A Lungfull of Sacrifice - SciFi Short Story - Steemit Exclusive

in #story7 years ago

Time. The price of everything is always time, Harrison Page thought to himself, panting as he stared at the bright holographic clock. It floated gracefully above the heavy oak desk that stood between Page and the woman who would seal his fate. The holographic clock projection vaguely reminded him of his first daughter’s nightlight, shining in his memory from over a thousand years away. Her name was Harmony. The light of the nightlight was blue. Her smile made him happy.

It was getting hard to remember after so long, memories of love and joy replaced by centuries of dull, mind-numbing labor. What did happy feel like? Why were Harmony’s name and light saved in his memory, while dozens of other children melted in Page’s mind into a blur of faces and goodbyes?

The medical officer hurriedly flipped through the files in her tablet, never lifting her cybernetic eyes from the documents displayed. Her ghostly face was pale, semi-translucent skin stretched over the bones of her skull, the implants and brain function enhancements of a medical officer jeweling her hairless head with silvers and blacks. She skipped through the documents far too quickly to have read them in depth, all the while shaking her head from side to side. This wasn’t their first dance, even if the memory of the previous meetings was but a sensation of deja-vu.

“Mister Page, given your decreasing levels of productivity, diminishing mental capability, maintenance costs over the past century and current contribution to The Company,” she said calmly, her eyes still focused on the tablet, finger swiping back and forth, “there is absolutely no way The Company will fund this organ replacement. Or any others.”

Page tried not to wheeze as he shut his eyes to formulate a reply. The light of the holographic clock tinted the darkness behind his eyelids in a soft blue.

“You are condemning me to death,” he said after a long pause, opening his eyes to try and face his de-facto executioner.

“Mister Page,” the officer said, still flipping through documents on her tablet, “everyone dies.”

“They don’t have to,” Page noted.

“Yes, Harrison, they do,” the woman replied, finally lifting her ageless artificial eyes to look at the man sitting before her.

“Because of money?” he demanded, gasping for breath. Money was always the bottom line. Time and money. That was something no one ever forgot.

“No, Mister Page,” the medical officer replied calmly, her face void of emotion. “It’s because we each have a purpose. A role and place. And at some point we stop serving that purpose and we die. We must all sacrifice something to make room for something else.”

“I can still work. For another two decades at least,” Page gasped. It was the only thing he remembered how to do - work. Skills, hobbies, friends, family, emotions - they all became a fading mush of recollections worn out by time. But what was the alternative? The cold embrace of non-existence? “If I could only have one more lung and…” he tried to barter with the medical officer and knew she expected it.

“You’ve had seven lung replacements in the past century,” the medical officer noted dryly. “You are the oldest employee on record to serve the company and community as a waste disposal manager. It is Management’s final decision to discontinue its investment in your ongoing upkeep.”

Page clenched his fist trying to keep his composure. They’ve had this argument before. Over a dozen times. Every time one of his lungs gave in to the effects of the fumes in the waste processing facilities, Harrison sent messages, appeals and documents until one of these meetings was set. And then he’d beg for his life yet again, promising to work harder and better. It wasn’t always her, but it was always the same ancient dance.

It’s been over four centuries since he was reassigned to the “muck” job, having become redundant in his previous position as a virtual scenery designer. They just got an algorithm to do it. So Harrison found himself in “the muck”. Everyone working the muck knew it was their last stop. It’s where Company employees went to die. It’s where the memories of life lived faded into nothingness, leaving minds full of muck, bodies running on survival instincts, inertia, and whatever budget The Company would see fit to spare to keep them shoveling in the muck till the bitter end.

Some would die on the job. It was easier on The Company and considered more dignified by some. Others, like Page, demanded The Company pay for the artificial organs and enhancements to keep them alive as long as they were of use, like it did for all its employees. But Management’s decision was clear. Overpopulation, scarcity of jobs and dwindling natural resources on Company territories were just some of the reasons some of society’s most useless had to be left to die. They were muck, even though they were the fathers and grandfathers and mothers and sisters of thousands.

