Original Essays Based Off The 5 Senses - SIGHT (Essay #3)

in #story8 years ago

Sitting there in the coffee shop as I type away on my laptop it so happens that my line of sight leads directly to the cash register.

Whenever I look up from my screen I see her standing there. Her black frame glasses and long black hair that includes a large blonde streak accentuating it all. I usually hate when girls do that. Just pick a color and go with it.

However, for some reason I find it adorable on her. She’s very petite maybe around 5’2”. Which is not really my thing as I like a girl with some height, but again with her it just seems adorable.

I could overhear pieces of her conversation with another employee and from the sound of it she is a college student.

Holy crap! - This girl is a good decade younger than me.
Wow, when did I become the dirty old guy; the D.O.G as my friends would say.

Amused by my thought, I smirk under my breath. Man, ten years! Where did that time go? My mind’s eye starts bringing up scenes from the past. One after another they pop up like slides in a presentation.

I see myself back in those moments, chasing my dreams like a 20 something year old usually does. That chapter in my book of life has been sitting idle for a bit.

Looking down, I see the page to the right is blank – as even now, my story is still being written.


If you missed the first two posts on Scent and Sound you can find them here: SCENT, SOUND

Follow @scaredycatguide for life hacks, fun stories and information on personal finance and investing.

As always, thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14