Original Essays based off the 5 Senses – TASTE (Essay #5)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

We have reached the final essay in the five senses series. It’s been fun to stretch my creativity with this endeavor.

For any writers out there - I highly suggest this practice if you hit any of those “mind block” moments in your creativity.

If you missed any of the senses posts - here they are: Scent, Sound, Sight, Touch


TASTE


Image Credit

On Labor day I went to look at a potential rental property. It was a fixer upper. My real estate agent met me at the property to let me in. It was a 3/2 single family home built in 1975.

We went through each room jotting down what likely needed to be fixed, along with estimating those costs. We were glad to see it was mostly cosmetic repairs.

The tile floors were in good shape – it’s a huge bonus when you don’t have to replace floors.

They really just needed a good deep cleaning. Especially in the laundry room where half the floor was covered in some kind of blackish brown stuff which I didn’t notice until my agent said “watch your step.” Though he might have been a tad late as the front of my sneaker may have gotten into the gunk

We had no idea what it was – grease, dirt, shit? Who knows, but we did not need to find out so continued to the next room before finishing up and heading home.

Later that evening I sat down at my computer to binge read steemit posts. Decided to have me a chocolate chip ice cream bar while I was at it.

After my eyes started looking like this picture decided it was time to put down the computer mouse and slowly walk away from steemit for the night.

The next morning I headed to my desk and fired up my laptop. While I was sitting in my chair waiting for it to boot up I saw a black smug on the carpet below.

“What is that?” I thought. “Oh, it’s probably a smug from a chocolate chip last night.” So, I wiped it up onto my finger and looked at it.

Then for some reason unbeknownst to me – I tasted it!

Why would I do this!? Maybe because I thought it was a chocolate chip? I don’t know – not even sure I realized what I was doing.

All I know is it wasn’t chocolate chip!

The mystery substance from the laundry room I had now discovered.

It was mechanical grease!

Apparently I did get some on my sneaker and it made its way to my carpet.

I ran full speed into my kitchen, nearly tripping over the garbage can. Turned the water on full blast and proceeded to scrub my tough with the rough of the sponge.

But now I tasted something even worse.

“Wait, how old is the sponge?” I thought.

Then I thought about how long I had it and what else it had scrubbed before my tongue.

Now nauseated – I thought…..

“Oh god – I really need to buy a new sponge!”


Regards,
Mitchell J
Click to

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65