“But why me?” he begged. “I work hard. I always did. Why now?”

“Because we must all sacrifice,” she replied, her voice almost losing that icy cool it had when they began.

“You don’t!” Page screamed at the woman, rage and panic spreading through him. He was going to die, while she got to live. The unfairness of it stung almost as much as the understanding that after all those centuries, he still wanted to live. Perhaps more than ever. There had to be a way out. Some other job he could do. Some function he could perform that would make his existence cost-effective. More than anything, he dreaded the humiliating demise of an aging employee in a Company hospice, his mind an empty shell and his body falling apart until he just stopped. He didn’t want to go like that. Perhaps someday, but not yet.

“Mister Page..” the officer tried to reply.

“No!” Page shouted, his face blushing crimson and sweating as anger raged in him. “In all these centuries, all these meetings for my life, and you never even told me your name. You sit behind that desk, with all the power and your fancy super-brain while I… I…” he paused to pant and the medical officer took the deep breath he wished he could.

“We must all sacrifice, Mister Page. For the good of The Company. For the good of our race. We birth children so they may replace us when it is time. So The Company can only afford to give us what it needs us to have until we can be replaced. We are all but parts, while we serve our purpose.”

Page was still gasping for air when he heard a slight buzzing sound. The medical officer moved from her place.

“The Company does not need me to walk, so I have not stood in half a millennia. My eyes only see what The Company needs them to so I can perform my duties, and nothing more,” she said as her chair rolled out, revealing her legless body, reduced to a torso and arms, equipped to never need to leave her station. “I’ve sacrificed every bit of my body that is of no function to my job.”

Harrison Page stood speechless, his own enhanced but limited eyes looking over the aged shadow of a woman before him, small and vulnerable in the blue light of the holographic clock. Something about her seemed different and somehow familiar.

“But those are not my most painful sacrifices to The Company,” she continued. “I remember everything, Mister Page. The Company made sure I do because it is my mind they need. I remember the blue nightlight, the pancakes for breakfast, the love I felt growing up. I remember it all when you cannot. Because Management ruled centuries ago that your mind did not need the enhancements as it grew old. They didn’t need your mind so they...” She paused and Page looked at her bewildered. Something in his psyche writhed and stung, his eyes tearing up as he gasped for air and steadied himself on the desk.

“My name is Harmony Page-Weathers,” the medical officer finally said. “And my greatest sacrifice to The Company is not a lung or a leg, but my father.”

Image via Pixabay.com - CC0

As always, comments and upvotes are welcome, follow me for more writings of mine.

Sort:  

I would not call it fun, but interesting (and I didn't expect the end ;) ). It was a nice piece of reading! Thanks for the entertainment!

I'll keep up the writing if people keep up the voting and commenting.

The voting may or may not come. The comments are even harder. The only thing I can say is... godd luck :/

(at least you have 43 views)

Nah, that's just me refreshing. :P
But seriously - I am experimenting. Even tried all them boosters to check how that works. Steemit has always been a sort of experiment. It's why my content was all over the place. But it's an experiment that got me 0.25 BTC so... here I am again, giving another shot.

אקרא מאוחר יותר, נראה מבטיח :)

ותעזור לי לקדם קצת. חומר מקורי וזה.

Smooth, professional writing!
You could sell this to a pro magazine/ezine.
Love this:
“Because we must all sacrifice,” she replied...
“You don’t!” Page screamed ...He was going to die, while she got to live. The unfairness of it stung almost as much as the understanding that after all those centuries, he still wanted to live. Perhaps more than ever.

