- represents several minutes of (why can't i stop?!?) laughter
-sigh- Whew!
Thanks for that @marty-art. Loving it.

Thanks @jonknight, I'm hoping to write the sequel to this story this week: the actual recipe for beans in hot sauce, based on jacobtothe's new story cubes... It's a challenge! Thanks again :)

Romantic story, I liked it :)

Thank you, I always appreciate feedback to be able to learn more and write better! In what way did you find it romantic especially?

I guess there still are, but I don't see how this has to do with the story of Michael Strutter, let me know, thanks!

@marty-art this post is interesting!

Thanks @andyx, interesting to say the least, what bit about Michael Strutter's story did you find most interesting? Thanks for the feedback!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68