Story Cubes contest 6 Entry: Beans in Hot Sauce!

in #storycubes7 years ago

This is my entry for @jacobtothe's Story Cubes contest #6

Dice used in this order (bold text describes the dice, which I numbered from top left (1) to bottom right (9)):

6-1-8-5-4-9-3


My name's Michael Strutter, and last time I told you how I made my fortune by finding Pirate Jacoby Greenbeard IV's treasure, which turned out to be a recipe for beans in hot sauce.

This time 'round, I present you the actual recipe:

Pirate Beans in Hot Tortuga Sauce:

Ingredients for four (4) hungry pirates:
weigh these carefully, but if your scale is off, eh - what the heck

1/2 kilo ground beef (vegan corsairs can skip this 'un, or sail to China for Soy-substitute, of course)
Olive oil
2 red onions
3 cloves of garlic
1 red bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper
1 Spanish pepper
1 tsp Coriander
4 decilitres Tomatopulp
1 tsp Paprikapowder
A bit of Tomato Paste
1 tsp Chilipowder
400 grams Red Kidney Beans
Cayenne Pepper as little or as much as you like

Instructions:
Put the beans in cold water and let them soak for at least twelve hours. Then boil them in the same water for approximately 30-45 minutes. Drain the beans, but keep the water in which they have cooked - you'll be needing that later on.

That was the easy part, here comes the nitty gritty hot sauce, y'arrr!: chop the onions as fine or as coarse as you prefer and let them sweat in a big (yes, you're going to need a big! kettle) until you start to cry. If you don't cry, you're not a true buccaneer, we have feelings too, you know! Add the finely crushed garlic and then the ground beef. Bake it for roundabout ten minutes (or until the Capt'n comes knocking on yer door coz he's hungry).

Slice and dice the bell peppers - get rid of the seeds and that white bit where they grow on - it's not yummy and you'll probably have bowel movements while you're still eating. Add the bell peppers and start chopping up and add the Spanish Pepper. You'll want to cut it into really small bits - I can tell, I still remember that big chunk getting stuck between my teeth. I'm not saying looking glass-small bits, but you get the gist, right?

Add the Coriander after washing your hands from cutting the Spanish Pepper. Chuck in a bit of the cooking water from the beans, you don't want to get things burnt. Add the Tomato-pulp when you feel like it, the Tomato-paste, the Paprika-powder, Chilipowder and then the Beans.

If you scored some red wine from your previous loot, you can always add a bit of that. And have a sip of wine yourself, you're the cook, right?

Stir everything and make that stew boil for at least 35 minutes. Yes, the crew may be hungry already, but keep 'em waiting, it's worth it. You can let it boil even longer and it'll be so much better - just make sure the beans don't fall apart or the sauce gets too dry. Add some more of that water from boiling the beans if that's the case.

When you're done, you can add the Cayenne Pepper for the diehards - and I bet there's a lot of them on your ship. Serve in deep dishes along with Mexican beer.

Have your Cap'n steer for the nearest enemy vessel while the crew is still burnin' their throats and charge! - I'll bet you'll get a medal for your dish.

Yours truly, Pirate Jacoby Greenbeard IV, Chief Cook on the Mary Anne, 1716.


With the risk of falling out of character: this is an actual recipe -not something I just snatched off the 'net- which me and my girlfriend have made may times, and it's delicious: if you're making this beans in hot sauce: let me know!

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I can't even tell you how much fun I found in this post!
Great work!
I even like that recipe.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA

Hahaha, awesome, thank you very much!

that's genius, I was wondering how you'd follow up with the recipe!.

I should try these some day, I love hot stuff!

Thanks, man! It's some work to prepare but actually very good - we haven't made it alot (too spicy for the kids) but I'm tempted to make it again now :) Let me know if you do!

yeah, I'll make sure to let you know how it went!

Congratulations on your win, @marty-art! Your story was a fun read and the recipe sounds delicious!

Thank you @trishlarimer and congratulatiosn to you too! The recipe is indeed delicious - but requires a bit of work. I'm going to check out all entries to this contest as well - I'm curious to see which stories/art was made by the same dice :)

An excellent continuation of your previous entry, but do I need to drink a Mexican beer, or can I drink Arrogant Bastard Ale with this concoction?

Thank you and you bet you can drink that Arrogant Basterd Ale, true pirates drink what they prefer!

That was hilarious, thanks!

This is such a creative way to participate! I loved your recipe and how you managed to use so many dices in it. Although I kind of dislike vegetables (including beans) but it still looks really good :) Way to go! I'm also participating if you'd like to read it and give me your thoughts on it (:

Thank you @alemars16! On round 5 I told a story of how one Michael Strutter found his fortune by finding a recipe from a pirate and I had to follow through with the actual recipe for round 6. Glad you enjoyed (and it's a really yummy recipe, really, maybe you'll start to like veggies..)

I saw your entry just now, will read up, thanks again!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68