Thanks! I have a few more like it in various stages of completion. Kind of like little Black Mirror episodes. I am fairy new to short stories and it's hard. I am used to writing long stuff, poems and work texts. But this story might actually end up published somewhere else too. When I find the time. :)

Gr8 SciFi story. I was waiting for the twist at the end, could feel it coming but didn't figure it out until the last paragraph :-) So good to see some quality creative content on here! A lot of spam floating about out there. I'm a writer too and have been blogging on here for a month now about scuba diving and other travel/nature experiences. I have been contemplating posting some of my short stories on here ever since I started, maybe I will now or write new ones just for steemit. Cheers for the inspiration @techslut

I aim to inspire! I tried to figure out Steemit last year, so posted a bit of everything to see what sticks. Right now, I am just looking for a platform to dump text.

Hello Ilana! Oh you made me cry, it’s very touching with the father-daughter relationship. I love it!

Thank you so much for the comment! <3

Classically done. The payoff is right there in the first graf, and yet somehow it doesn't occur to you until the end.

This is strong. I only saw it coming half a paragraph away.

Keep on rockin' (writin')
Joe
@joe.nobel

Thank you! <3

Congratulations. This post has been featured in this week's Muxxybot Fiction Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-3

Yay! Thank you so much!!! <3

Wow how did you come up with that end, i was not expecting at all. Thanks to muxxy for leading me here. Nice piece

Honestly? I was having a massive fibro flare and went: I wish I could have my legs replaced or removed. I don't need them to work. As long as my brain works and I can type, I am of use to mankind. And that brought to me to the idea. Thank you for your comment! It's why I post my writings to steemit.

Have you tried the Paleo diet?
A rheumatologist confirmed me having fibro, bursitis, and osteoarthritis, but going gluten free helped immensely. The daily headaches and assorted joint pain never went away entirely so I've been trying to eliminate ALL grain, dairy, sugar, soy, and legumes. (Gradual transition.) I started feeling better and losing weight right away. @tinypaleokitchen has tons of resources on this if you'd be willing to forego bread, pasta, cookies, rice, pizza, cheese (sob!!), etc...

No cheese?! I am out. Also, had this discussion in my post about how much I hate my fibro.

You're talented writer! Glad you brought your writing to steemit!
(Fibro: have you tried a gluten free diet, and avoiding the inflammatory foods list? Daunting, I know)
(Been there, managed the gluten free part, but no dairy, no grains of any kind - yikes!!)
Have you read Nick Cole's novel "Control! Alt! Revolt"? His heroine is in a wheelchair (and she's blind) but she manages to save the world....

I've tried close to everything, I am afraid. But I will look into the book! Thank you!

Have you tried the Paleo diet?
A rheumatologist confirmed me having fibro, bursitis, and osteoarthritis, but going gluten free helped immensely. The daily headaches and assorted joint pain never went away entirely so I've been trying to eliminate ALL grain, dairy, sugar, soy, and legumes. (Gradual transition.) I started feeling better and losing weight right away. @tinypaleokitchen has tons of resources on this if you'd be willing to forego bread, pasta, cookies, rice, pizza, cheese (sob!!), etc...

Neat! It's rare to find well written fiction on steemit. You should keep that up! Maybe split it in shorter parts, keeps people reading if they don't know you well yet.

Thank you! <3
If you peek at my adventures on steemit last year (before I retired in favor of more profitable work), you'll see I dumped a few chapters of an erotic fantasy epic I started. It made me close to a 0.25 BTC.
Here's the problem: I can pop out stories like this one on a daily basis. But I need to eat and pay the rent. I get paid 0.20 cents a word to write articles for clients. There's no way in hell I can profit that much from steemit consistently. So at this point, I am dumping whatever original content I produce on steemit (it encourages me to create), while prioritizing paid work and my book. Also, I have here a little fanbase for my fantasy novel (they've waited patiently for my return), so I hope they can push me along in getting it finished over Discord.
Also, I am still experimenting. I am not only an author. I do a lot of stuff, and so I post a large variety of content types. It can be confusing to followers, but it's who I am. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51